We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to relax after a busy break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect place to relax after a busy break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

This my first trip to the Carmel Forest Spa and it won't be my last. If you're looking for somewhere to relax after the hustle and bustle of Tel Aviv and Jerusalem, then this is ideal spa to relax and unwind for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyerTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    88
    41
    22
    12
See reviews for
65
385
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

2 days at the carmel forest spa. Arrived just in time for an outstanding kosher BBQ dinner. The food is incredible, plentiful and delicious. The spa is excellent and the services are reasonably priced
The rooms are disappointing. They are small and desperately require an update. The bathrooms are truly old and need to be gutted. Fortunately, the rest of the hotel is very beautiful with many places to hang out rather than the room.
Overall, still a fantastic experience in a beautiful and quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 69jets69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

This looked like the nicest hotel in Haifa and I got a good rate through Hotels.com. I could not find any directions on the website and only a crude map of its location. Fortunately, the manager at our hotel in Tiberius told us to follow the signs for Haifa University. This hotel is a good half hour to 45 mins. outside of Haifa so you cannot use it as a base to travel around the area. We thought it would be vegetarian and anticipated celebrating our 40th anniversary with a dinner of mung beans and tofu. We really didn't know what to expect and at Hotels.com they said our price only included breakfast and dinner. Were we ever pleasantly surprised! Dinner included a choice among 10-12 gourmet entrees, including tenderloin of beef, fish, etc. beautifully presented and ending with wonderful desserts. There is a large wine list of fairly priced Israeli wines. Breakfast and lunch were also wonderful. Lunch (which was included) included a large salad selection accompanied by broiled fish, pasta, etc. The room was nicely outfitted and immaculate, with an abundant supply of their bath products and large, fluffy towels, bathrobes and slippers. We did not partake of any of the many spa offerings, opting to spend our day lounging by their beautiful outdoor pool and walking through the woods on trails. The next day we left before lunch and they sent us away with two large box lunches which included sandwiches, fruits, pastries, and water. This was such a nice and welcome way to send us off. Mostly Israeli's were staying at the hotel and while many of the people were older, there were quite a few younger couples and girls-week-away guests also. No one under 16 is allowed which also contributed to a very peaceful stay.

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds and meals which are always included.
  • Disliked — Too far from Haifa and difficult to find resort. Contact the hotel directly for their directions which are not on their website.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sanibelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

I spent 1 night at the Carmel Forest Spa with my wife and one other couple and I have to say I was blown away by how good it is.

If you live in Israel, forget the hassles of air travel - this place is as good as you're going to find in Europe for the same price. If you figure in the air travel and the time you waste getting to the airport, at the airport, flying etc. then you can easily justify the high price.

If you're visiting Israel, take 2 days and enjoy the best hotel in the country BY FAR. Its not a typical Israeli experience, but its incredibly relaxing.

Best of all, its QUIET. No kids under 16 allowed, and you won't see many below 25. Don't get me wrong, I love my kids, buts sometimes you just want some adult company without the shouting and screaming of OTHER people's kids. This is the first hotel I've ever been to where the pool was a QUIET place to relax. Actually, there are 2 pools one indoor, the other outdoor. The indoor is good if you want to do laps, and there's a decent size jacuzzi next to it.

We had a "suite" which is actually just a larger room with a lounge area - no separation between bed and lounge. The room was immaculate - parquet floors (which I like, I know some prefer carpet) a very comfortable bed, a balcony (more like a terrace) with 2 deck chairs looking out over a beautiful view of the forest and valley. Also a nice large and well maintained bathroom with a rain shower head. The bed itself is quite comfortable, although a little soft for my liking.

The food (its full board) was outstanding. Its all kosher, so dinner is a meat meal while breakfast and lunch are milk meals. Service was good, all things considered. You get a main course a la carte, and the rest is a buffet. Great salads, breads, soups, desserts etc.

The gym is a little small - I couldn't find a free apparatus for my aerobic workout, so I took of for a walk in the woods.... which come to think of it may be why the gym is so small. Seriously, why spend an hour on a treadmill when you can do an hour hike in a beautiful forest.

My wife and I had a massage, and she also had a peeling treatment (whatever the hell that is) and the spa facilities are first class.

Let me sum up by saying that ever since I was there, I have been looking for excuses to go back. My wife's b'day, mine, our wedding anniversary.... I can't wait.

  • Liked — Rooms, facilites, food, setting
  • Disliked — Beds are too soft
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

My sisters and i spent 2 nights at the spa. The grounds were incredible!! The food was fantastic- they even labled the foods with the specfic calorie contents on the buffett.
The room was lovely, and there was a sitting area outside the room, with a beautiful view of the hills and trees.
I had a facial, the tec was wonderful. She recommended some products for my face. I have used them since I've been home- and I can really see a differenence in my skin.
If you are looking for a serence and peaceful experience this is the place for you. I would highly recommend it, and can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — eveytthing was perfect
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlbtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

This Spa has to be one of the best for just about everything. The position it is set in, in the Nature Reserve near Haifa, provides the most wonderful panoramic views and solitude. At night you hear the wolves and jackals and in the day the music of the birds.

The facilities are wonderful - the classes given by very knowledgeable and lovely people, the gym is small but very clean and well run, the bedrooms sufficient in space, comfort and storage, all with seating outside with views over the lawns and looking towards the far distant sea, and every member of staff from the reception area through to the staff who clean the bedrooms are polite, efficient and friendly - and practically all of them speak wonderful English. My husband and I have just spent 5 nights there and the only area that we feel could be improved upon would be possible refurbishment of the en-suite bathroom.

The food was fantastic - we have never seen so many variations of salads (we are vegetarian in our eating habits) and the vegetarian hot courses were just as good. If they every produce a Vegetarian cookery book I shall be first in the queue to buy it!! There are also many meat and fish dishes available at meal times, and the breakfasts are fantastic - served between 7.30 till 11.00 and you may return as many times as you wish. Oh, I nearly forgot - they have a very good Israeli wine list to choose from - and Israeli wines in the last few years have been winning many awards world wide.

Facilities also include two beautiful swimming pools (seemingly cleaned twice per day) and tennis court. Bikes are available for loan to take out on the marked routes in the hills.

The treatments available are undertaken in well lit, well ventilated rooms, and the towels and robes provided are all excellent quality and not threadbare as we have experienced in some spas and healthfarms in the UK. And as for the cost - well, this knocks the socks off anything comparable that we have tried in our home country.

We will try to create another opportunity to come here again as soon as possible and cannot recommend this Spa highly enough. Well done Carmel Forest Spa for providing such a wonderful and truly relaxing holiday and at a reasonable cost too.

  • Liked — fantastic views and well-serviced room
  • Disliked — bathroom needed refurbishment
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shrinkologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

First impressions were good: beautiful grounds, sober and modern architecture, well decorated public rooms. Then the doubts set in: average room (Tsameret category, with terrace), tiny and dated bathroom, good but not exceptional dinner (breakfast and lunch buffets are excellent), mixed feelings about the spa (good fitness room and Turkish hammam, average indoor pool and locker rooms).

My main criticism is about the service, which is poor for the rates the hotel charges: lengthy check in, you have to bring the baggage to the room yourself, no welcome drink or fruit, little service in the pool and sauna areas, no turndown service, very uneven and sometimes rude service in the restaurant. In addition, many guests do not respect the ban on cell phone use and, even though the hotel does not accept guests under 16, there are many guests who speak very loudly and make the hotel less peaceful than it should be.

The hotel is probably the best of its kind if you require kosher food. Otherwise (I overheard several overseas guests complain), you are likely to ask yourself what the fuss is about and why you have spent about 400 euro+ per night (all inclusive).

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haifa
7.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
7.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 27 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
9.7 mi away
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
#1 of 3 in Zichron Yaakov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection

Property: Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Address: Carmel Forest | PO 9000, Haifa 31900, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Haifa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#6 Business Hotel in Haifa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#8 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Forest Spa Resort By Isrotel Exclusive Collection Hotel Haifa
Carmel Forest Hotel
Carmel Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing