We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful staff, wonderful food and quietly beautiful peaceful surroundings. Cannot praise this place enough.
Negative points??? Well, they could have given us the milk in the mini-bar for free like some other places I suppose. Also watch out if you go off running/walking in the forest on your own as the paths are not marked and my poor spouse had a much longer run than he intended as he got lost in the woods.
Loved the fact that although the dining room was full at mealtimes, it seemed that the hotel was empty as it was so quiet and uncrowded. Also loved the fact that there was entertainment in the evenings and lots of workshops to try out for no extra cost. It was a heavenly 3 days, which I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 677 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

Amazing food, many activities to choose from, quiet and relaxed atmosphere, and above all - luxurious touch everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganit_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My husband and I spent five glorious days at the Carmel Forest Spa Resort before Passover this year. The resort exceeded our expectations - every detail was attended to, the facilities were luxurious and perfectly maintained, and the food was incredible. We took a 1 bedroom suite which was quite small, considering it was a suite, but the balcony and view were unparalleled. We would highly recommend the resort for any couple looking for a relaxing, quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYerAtHeart126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

This hotel was much better than I expected. It's very clean and well maintained. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The food is fantastic and some great wines. The pools are large and well maintained. The main steam room wasn't very hot, but the men's one was OK most of the time, as the steam was off on some occasions, but the sauna was always hot. This place is in the forest, so a bit of a drive to get in to Carmel or Haifa, son it really is a destination hotel and probably better to use it as such. It's not a place to go if you want to spend time visiting Haifa, as you'll be paying for what you don't use - The Spa Experience!
We were really pleased to have some time off at this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great place to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Bit of heaven. Cosy, expansive sea and montina views, amazing food, trails with wildflowers, great air, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Suite.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
Thank naomihecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Carmel Forest Spa is located just outside of Haifa, Israel, in a natural forest reserve. The setting is beautiful, on a mountaintop with beautiful views . We stayed in a mid-level room with a patio overlooking the Mediterranean and magnificent sunsets. The grounds are lovely. There are hiking trails, indoor and outdoor pools, a gym, organized classes (e.g. Tai-chi, Zumba, etc.) .
The highlights are the spa/massage treatments. The whole atmosphere is relaxed, with many people walking around in the hotel-issued robes and slippers. Cell phones are not allowed in public areas, contributing to the peaceful & relaxed atmosphere.
The place is somewhat pricey; spa treatments are extra, but three gourmet meals are included. One annoying aspect is that coffee/tea is not served in the dining room during lunch or dinner and soft drinks/bottled water incurs an extra charge.
The staff is friendly and helpful. You can participate in activities or just chill out and enjoy the beauty of the surroundings. You can pig out in the dining room or eat the diet-conscious foods that are also available. Great getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marvls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Do you wish you could go to a 5 star spa like those in Europe, but you keep kosher? Have no fear - the Carmel Forest Spa is the answer to your prayers. The hotel is a 5 star affair. The meals. The spa. The service. The cleanliness. All top notch.

Aug 2010 update:
Breakfast is open till 12:30am and you can come and go as you please any number of times. Lunch and dinner are superb, but the dinner portions have been reduced (nuvo cuisine) so it is worthwhile to order 3 mains for 2 people at dinner and share them.

The grounds are wonderful, as well as the pool, jacuzzi and spa. There is no longer a long wait for morning coffee and the TV stations have been improved and now one can get YES 1, YES 2, YES 3 and YES 4. And here is a hint that doesn’t appear on their website nor in their room booklet: one can borrow a DVD from the front desk and have it connected to your TV. In addition they have about 20 different DVDs one can borrow for free for the night. Just ask – since it is not advertised.

In addition to all the bathroom amenities, they now have a new luffa pad in the bathroom which is very nice.

Since they have now solved the morning coffee issue and added TV channels, I will once again give them 5 stars.

Feb 2008 update: This year we stayed in the standard Tsameret Room and we found out that most of the hotel has switched to parquet floors. I think someone in Isrotel fell on their head on this one. I have been to countless hotels throughout the world and have never seen a hotel with wood parquet floors. It makes the room cold and not homey feeling. I noticed that very few rooms still have carpetting.

Most has not changed. Same lousy cable channels. Breakfast coffee has improved slightly and only once in 3 times did they totally forget about the coffee. As usual this has to do with the fact that the person taking the order doesn't bring the coffee so it "tends to get lost on the way".

I have decided to drop a star from the Carmel Spa due to the lousy cable channels, the morning coffee wait (both problems that have existed for years and appear Isrotel has interest in fixing) and now for changing carpetting to parquet floors.

Feb 2007 update: The two major changes since last year were that the dining area now has an extra section on the balcony which has been closed off and can seat another 30 people and the spa waiting area that has also been expanded to handle more people sitting and waiting for their treatments.

We stayed in the Carmel Suite which is their most expensive room (we didn't want to, but it was the only type of room available during the period we wanted to stay). Bottom line: not worth the price. The floors are not carpetted - they are wood parquet floors which perhaps to some can be considered luxury but when I go to a hotel I prefer nice plush carpetting. The room and bathroom is slightly larger than the other standard rooms. The bathroom has a non-adjustable showerhead the size of a dinner plate and to some that may be luxurious but once again I did not consider this an upgrade from an adjustable showerhead. Lastly, these suites are on the 4th floor, which is the same floor as the dining room and even though we were the 3rd suite from the end, we heard quite a bit of noise from the dining area inside our room. Fortunately, the noise abated by 10pm. The Tsameret Room (for about 30% less than the Suite) is the best deal there.

My two major issues are still cable channels and breakfast coffee.

Isrotel has a major problem providing cable TV for hotel rooms. This problem is not limited to the Carmel Forest Spa. We had about 20 channels, and it was an improvement from previous years since they now had Yes1, Yes2 and Yes4. But the gym's 4 treadmills each had over 100 channels on their Yes boxes, so it is just a matter of the cost of providing the channels to the hotel rooms.

My other major problem is more specific to the Carmel Forest Spa. It existed last year and hasn't gotten better this year. I call it the Breakfast Coffee Wait. The 1st day we waited 12 minutes from time of order until the coffee was delivered and on the 2nd day we waited 20 minutes. The problem is caused by a number of factors. The first is that the person taking the order is not the person bringing the coffee to the table and it often happens that the coffee is delivered to the wrong table. The other problem is that they have one machine and the orders get backed up. So we then tried to order hot water and a Nescafe packet. That took 8 minutes. Our neighoring table waited 12 minutes for their coffee - and we were there at a quiet time - not a jam-packed madhouse.

Many hotels have people walking around pouring filter coffee. Perhaps one day the Carmel Spa will implement an alternate coffee system as well.

My last recommendation is to always take out the 2 year membership for 400NIS (350NIS to renew). On a typical 2600NIS 2-night stay, one can easily save 300NIS, since all treatments are 10% off, all room stays are 10% off, and if you are there on a birthday, the room rate is 15% off plus one free treatment and if you stay on an anniversary you get 25% off the room rate and one free treatment as well. Just going twice during the course of 24 months saves you money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haifa
7.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#2 of 28 in Haifa
815 reviews
7.4 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
9.7 mi away
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
#1 of 3 in Zichron Yaakov
848 reviews
7 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#10 of 28 in Haifa
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection

Address: Carmel Forest | Po 9000, Haifa 31900, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Haifa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#6 Business Hotel in Haifa
Price Range: $372 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Carmel Forest Spa Resort by Isrotel Exclusive Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Forest Spa Resort By Isrotel Exclusive Collection Hotel Haifa
Carmel Forest Hotel
Carmel Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing