We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$164
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loui Hotel(Haifa)(Great Value!)
$100
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveler rating
494
105
53
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
105
53
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolpublic areastotal relaxationrelaxing vacationreading roomturkish hamammain dishherbal teawine barpeace and quietperfect place to relaxgarden roomhealthy foodrooms are comfortablefitness roombottom linespent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 697 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our last stay at the Carmel Spa was November 2011 so we wanted to see again how one of the premiere 5 stars hotels in Israel is doing.

One interesting change is that the Carmel Spa membership has been abolished and now one becomes a member of the Isrotel "Sun Club". There are a few differences in the membership plan and in general if you have an existing membership at the Carmel Spa they will automatically move you to the "Gold Club" level.

This time, we decided to try the 6th floor - a slightly cheaper room since I prefer carpeting in the winter to parquet floors. All the more expensive rooms on floors 2-5 have wood parquet floors and only the cheaper rooms on floors 6 & 7 have carpeting (but no porch - which in
the winter is not really needed).

The spa and treatments were wonderful (I highly recommend the Thai massage by Raz) but what destroys the quiet atmosphere is what I term the "day trippers". Usually a group of about 10 employees get a work bonus and get to spend a day at the Carmel spa. You can spot them easily - they will be 7-8 people sitting in the jacuzzi for 45 minutes talking about their work while about 30-40 in the pool area wait for them to leave. Or they will be in the solarium, talking away among each other - ignoring the "please be quiet" signs. Unfortunately, the Carmel Spa staff do very little to correct the situation.

In regards to food, I still have the same complaint about the nouvelle cuisine. For lunch I took the gnocchi. I have ordered it in other places and it usually comes with about 30-40 pieces of gnocchi. Here I got 8 pieces. Very tasty but not what I consider a portion.

Room Tip: 6+7 floor has carpeted floors whereas all other floors have parquet floors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the hotel is located 20 km. and 30 minures from Haifa and not in it. It's an isolated resort (or at least claims to be one), detached from any urban activity.

Unfrortunately, what might have been impressive 15-20 years ago, is now old and quite neglected.

The weakest point is the rooms, entitled to no more than 3 starts at best. Old carpets, boring, outdated design, no modern accessories and poor maintenance have all contributed to the deterioration and gloominess of the rooms.

The maintenance and cleanliness of the rooms are a disgrace. The bathroom floor was stained (yes... exactly what it sounds like), rust was all over rhe bathroom, the 'closet' had only one, unleveled, shelf, a loose safety deposit box and what seemed to be open electrical wiring.

The lighting was poor, with switches located in no apparent logical order, which forced us to try and err every time.

The public areas were better maintained, but as dull and unattractive.

The only strong point of the place is its' spa, which is above average, with a large variety of tratments and a relatively flexible schedule. Unfortunately, the quality of the treatments and professionalism of the staff varies a lot, so luck plays a large factor.

Maintenance is better in the spa area, but not as good as it should be (cleaning the huge waiting area windows after the rain storm has passed is not an option, folks...).

So basically, we're talking about a decent spa in an average hotel. The rooms are adequate for nothing more than sleep (great mattresses in most of them, BTW).

Terribly needs renovation and a more professional staff all around.




  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I checked in for New Year's Eve to end and start the year in peace and tranquility and we were very pleased with our experience. The amenities are great: tennis courts, grounds, patios outside rooms, pool and spa area. Even though the clientele were much older than us, we actually enjoyed the more mellow vibe and seeing 55+ers dancing the night away while we sat by the fire and sipped champagne. We are demanding New Yorkers and even rated the massages well - very professional and totally relaxing as massages should be. We will return on subsequent trips to Israel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexicana555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The best SPA hotel in Haifa area, (most probably in Israel).
The décor is understated elegance, European home style, (not a show off).
The rooms are spacious and clean, wonderfull bed, the shower is great and the cosmetic materials in the bathroom are of the highest quality.
The food is great, with wide selection, including health food, and gourmet chef style restaurant, all day around.
The SPA is a real spoiler, entrance is free, and it has all the treatments you can dream off, for additional price.
No children; smoking; or cellular phones are allowed, so you can really relax and clean your body and soul.
The only down side is the price, which is relatively high.
For those who are willing to pay it, it is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlonGaneyTikvaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the place to go to get away from it all. The no-kids no-cellphone (in public areas) policies result in an intensely calm, peaceful atmosphere.
Rooms are OK (it seems every time we left and returned the beds had been made and towels replaced), the gym is well equipped but a bit small, and everything else is truly top of the line: highest class spa, finely tended grounds and exterior pool, tennis courts, and organized activities for those looking for some action.
The dining room is actually an excellent restaurant, with service and food as good as any restaurant, better than what one would expect at a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews