We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Port Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Haifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The downstairs facilities are good with a cosy lounge and kitchen. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good and tasty. I have given the inn 3 stars because the room is shabby. I stayed in a private room with en suite. The only resemblance to the photo on their website is the pattern on the duvet cover. The bed is comfortable and clean. The room looks tired and sad. The en suite is not great. The tap for the basin is too big so the water goes everywhere. The bath towel was old and frayed with a hole in it.
My room was next to the shared bathroom facilities so it was very noisy throughout the evening and night with toilet flushing and shower noise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank susana205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    116
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
51
83
97
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The service is the best I know so far - the lady at the reception showed us everything, made us feeling like VIP stars ;)
Clean, cosy, best location, good breakfast , nice prices. Go there for a good stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sultan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A warm, clean and friendly hostel at the best location to stay in while visiting Haifa. The double bed room we stayed in (#14) was simple but clean & quiet, the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and attentive, checking up on us to make sure everything is fine and that we have a good time, going out with us for a drink after work hours and taking us around. The hostel common spaces was a great place to meet new, interesting and friendly people to hang out with. Breakfast (comes free when booking a double bed room) was excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malanda
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Your Hosts at Port Inn know the Baha'i Pilgrims schedule very well and are extremely helpful to get you to the right place on time. They also know all the other points of interest for the Baha'is to help point you in the right direction during your free time. The rooms are simple but comfortable and are all you will need while on pilgrimage. Breakfast was very good with a large selection available. There is Good free internet access, a comfortable lounge area and a pleasant outdoor sitting area. The kitchen is small and will only allow for 2 people at a time to cook. It is a 15 minute walk up to the pilgrim house and is a good work out as it is a steep climb on roads with numerous stairs to negotiate. It suited our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

People on reception very helpful and welcoming, breakfast really good with lots of choice. Room clean, water hot, safe in cupboard. We thought the room, near the garden, was a bit cold and damp. Recommended - very good value for money. Nice garden at back, free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliotF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nice and clean, bathrooms very dated but fresh towels each day. Rooms basic but fine, we were on the street opposite the night club (which goes very late) so a bit loud, but otherwise fine. Breakfast good, all staff very friendly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank feijoa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I loved staying at Port Inn!!! Everyone that worked there treated us like family and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. I especially remember Rachel who helped us navigate the city, Masha who checked us in and made sure we knew where everything was at the Inn, Johana who answered numerous questions via emails & helped me find a private place to say prayers, Hagar who translated a Hebrew children's story for my granddaughter, and Arif who prepared the delicious breakfasts. Rachel's husband always had a smile as did everyone who worked there. The common room was cozy and a great place to meet new friends. The courtyard garden was like a little paradise. It was very close to the Carmelit subway and bus service was very convenient. I recommend the Port Inn to anyone who wants a comfortable home away from home for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Dormitory rooms don't have places to hang clothes; bring your own hangers. Hooks on the walls w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.1 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.5 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn

Property: Port Inn
Address: 34 Jaffa (Yafo) Road | Downtown, Haifa 33261, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Inn is the ideal base for exploring Haifa and northern Israel.A beautifully restored Arabic building, conveniently located in downtown Haifa.Here you can find affordable accommodation of all kinds: apartments, private rooms and dormitories. Guests can enjoy our comfortable lounge area, equipped with a multilingual satellite TV, a kitchen with free coffee and tea available all day, and a flourishing garden where guests can soak up the sun, sit in the shade or just generally enjoy the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing