We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, horrible wireless, overcharged our room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for a week while on a business trip, and the wireless in the room was horrible - both the wireless in the business lounge, and the wireless that was in the room. So that made for a very frustrating work environment, when we needed to work in the room before/after business day.

Plus, the hotel charged us for the first night that we missed due to our flight being canceled, so there was no way we could get there. Even though we stayed a week, and they charged us a higher rate than our standard corporate rate - they didn't give us any leniency.

Gym is really dingy dungeon, 2 treadmills and a janky old bike. Since the 1st week was so unpleasant, we switched to Leonardo Hotel and although it too is on older side, at least the wireless is solid, and the hotel staff are much more friendly and professional

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2009

We spent 5 days in the crowne recently and must say we were really impressed. The staff was very helpful and their israeli accented english was passable( other places weve been we couldnt even communicate) . The rooms were roomy,comfy and had a stunning view. There was an additional fee for wifi and parking , however , cant complain because we got a great price booking through hotels. com. (do not book through their website - its more expensive.) The spa was proffesionally run and a very good deal. As others have mentioned it is a bit complicated to get there because haifa is pretty much a one way st. city. Overall we had a teriffic experience and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We selected Crowne Plaza for its location high on Mt Carmel w/o high prices prevalent in the area. We felt we paid a fair price booking through Hotels.com which incidentally was less expensive than booking through the Crowne Plaza website. And the view from our room was splendid indeed.

Finding the hotel in the dark of evening was a bit of a challenge due to the number of one way streets. It would be worth asking the hotel ahead of time for an email with precise turn by turn directions. The hotel had no problems finding our reservation so check-in was simple and straightforward. We just needed our credit card for incidentals. The incidentals can add up fast; for instance parking is $10.40 per day and internet starts at $20 per hour.

Our room was on the executive level. We think we received top accommodations because a tour bus had taken most of the standard accommodations. The executive level is on the top floor [10th floor] one level above the lobby, which is on level 9 at street level. One has to remember this confusing numbering while navigating the property.

Executive rooms are small [yet perfectly functional] by US standards. Ours had a desk, dresser, and queen bed and little room for much else. One can see that the hotel and rooms are not new [not antique either]. But everything was clean with fresh paint and well maintained woodwork.

Everyone on staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. Special mentions go to the bellman and breakfast hostess. The breakfast was luxurious. It was tasty, nourishing, and had an excellent mixture of western and local specialties.

Our only real hitch occurred during checkout when we found a charge of $20 on our room for an hour of internet service which we had not used. We protested the charge and the hotel made us wait while they called the internet service provider who maintained that an hour of use had been consumed. The internet service provider could tell the identity of the computer, but not of the room. After about 10 minutes of discussion, the hotel removed the charge from our bill.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Pros:
Great view of the harbor/port
Good restaurant (El Gaucho) across the street - hotel gave a coupon which got us a free dessert.
Close to Bahai Gardens
Nice lobby/bar
Good tour service
Easy to check out towels to bring to the great beaches of Haifa
Cons:
You have to pay for parking
Pool closes at 6PM each day
Breakfast is pricey
The streets of Haifa are a little hard to navigate - not necessarily an easy hotel to get to

Overall a good hotel

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJohnson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The price that is quoted right before you click on "Submit Reservation" is NOT the final price. Check the fine print. Just because it's not mathematically shown on the second-to-last screen, doesn't mean you won't be charged the fees and the "tax". Below is my example:

*** 2009 $201.71 USD
per night (1 room(s))
Extra Persons Charge / Night $10.00 USD
Total Tax † $32.82 USD
Estimated Total Price †: $244.53 USD

Doesn't make sense to charge a 15.5% tax, since I'm not Israeli. And they should spell out what the final price will be, prior to the last screen where there's no takebacks (price-favored advanced purchase is non-refundable). What I learned from this is to play-reserve on other websites (like hotels.com, expedia.com) and those websites will spell out those fees. Not kosher, Crowne Plaza. Anyways, I'll write another review when I actually go there.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
1  Thank megatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Location
The hotel is situated near the top of Mt. Carmel on a quiet street. It takes about five minutes or so to get there from the Hof Hacarmel train station. It's only a ten-minute walk to the Baha'i shrine. The hotel has a great view of Haifa and the bay.

Rooms
My room was not terribly large, but that's okay. It was very clean and new. The bed was very comfortable, and as I remember, they had good pillows.

Amenities
They have a restaurant, which served a great breakfast. I didn't eat there for anything else, though. I think they also had a bar, maybe.

Staff
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They helped me with some logistical questions about getting back to Tel Aviv and whatnot.

Overall
I would definitely recommend the Crowne Plaza. It's nice, new hotel in a great location that makes exploration of Haifa easy.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vthokiehi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed here with a group and the hotel was very comfortable with everything you could want. There were large rooms with a hairdryer and iron board. There was a nice large lobby to relax with great air cond in the room. This was located far from the port. You could not walk.They had a pay internet in the lobby. Inexpensive eating places right around the corner if you ask. They had a mini mart supermarket several blocks away but it closed early like 3:30 pm. There was an internet cafe near the supermarket but it closed early. Everything closes early here.The breakfast buffet was great with a huge assortment.
There was a nice walk to the gardens not too far away.You could not walk through the gardens but a beautiful view- take your camera.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.2 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#10 of 28 in Haifa
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#2 of 28 in Haifa
803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Gallery Hotel Haifa
0.3 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 28 in Haifa
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa

Address: 111 Yefe Nof Street, Haifa 3445413, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#4 Business Hotel in Haifa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
Price Range: $137 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Haifa Hotel is located on the green hills of the Carmel Mountain offering a breathtaking view of the Haifa Bay. Just minutes away from the Carmel Center, a recreational district with lots of restaurants and shops, 15-20 minutes drive from the beach and very close to the Bahai Gardens. Crowne Plaza Haifa Hotel offers a variety of possibilities for business guests. The business lounge on the 10th floor offers light refreshments and an afternoon buffet. Wireless high speed internet access (WiFi) is available in all rooms and public spaces. The hotel's indoor pool is heated in winter, there are also a large Jacuzzi and wet and dry sauna, for use by hotel's guests only.** Check-in time update: for Saturday evenings is 19:00 unless otherwise confirmed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Haifa
Haifa Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing