We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holy Land Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holy Land Hotel
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Interesting location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

The hotel is just 1 block from Herod's gate which was very convenient as it gave us a real sense of the old Jerusalem neighborhood, merchants, and atmosphere. And of course the prayers resounding over the rooftops at certain hours of the day was very unique for us. I really enjoyed all of that. The buffets always had plenty of food, but seemed the same. The staff was very helpful in doing what they could, dealing with what they had to work with. Our room had it's problems that I think only a room/hotel change would help. The beds were uncomfortable, the A/C did not work, the electrical was out dated, the sewer backed up in the bathroom floor drain and the sliding glass door would not lock. The carpet was old and stained, wouldn't walk around barefooted. Others in our group had similar concerns.
It hard to be negative because of the very unique location, culture and history of the area, but I just don't know what to say... a mixed bag.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idahodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    69
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
27
21
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Our study group spent two weeks at the Holy Land Hotel instead of the our already-booked learning institution, St. George's College. Wonderful variety of fresh food over that time, outstanding hotel staff in dining room, front desk, bar and housekeeping. Impeccable cleaning and care of rooms and bathrooms. Clean, fresh central air conditioning. Undeveloped rooftop terrace ideal for sunrise and sunset gazing across to the Old City. Close to post office, shops, local merchants, Herod's Gate into Old City. This is not Marriott but the real Jerusalem in a modest but genuine hotel. Surrender and enjoy. Get to know the friendly staff and you will feel like you've really been somewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rev_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coogee, NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

I was so disappointed, it is not hard to clean a bath! It has mould and gunge around all the taps and plug hole. Revolting. After one night's sleep I honestly could not move my back, and this happened to a few of us. The beds are just so bad. The food was not typical of anything in Palestine, which is such a shame, there is such good and simple food here. Some of the meals were lovely, but most of the buffet dishes are fried. There is such great value hotels in Jerusalem, especially on this site, why would you say here? It is expensive for what it is, and not so close to anything significant really. You really feel ripped off. Also they let travelling African pilgrims sing in choir at 2am in the morning, waking eveyone up for hours, who allows this in a hotel? Do not stay here. The internet is free but totally sporadic and hard to get a a good signal most times.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is an average budget hotel. The location is fine although it is close to a mosque so expect to be woken early. The rooms are a bit threadbare but clean. My room looked absolutely nothing like the one in the pictures. The reception staff were fine but the waiters in the dining room weren't particularly friendly. If you have no other options, this hotel might be OK but I wouldn't particularly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire,England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Wasnt sure what to expect but was impressed with all aspects of the hotel, great food, buffet breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff. We were a group of 31 pilgrims from the North West and all were extremely satisfied with the hotel and would have no hesiation in recommending this hotel for a visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2008

We found our rooom and the hotel in general to be very clean and well run. The reception staff were always helpful. Most of the guests were Christian pilgrims and were very quite. Very convenient to walk into the Old City etc.

  • Liked — Being very clean, quite and with friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of Internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

The Holy Land Hotel is a clean, quiet hotel only about a block from Herod's Gate in East Jerusalem. It's got wireless internet, which I can sometimes pick up in my room on the first floor, and always in the lobby and coffee shop. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in my room rate and was better than continental. The room, bed, and bath are both nicely sized for a single traveler.

The only thing you MUST know about this hotel is that it's located in an Arab district, and you may have problems getting Jewish taxi drivers to bring you here. I've had two now drop me off a few blocks away rather than drive into the heart of enemy territory. As a single blonde woman, I'm dead serious about this - please be careful if you stay here and go out walking. I don't feel it's safe for single female travelers. With a man, ok; in a group, fine; two women, you're pushing it; single woman, really, pay a little extra and stay further west. Or if you stay here, find the number of a taxi driver who feels comfortable in this area, and call that person when you need a taxi back to the hotel. I had a Hassidic Jewish driver pick me up from my appointment at Hebrew University today, and I was not imagining the aggression or antagonism towards him from the locals as he got me as close to this hotel as he dared.

  • Liked — Value, proximity to old city
  • Disliked — Neighborhood
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MarittaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Golden Walls Hotel
#46 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#56 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#32 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Christian Quarter
New Imperial Hotel
New Imperial Hotel
#47 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Jerusalem Hotel
Jerusalem Hotel
#50 of 97 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
#60 of 97 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holy Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holy Land Hotel

Property: Holy Land Hotel
Address: 6 Rashi | PO Box 19700, East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 9471606, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Holy Land Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holy Land Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing