We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Haifa's solid establishments”
Review of The Duke

The Duke
Ranked #46 of 375 Restaurants in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Israeli
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Haifa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of Haifa's solid establishments”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Plenty of beer on tap to choose from with a high standard of sanitation, and an even more impressive whisky cabinet.
I tried the Shepard's pie and it wasn't cheap but very well made.

Highly recommended if are willing to spend the extra buck on a higher than average product.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank The Question B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    32
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

the duke was really satisfying. the variety of Alcohol was very good - a lot of Whiskies and all other Alcohol. the waitresses was very professional and pleasant. the food was good but a bit expensive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had lunch their with my cousin and baby. The atmosphere was great and calm. We asked for the business lunch menu. The variety of choices is great and each of us ordered different things. Although the waitress said we cannot substitute items in that menu with items in the regular menu, the manager was really kind and flexible. We ate a wonderful meal; all the dishes were generous and barely finished our food. Definitely a place to return to!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OshratM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Duke”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

zanyu even how to define this place. pub or restaurant? although more than a pub, since the restaurant is bad. not the best food, small portions, few waiters. on the other hand is a nice bar and a good selection of beers. in the end I do not know if I want to go back there? impressions are not the best.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Efim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A nice change”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband was delighted to find somewhere selling Guinness! I enjoyed the atmosphere and the (very definitely.non-kosher) food. Creamy pesto beef linguini was very good. I suspect most of the regular clientele work at the nearby university.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke also viewed

Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 
Haifa, Haifa District
 

Been to The Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing