We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience Could Have Been Better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baha'i Gardens and Golden Dome

Baha'i Gardens and Golden Dome
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.00*
and up
Caeserea, Rosh Hanikra and Acre Day Trip from Tel Aviv
Ranked #1 of 86 things to do in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Extending from the summit of Mount Carmel, this magnificent garden features 19 terraces and its centerpiece, the gold-domed Shrine of the Bab, which contains the tomb of Siyyad Ali Muhammed.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
217 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Experience Could Have Been Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Upon entering the temple complex, a guard told us we could not use our tripod because "that's the way it is" although we only carried a small point & shoot camera & needed it to take our pictures together with the view in the background. I found this quite annoying.

The garden itself was beautiful & very well maintained but we could not explore the garden beside the staircase leading down to the street below as it was closed (no elevators), unfortunately (we entered through the main entrance at the top, near the temple).

There was also an unfriendly guard that watched us as if we were troublemakers & asked us to take off our shoes upon 1st stepping on the marble floor of the temple, when we discovered it was actually ok to take off our shoes only in front of the temple guide near the temple building entrance.

The female toilet was not nearly as well maintained as the gardens outside, ironically. If you are driving a car, then there's some free parking in streets nearby but can be difficult to find.

On a positive note, he temple guide near the temple building entrance was quite friendly & informative in explaining the Baha'i religion to us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,726
    488
    109
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rosh Pina, Israel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A peaceful site for body and mind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

These are marvelous peaceful gardens. Their unique design, combining geometrical shapes and exquisite detailing with loving conservation of natural and historic landscape features, leaves an indelible impression on visitors heart and mind.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank inbarml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not practical for children”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was stunning and we enjoyed it from a distance. But....up close we had a problem, the steep stepped gardens are accessed by flight after flight of steps. This is fine if you aren't trying to manage a pushchair. The area has very strict guidelines about what you can and can't touch, this means that the children are not free to explore and enjoy the gardens. I would suggest visiting the bottom or top of the gardens and enjoying the views.

Helpful?
Thank r0llingr0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
228 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely place, but so unorganized...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Baha'i Gardens are definitely a place to visit while in Haifa. It is beautiful, oversees the Mediterranean sea and provides a great view of the city.
However, seems like they are so satisfied with their view that they decided to disregard the service side. The place is very unorganized, without good signs or information (either online or at the location), and no one on site who can really provide the information regarding the tours. We had to go back and forth (on a mountain, mind you) to find exactly where the tour begins, and finally found it thanks to a taxi driver who showed us the small sign that marked the beginning of the tour.
The tour itself was done in quite a rush, without much information, and seemed like something they were doing just because they have to. Too bad that with this prime location and view that's all they can achieve. Most of the gardens are not available for visit, so we have been told, and overall we expected more from this lovely venue.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for a stroll”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The gardens give a great local for a casual stroll. They are kept very well with a variety of plants and give great views of the Mediterranean Sea. There are tours of the gardens (I was not organised enough to plan this out so i cannot comment on the quality) and the times can be found at http://www.ganbahai.org.il/en/tours/#currenttimetable. The gardens should not be your sole focus for the day and are better as one of a few attractions you would like to see in the haifa/acre(akko) area. You can go into the temple during selected hours however you must remove your shoes and keep silence while inside the room.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baha'i Gardens and Golden Dome also viewed

Haifa, Haifa District
Haifa, Haifa District
 

Been to Baha'i Gardens and Golden Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing