We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to stay in”
Review of Dan Carmel Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dan Carmel Haifa
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel to stay in”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent a weekend at the hotel, and enjoyed every minute. The rooms have recently been renovated and veside being very comfortable they also look beautiful.
We had dinner on Friday evening. The food - a buffet - was excellent and with a very wide selection of options. The same can be said for breakfast on the following day.
The view from the room and its balcony is wonderful. We had the Haifa Bay view, and could not stop watching it. Rooms on the other side of the hotel also face a great view, although totally different.
Hotel's location is very convenient, with nice walkways around it and close to the Mount Carmel Center with all kinds of shops, coffee shops and restaurants.
Service was very warm and inviting.
We really enjoyed our stay and will love coming back.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the better view you will have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear ndonath!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Dan Carmel.
We shall definitely pass to the Dan Carmel team your warm words.
We hope it wont be too long before we see you again at the Dan Carmel.
Kindest Regards
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    206
    71
    30
    26
See reviews for
215
191
26
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mevaseret Zion, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

perfect hotel - location, view, rooms, bathroom,food, service & swimming pool. Near the attractions of Haifa and the promenade. Fantastic view of thr port and the city of Haifa. Take a room with the port view.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZRfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear ZRfamily!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Dan Carmel with other Trip Advisor readers.
Its always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed the service and the facilities.
We hope it won't be too long before we see you again at the Dan Carmel.
Kindest Regards
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The staff was amazing. The hotel manager walked around the lobby ensuring the guests were well taken care of. The rooms are updated and modern with great amenities. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Mschorr
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Dan Carmel with other Trip Advisor readers.
I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you recommend to others to come and stay with us! It is definitely the best advertisement !
I hope also to see you soon among our guest again!
Kindest Regards
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location! Very nice view.
New rooms and classic furniture ....
Friendly staff and tasty breakfast !!!
2 thinks that have to improve: house Kipling have to start knock on doors after 08:00 am!
Pay 40 nis for parking in 5 stars hotel it's a shame!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fukson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Everything seemed perfect to us. This fairly newly renovated hotel has all of the conveniences that you hope for when traveling: free and adequately fast wi-fi, lots of outlets in the room, great bathroom with a fantastic shower, great service, plenty of a TV stations, great food and a fantastic view of the port of Haifa. Couldn't ask for more and I highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Atop the Carmel mountain sits this fantastic hotel. It is not the newest hotel but it is well kept.

The view from the rooms is fantastic and couple of minutes walk will bring you to the boardwalk overlooking the haifa city and port.

The rooms were spacious and clean.
Food was quite good considering the Kosher limitation but this is of course important for observant Jews.

One main downfall for me was the gym. It is tiny, not ventilated and equipped like it was built in the soviet era. If this is important to you the other Dan hotel nearby has a much better modern gym.

All in all a good experience and I would recommend it to anyone not looking to have a gym at their hotel :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uri_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear URI_FI
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. The Dan Carmel was built in 1964 and it has been totally renovated during the last year.
All our rooms are new and we just completed and re-opened our new swimming pool and the new gym. The gym is now equipped with the newest equipment and I am sure that at your next stay with us you will be able to enjoy it and see the difference.
Waiting to see you back at the Dan Carmel!

Doron Keren
Hotel Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great view from the room (I had a sea view), the hotel was clean and the staff helpful BUT the food was not great (the kitchens being kosher probably didn't help from my perspective although obviously would be a good choice for a observant Jew - of which there were many staying), coffee and teas were not replaced unless I asked, used glasses and coffee cups were again not replaced. The atmosphere was polite but a little uninspired and there is really not much in the Carmel centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian_loves_lobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, General Manager at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear julian_loves_lobster,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay; it is through guest feedback that we can develop for the future.
Throughout the hotel, every effort is made to ensure the highest levels of guest service at all times; we have therefore been sure to take on board any comments made in a bid to ensure of no falls in the future; thank you for highlighting these areas to us.
We'll be looking forward to welcome you back for a more balanced and improved impression.
Best regards,
Doron Keren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
793 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.2 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Carmel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Carmel Haifa

Property: Dan Carmel Haifa
Address: 85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Haifa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#5 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Carmel Haifa 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Carmel Hotel sits high up on Mount Carmel amidst breathtaking views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline. This classic hotel is situated on the prestigious, tree-lined Hanassi Boulevard and backs onto Haifa's gorgeous hill-top promenade, only meters away from the magnificent Bahai Temple. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes walk from the attractive Carmel Center with its many cafés, shops and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dan Carmel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Carmel Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Carmel Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing