We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Walking Wine Tour of Jaffa, Israel

My wife and I just finished this walking wine tour of Jaffa with My Israel Wine Tours with Amir... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
M9803JZscottm
,
Seville, Spain
via mobile
The BEST Tour Guide

The tour was breath taken but Amir the tour guide was the best tour guide i have ever seen. His... read more

Reviewed July 6, 2022
Amirtel
Read all 104 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Haifa
from $115.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
from $410.00
More Info
from $663.50
More Info
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
103
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
103
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide his knowledge wonderful guide amir katz culture israel excitement stories skills perspective inspiring
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 104 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2020

I waited a few days to write my review to let my time in Israel sink in. Now, I can honestly say Amir changed my life. He changed the way I look at journalism, my education and my country's role in the world. As an American student journalist, that is saying a lot.

Throughout my ten-day journey across the country, I witnessed the most incredible sites, cultures and people. If I had traveled alone, I would have alluded myself of the intricate history of the young nation. Walking through the back streets of Jerusalem, a
basket waved in the wind, dangling from a pulley system that extended from a lone window. As a solo traveler, I would not have ended up on that street, much less have looked up to see it and even less so, know its story. 

Turns out, the Patriarch Irenaios, formerly appointed to a life commitment as the Patriarch of Jerusalem by the Orthodox Church, has been hiding in his apartment since his appointment was removed. He refused to accept the dismissal and has been receiving supplies from his followers via the basket for the past seven years.

It was the little details like that that made Amir the best tour guide I could've had. He sincerely made my trip.

Amir made my group and I feel a part of an important dynamic that took an active role in engaging with the Israeli community. He was excellent at telling all sides of every story. 

I entered Israel not knowing much about the ground I was walking on. I left with more questions than what I came in with. I left with a deeper understanding of the country's true geopolitical conditions, which were wider than I understood them to be, international precedent and foreign relations.

As an American journalist, I recognize that news is filtered for ease of western consumption. It was incredibly eye-opening to hear Amir speak without sugar-coating, to the situation in the Middle East, The West Bank, The Gaza Strip and how it relates to Israel.

He taught us above all, empathy is paramount. He felt for his Palestinian neighbors and their quality of life. He spoke to the situations for all people living under Israeli regulation despite his personal identification as a Jewish Israeli and American.

Back home, I look forward to sharing what I learned from Amir. Two of my favorite quotes he used was, "A light that lights another loses none of its flame," and, "The mind is not a vessel to be filled but a fire to be kindled." All credit given to James Keller and Socrates, respectiely.

I will never forget what he taught me and how he changed my perspective on the world. Much love to him and his family. He is truly a Jewish Indiana Jones!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank byzahrakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Not only is Amir is well versed in the facts, history, and culture of Israel, but he also creates a space for you to think, learn and experience. Amir led a group of 30+ college students throughout Israel, impressively managing to execute a packed itinerary yet ensuring that each individual felt engaged with the trip. Thanks Amir for the great experience, especially for guiding us intellectually and emotionally to better understand a new culture and country.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank dauielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Amir is the true definition of a “teacher of the path.” I fully credit how amazing our trip was to having Amir as our guide. He is inspirational, passionate, charismatic and you can truly tell he loves what he does. Please do yourself a favor and book a wine tour with Amir. You will not regret it!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank sierraganske16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Amir was the single most impactful tour guide I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. He is not only incredibly knowledgeable, but an outstanding human being that has the most broad, intelligent and empathetic world view of anyone I have ever met. The trip was filled with knowledge, personal anecdotes, humor, passion, and genuine human connection. If I went back to Israel, I would not hesitate to reach out to Amir for a wine tour, or even to just get together to catch up. I cannot speak more highly of someone—a life changing trip thanks to Amir!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank shannonswalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

I could not speak more highly of Amir. He guided our group of 30 plus college students throughout the entirety of Israel, and every single day was a pleasure. Amir doesn’t just show you the country but makes feel connected to it on a deeper level. The positivity and energy he brings to his tours makes it a once in a lifetime experience. If you get the chance to travel with him, take it.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank colms220
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews