We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When can I go back?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Safed, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“When can I go back?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I live in Israel and recently had a friend from overseas come to stay, and we booked a 2-night getaway for the 2 of us. We've been promising ourselves a spa hotel for years, and it's an added bonus being able to go to a kosher spa here in Israel and really enjoy all the facilities offered.
With the one exception of an extremely rude Turkish hamam attendant (who shouted at us that we had brought towels into the hamam... although it wasn't us), from start to finish we had the most wonderful time, the staff were courteous, friendly and polite, the grounds are magnificent, the facilities are wonderful, the quiet is addictive, the no-cellphone-policy is a G-dsend (as is the no children policy!)... and the food... the food.... the food was just out of this world. Another reviewer complained about the portion sizes but Israeli portions are usually very generous and I found the a'la carte portions perfect, with every mouthful something to be savoured.
Although I had all sorts of plans to join the exercise classes, book a massage, etc, once we got there we were so seduced by the peace and quiet that we just enjoyed the time without overscheduling ourselves... and frankly the solarium quiet room did as much for me as any massage or meditation class. I booked a pedicure on our last day which was wonderful.
Walked out 3 days later floating on air and resolved to go back once or twice a year for a little fix from an extremely busy and stressful life. Can't wait to go back. Would go quite happily on my own with a book next time. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: The rooms with the terraces, overlooking the pool, and absolutely divine. Pay the extra for the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayesdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    89
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
67
394
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The moment you enter this resort you fell something is different.
The staff is very generous & helpful!
You can bundle your stay with reserving a massage (which was luxurious with the amenities along)
There is plenty activities throughout the day (from sport, yoga, etc.)

Worth every penny!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOGlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent two days with our two adult daughters and we all enjoyed our stay thoroughly.We are used to spa resort and this one deserves its reputation and 5 stars.We experienced impeccable service , from the housekeeping team to the restaurant crew .Sure the building is old but our rooms , with private terraces were super clean and very well appointed.It is not a boutique hotel and the decor is classic, perhaps outdated but impeccably clean.The foyer , or lobby is welcoming and the chimney at night gave it a mountain lodge feel.We took advantage of the fitness class,went on a great early morning walk in the forest , tried new excercise classes, and used our spa allowance. The hot stone massage was perfect and so was the abyanga treatement.The lockers were constantly cleaned and the towels changed.A special note about the food , easily the best we have had in Israel over more than ten years of regular visits.Each meal had a delicious variety of elaborate , ethnic and basic dishes.It is a good thing we only stayed two days or the pounds would have piled up!
The front desk staff , on checking in and out could have been a bit more friendly and courteous ...But I should say that the security team contacted us after they found my daughter's camera left in the room safe ! She is still awaiting her camera but I apreciated the honesty and prompt reaction.
Superb location , great facility , a great escape destination , pricey but has a lot to offer.

Room Tip: well worth having a private terrace, all have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariellemiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is always a pleasure to come back to this hotel to - "recharge our batteries".
The hotel is beautifully designed, is very clean and has a lovely fragrance. You can make yourself a cap of herbal tea or fruits for free. Mineral water is also free of charge.
The gardens and surroundings are lovely except for the forest which suffered from a big fire two years ago- it is a sad sight.
The rooms are quiet specious, clean and comfortable.
There are all kind of sport activities and lessons for free.
The spa is very clean, has plenty of towels, soaps, sponges act. It is highly recommended to book spa treatments in advance.
Cellular telephones and smoking are not allowed in the public areas.
We have been there before we will come back again

Room Tip: It is highly recommended to book spa treatments in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our last stay at the Carmel Spa was November 2011 so we wanted to see again how one of the premiere 5 stars hotels in Israel is doing.

One interesting change is that the Carmel Spa membership has been abolished and now one becomes a member of the Isrotel "Sun Club". There are a few differences in the membership plan and in general if you have an existing membership at the Carmel Spa they will automatically move you to the "Gold Club" level.

This time, we decided to try the 6th floor - a slightly cheaper room since I prefer carpeting in the winter to parquet floors. All the more expensive rooms on floors 2-5 have wood parquet floors and only the cheaper rooms on floors 6 & 7 have carpeting (but no porch - which in
the winter is not really needed).

The spa and treatments were wonderful (I highly recommend the Thai massage by Raz) but what destroys the quiet atmosphere is what I term the "day trippers". Usually a group of about 10 employees get a work bonus and get to spend a day at the Carmel spa. You can spot them easily - they will be 7-8 people sitting in the jacuzzi for 45 minutes talking about their work while about 30-40 in the pool area wait for them to leave. Or they will be in the solarium, talking away among each other - ignoring the "please be quiet" signs. Unfortunately, the Carmel Spa staff do very little to correct the situation.

In regards to food, I still have the same complaint about the nouvelle cuisine. For lunch I took the gnocchi. I have ordered it in other places and it usually comes with about 30-40 pieces of gnocchi. Here I got 8 pieces. Very tasty but not what I consider a portion.

Room Tip: 6+7 floor has carpeted floors whereas all other floors have parquet floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the hotel is located 20 km. and 30 minures from Haifa and not in it. It's an isolated resort (or at least claims to be one), detached from any urban activity.

Unfrortunately, what might have been impressive 15-20 years ago, is now old and quite neglected.

The weakest point is the rooms, entitled to no more than 3 starts at best. Old carpets, boring, outdated design, no modern accessories and poor maintenance have all contributed to the deterioration and gloominess of the rooms.

The maintenance and cleanliness of the rooms are a disgrace. The bathroom floor was stained (yes... exactly what it sounds like), rust was all over rhe bathroom, the 'closet' had only one, unleveled, shelf, a loose safety deposit box and what seemed to be open electrical wiring.

The lighting was poor, with switches located in no apparent logical order, which forced us to try and err every time.

The public areas were better maintained, but as dull and unattractive.

The only strong point of the place is its' spa, which is above average, with a large variety of tratments and a relatively flexible schedule. Unfortunately, the quality of the treatments and professionalism of the staff varies a lot, so luck plays a large factor.

Maintenance is better in the spa area, but not as good as it should be (cleaning the huge waiting area windows after the rain storm has passed is not an option, folks...).

So basically, we're talking about a decent spa in an average hotel. The rooms are adequate for nothing more than sleep (great mattresses in most of them, BTW).

Terribly needs renovation and a more professional staff all around.




  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I checked in for New Year's Eve to end and start the year in peace and tranquility and we were very pleased with our experience. The amenities are great: tennis courts, grounds, patios outside rooms, pool and spa area. Even though the clientele were much older than us, we actually enjoyed the more mellow vibe and seeing 55+ers dancing the night away while we sat by the fire and sipped champagne. We are demanding New Yorkers and even rated the massages well - very professional and totally relaxing as massages should be. We will return on subsequent trips to Israel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexicana555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haifa
7.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
7.3 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
9.7 mi away
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
#1 of 3 in Zichron Yaakov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
7.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 27 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection

Property: Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Address: Carmel Forest | PO 9000, Haifa 31900, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Haifa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#6 Business Hotel in Haifa
#8 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Forest Spa Resort By Isrotel Exclusive Collection Hotel Haifa
Carmel Forest Hotel
Carmel Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing