We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most delicious hummus in Israel”
Review of Abu Shakker

Abu Shakker
Ranked #32 of 373 Restaurants in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Israeli
Restaurant details
Nahariya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“The most delicious hummus in Israel”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

the place itself is very small. 5 tables inside, outside, another 2.
This site is prepared hummus. its a lot of species with different additives.
portion of hummus + Coca Cola, worth NIS 30. Hummus is delicious and fresh. in any other place I have not eaten this. score 100 out of 100.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Efim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The BEST hummus in Haifa”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Abu Shaker is the best hummus in Haifa and the area. Take either Hummus or Meshawashe and get side-dishes for free at your table. Very small place and very busy - this is the authentic eatery and the quality is always good.
Saturdays and Fridays are packed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gadi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Simple Place But Great Food”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hummus is amazing as are the other free salads that come the moment you sit down. While the location and ambience are nothing to writ home about the owners are very welcoming

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank greengalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“in the grand fight of best hummus - i vote for Abu Shaker”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

again, this is close to my office so i come there quite often (some of my employees are regulars here), the thick and strong version of the Galilean Hummus, you get all kind of legumes which you never ordered (for free), i love it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Hummus in Haifa”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My sons have been going to Abu Shaker for years and they never stop raving about the place. Finally this last year they took me there several times and now I know why they love it so much. First and most important the Hummus is simply heavenly - smooth, warm and full of flavor. But the atmosphere is also special, it is completely plain, but there is a warmth and loving feeling for every single customer. And what a broad spectrum of every kind of person: Soldiers, students, business men, Arabs Jews, families, locals and tourists. The UN would be lucky to have such a mix

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HaifaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Shakker also viewed

Haifa, Haifa District
 
Haifa, Haifa District
 
Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 

Been to Abu Shakker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing