We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City of David Visitors Center”

Jerusalem Walls - City of David National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.00*
and up
Guided Tour of Jerusalem: The Biblical City of David
More Info
$89.00*
and up
City of David and Underground Jerusalem Day Tour
More Info
$11.00*
and up
Underground Tour: From the City of David to the Western Wall
Ranked #17 of 310 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Much of the Bible was written here, where kings and prophets walked. During your visit you will see walls and towers that protected the city from its enemies and discover its water systems.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“City of David Visitors Center”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

City of David - This site is just outside the Old City walls, where David set up his city, having captured it from the Jebusites. His son Solomon built the Second Temple on the site of the Dome of the Rock and expanded the city northwards but this was where Jerusalem started. The best way to see the area is to head for the City of David's Visitor Centre and take one of their guided walks.
I decided to pass on the tunnel and spent the time on the observation platform of the centre and wandering round the immediately surrounding area. This proved to be an excellent decision on my part as it gave me an hour and a half to sit and look and really absorb what was all around me. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Halamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    139
    32
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The City of David is always a highlight of my visit to Jerusalem. With the new discoveries and excavations happening all the time, each time I visit I feel like there is something new to learn and see. (This was my 3rd time visiting) Knowing that I was walking in the footsteps of Jesus was something that I am still trying to comprehend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillian6575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
231 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A Visual fest of King David's Jerusalem”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

So much more has been uncovered during the last few years in the ancient City if King David including what may well be the remnants of David's Palace.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank philipmillermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Meaningless waste of time and money”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The acheological site itself is for sure valuable as a human heritage. But the explanation and map provided in the City of David gives absolutely no useful and interesting information about the archeological objects on exposition. The map, that was provided with the entrance ticket was misleading and confusing. Without guided tour it is really difficult to appreciate and enjoy this remarcable site. The tunnels are even more dissapointing! Again, there was absolutely no information about the water system and it´s details provided. The wet tunnel requires special preparation and waterproof shoes, and the cashires do not warn about that at the moment of the ticket purchase. The dry tunnel lacks information about it functions in the past, which makes a walk not informative at all. The pool of Siloham is clearly very historical place, but not impressive at the moment, so again more information about it´s past glory would be good. On the top of it all the exit form the City of David from the pool of Siloham is on a dirty, steep mountain street with no sidewalk in the West (muslim) part of the city. So a walk back to the Old city wall is terrible and dangerous. Do not visit the City of David! It is terrible at its current state!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kira_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic views over Jerusalem”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Get a bird's eye view whilst taking in the history of Jerusalem. A very well presented free museum.
We saw a sensational range of women's fashion on display.
Eat outside, the cafe inside is well below average.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerusalem Walls - City of David National Park also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Jerusalem Walls - City of David National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing