We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Port Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Haifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

nice hostel in general, great location (very close to the train station), nice and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, not enough toilets and showers for all the rooms, the showers were dirty.
Breakfast is not included

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    115
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
51
82
95
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I spent around 2 weeks total at the Port Inn in Haifa. Let me start with its great location. There is a ton of public transportation in walking distance. The Israel Railways train station, the Metronit which can take you to one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been, and bus stops galore. I never had to take a taxi, the entire time I was in Haifa and this saves a lot of money. The Bahai Gardens, one of the most beautiful and pristine Gardens in the world is in walking distance. You are also near a ton of restaurants. Very good food at reasonable prices. The best part by far about the Port Inn is the staff. A beautiful family own and runs the hostel and they have a dog Puma who is amazing. The receptionists are all amazingly friendly. I really got to know them well and it made the experience wonderful. I felt right at home. Peter Teekamp who is the night guard at the hostel is one of the wisest and most fascinating people I have ever met. He is an amazing artist, and his breath taking art adorns many of the walls in the hostel. I recommend staying for a while and getting to know Peter, and all the staff. They have amazing hearts.

Room Tip: I stayed in both an all male dorm and a mixed dorm. Both rooms have plenty of space, night lights an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Rooms were large with tile floors and high ceilings. Comfortable beds. Bathrooms tiny - we're not small people and we had a little trouble getting in and out! Breakfasts were great - lots of cheese, tomatoes, eggs (hard boiled and egg salad), cold meats, toast, juice, coffee etc. Staff on the front desk (and management) friendly and helpful. Only a few minutes walk from the train station, so get a mud map beforehand and avoid a $10 taxi ride when you arrive. Hostel nicely decorated with artwork and local artefacts (hands!). About ten minutes walk from the main shopping street. Places to eat and drink close by (explore!). We got a rental car for a few days and had no problems parking nearby at night. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyn_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The highlight of this hostel was the friendly staff. Always cheerful and always going out of their way to help. It's a very cosy hostel. Small with a pretty garden and a nice comm area. It did seem very quiet which suited me just fine but this combined with the layout means that it's not the easiest place to meet people for the solo traveller. Good location as well, only a 10 minute walk to the Lots of shops and restaurants. As a point of improvement the breakfast was a little expensive for what it was and would have been great if it was included in the room rate. Overall I would recommend as I thought it was great but if you are looking to meet heaps of people and party it may not be for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_blues3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with some friends while on vacation and found it to be very comfortable. Not too many people in the dorms, the garden patio is lovely, and the staff was incredibly helpful in letting letting us know how to get around. They know exactly where tourists want to go and how to get them there. I really liked that there was a computer room with strong wifi. The location is wonderful. Quiet part of town near the port but within walking distance to 3 different types of public transport (one of which is a free shuttle to the beach!). Haifa is also a relatively small city so my friends and I found ourselves easily within walking distance of the more touristy neighborhoods. No need to spend the 40 shekels on breakfast as there is a very cheap grocery store within 3 blocks of the hostel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licivc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Truly excellent!

Everything here was super clean and tidy. It's a small, compact space, but they pull it off well with cheery colours and lighting. There's a lovely garden patio, a couple communal seating areas, and a nice computer room. The staff is extremely helpful & friendly--almost anticipating your needs and questions. My only complaint is that the mattresses are on the thin / hard side.

Pricing was quite affordable for the quality--only 90 shekels in the dorm. Breakfast is a bit pricey, though, at an additional 40 shekels--I skipped it and didn't regret it.

The hostel is on a quiet street, not too far from the sights. It would have been nice to have a bit more going on in the neighborhood, but the upside is that it's a quiet night's rest.

Room Tip: Half of the building [rooms with lower numbers] seemed to have working A/C. If you're a woman s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

All the receptionists are lovely and helpful, the general atmosphere is great and very relaxed. Th back yard is a gem, it's just great to be able to enjoy a cup of coffee outside, read a book, have a chat or just relax.
The hostel is located at the center of downtown Haifa, there lots of great bars near by. It's a few mns walk from the central bus/train station, a CARMELIT station and a METRONIT stop - so transportation is not not an issue.
The only downsides are the beds, that are short and squeaking, and the kitchen. It is OK, but not really made for cooking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella_A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.1 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.5 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn

Property: Port Inn
Address: 34 Jaffa (Yafo) Road | Downtown, Haifa 33261, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Inn is the ideal base for exploring Haifa and northern Israel.A beautifully restored Arabic building, conveniently located in downtown Haifa.Here you can find affordable accommodation of all kinds: apartments, private rooms and dormitories. Guests can enjoy our comfortable lounge area, equipped with a multilingual satellite TV, a kitchen with free coffee and tea available all day, and a flourishing garden where guests can soak up the sun, sit in the shade or just generally enjoy the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing