We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel lost car - unapologetic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel lost car - unapologetic”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This hotel was fine until....we woke up early to leave for the Dead Sea, and the hotel (who required us to leave our keys at the front desk) lost our rental car keys! Losing our keys is an unfortunate thing, but the hotel compounded the problem by being completely unapologetic. Eventually (after a nearly 2 hour search for the keys), the hotel offered to (begrudgingly) pay for us to latch onto a bus tour of the Dead Sea. Though not our first option - we rented the car for a reason! - we were willing to do this. Then it got worse: the tour bus pulled over to a gas station about 40 minutes outside of Jerusalem and told us to get out because the hotel was bringing our car and refusing to pay for the tour! At this point we are somewhere inside the West Bank and had no idea where we are! We refused to get out, and thankfully the tour guide was nice enough to realize that she had seats on the bus for us anyway, so she let us stick around for the ride and payment was not an issue.

We have no idea what the hotel was thinking! They never once apologized. The only response we got from the manager was that "these things happen" and some mumbling that "this could happen anywhere," whatever that means.

For work and vacation, I stayed in hotels for nearly 80 days in the past year: ranging from one-star motels to five-star renowned places. I have never, ever, been treated as awful as I was by the Harmony Hotel. To lose our car keys is one thing, but (a) not accepting responsibility, (b) refusing to apologize, and (c) no mention of any reimbursment for our troubles made a bad situation simply the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

BOTTOM LINE: I would never, never recommend this hotel to anyone - the poor service was by the far I have ever experienced at any hotel anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank blurgandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarmonyAyala, Manager at Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
We appreciate your taking the time to write to us and give us feedback about your stay at the Harmony hotel.
We were extremely sorry to read your complaint and immediately realized this unfortunate event happened as a result of a big misunderstanding. We of course respect your feelings and would however like to comment on the fact that the parking garage is privately owned and not operated by our hotel.
The hotel pays the owners of the parking garage for using the parking facilities for the cars of hotel guests.
Nevertheless the hotel took full responsibility for this incident and brought the parking employee to the hotel from his home as quickly as possible. As we did not want you to loose that day we suggested that you join a guided bus tour to the Dead Sea on our account. As you gave the feeling that you were not happy with the situation and we understood that you have rented the car for a reason, we also suggested bringing the car to you wherever you were. We never refused to pay for the tour, we paid it in full ($184).
We regret that you had a difficult and unpleasant experience and we hope that we will have the opportunity to have you as our special guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    445
    97
    24
    10
See reviews for
509
788
158
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I recently toured Israel with two close friends. We stayed at 6 different hotels. The Harmony was by far, the best Hotel Experience on every level. The Rooms, Food, & Location couldn't be better. The wonderful Staff brings it all home. I plan to return some day & will be sure to book the Harmony.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caseymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I stayed at the Harmony for 3+ weeks in July, and 2 weekes in January, and I miss it already. Lovely, responsive staff, great service, good food, great location, charming and understated. Definitely deserves 5*****. And the inkeeper, Ayala, is helpful, lovely, very competent, but no pushover.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrstarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Having lived in Jerusalem 40 years ago, we knew that the location was very convenient. It is close to two main streets, Ben Yehuda and King George and at walking distance to the Old City. We were pleasantly surprised because the place is new, the room quite adequate and while it can be noisy outside, the sound insulation is perfect. The breakfast is very good, but not as extensive as the traditional Israeli ones.
The staff is helpful and they offer free WiFi. We will definitely go there for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iparon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this gem last month for a week. It is excellently located, 10 minutes' walk from the Jaffa Gate to old Jerusalem, on a small street situated in the middle of many atmospheric small walkways and alleyways filled with restaurants and shops. The room was comfortable and had all the modern conveniences, including the essential A/C system that was quite responsive. A delicious, extensive breakfast spread was included in the price of the room, as was a daily "Happy Hour" in a comfortable lounge, with complimentary wine, cheeses, fruits, cakes, etc.
Our stay was made particularly pleasant by the warm, professional, and helpful treatment we received by the desk staff, particularly Esti, Einat, and Lilach. We would return in a heartbeat. RBC

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I love this hotel. All the staff is friendly and attentive - as the last person to check in, the reception staff called me by name before I even walked up and said, "We've been waiting for you!" The morning I was supposed to check out I needed to extend by a day but they were full. The manager offered to keep me in mind for a cancellation or find me a place in a nearby hotel. She kept in touch with me all day via cellphone to let me know the progress and wound up finding me a better room at Harmony.

It's a great cross between a B&B and a boutique hotel, with the coziness of the former and the aesthetic appeal of the latter. There's a nice lounge for guests to gather in with a complimentary happy hour and you can take a glass of wine and snacks to sit on a swing on the terrace. The free wireless is a huge plus. As a solo traveler I think friendly staff and cheerful rooms are really important and Harmony has both. As a final plus, the location is fantastic - it's a modern hotel right in the pedestrian-only district with arts, cafes, restaurants, etc.

I'm not big for reviews, but these folks really went above and beyond, it's the only place I'll stay in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2009

A classic boutique hotel. Courteous, helpful staff that engaged you on personal level and made you feel a welcomed guest. Lovely rooms, even the housekeepers smiled and said good morning. Food delicious, fresh Israeli breakfast and an evening snack in a lovely lounge. Right in the middle of the West Jerusalem nightlife and shopping, ten minute walk to the old city.

This is an incredible alternative to a large 4 or 5 star hotel. If you need a sauna and a gym, this is not the place, and it is not a place for small children. The mood is serene, soothing, and sophisticated, not a family playground.

I'm in Israel frequently and I doubt I'll ever stay anywhere else in Jerusalem again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ilanbarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
American Colony
The American Colony Hotel
The American Colony Hotel
#8 of 98 in Jerusalem
950 reviews
Mammilla
Mamilla Hotel
Mamilla Hotel
#14 of 98 in Jerusalem
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nachla'ot
21st Floor Hotel
21st Floor Hotel
#2 of 98 in Jerusalem
194 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
Herbert Samuel Jerusalem
#7 of 98 in Jerusalem
314 reviews
Nachla'ot
Bezalel Hotel Jerusalem - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel

Property: Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Address: 6 Yo'el Moshe Salomon, Jerusalem 9463306, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town West Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#4 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem is located in the heart of Jerusalem at Nahalat Sheva, which is one of the first neighborhoods that was built out of the old city’s walls at the end of the 19th century. This Jerusalem Hotel is Atlas’ latest boutique hotel. Twenty five years ago Nahalat Sheva was the subject to a complete restoration by the city’s municipality and today it is full of shops, restaurants, bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing