We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable stay in Haifa”
Review of Dan Carmel Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dan Carmel Haifa
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Dan Carmel. The room had everything we needed, the bed was enormous, the food was extremely good, the swimming pool a sheer delight and the view of Haifa Bay whether by day or night can hardly be matched.
Haifa is an interesting city on the green slopes of Mount Carmel and is a good base for tours of all northern Israel.
The staff of the hotel were very attentive and courteous.

Note: The hotel plans renovations in the coming months.Check in advance when booking.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel overlooks the bay. The other - the rooftops of upper Haifa. Obviously the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 803 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

I spent a wonderful weekend with my family in Dan Carmel. This is a beautiful hotel located in a beautiful and very convenient spot.
Excellent service, excellent food and excellent atmosphere.
Easy to get to, convenient parking, close to the Carmel centre to enjoy restaurants and other shopping but not too close to be disturbed by noise.

Room Tip: Face the bay/sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your great review,
Warm words like yours give us the motivations to provide best service to our guests.
Hope to see you again.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

When I am travelling to Haifa, I prefer staying in this hotel. It is luxurious, comfortable, clean. The rooms are big with a view to the Haifa bay, a balcony, and it come with some treats as well.
Breakfast is very diverse and offers from healthy food to sweets, deserts and cornflakes.

The location is good, walking distance to the Carmel center and some nice attractions.
One bad thing, though common in Israel: Parking cost extra.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank styledaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review to the hotel,
We are trying to give more to our guests, beyond their expectations.
Hope to see you again
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've stayed there for a weekend as a couple of adults and 3 kids. We took 2 adjusted rooms for that. The rooms from floor 4 (I think, we were on floor 6) are renovated and although not big in size, are extremely practical with a big, modern and very nice bathroom facility, great and very comfortable bed, TV and air con. The rooms were also very clean day after day and all the small things (pillows, towels, etc) are of high quality and very nice. The view we took was for the Carmel Mt and sea which was standard, but Haifa has a really beautiful sea port and I'm sure the rooms (more expensive) with view to that port is nicer. The balcony is small and not really usable, only a place for the 2 chairs that are outside. The parking is at the hotel site but for additional cost (not too much, but still...) and within a walking distance it is one of the centers of Haifa with good place to eat, supermarkets, public transportation, etc. There is also a nice swimming pool (standard one). The facilities specifically for kids are not great, the kids club is really small and not really can be called "kids club", the swimming pool is standard which is great for adults, but not so attractive for kids. The hotel staff was very very nice and helped us with places to eat, go and even the kitchen helped us with some requests we had for food for our smallest baby. The hotel is very clean and nice and quite, and the location is great if you like inner city locations. I think it's a great option for business trips or for couples, less ideal for families with smaller kids.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roi_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for choosing the Dan Carmel Hotel.
We understand you stayed at one of our renovated room and we are appreciate you
Took the time to write a review.
Your remarks are of a great value to us in our efforts to improve .
Thanks you,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel was excellent, the food was very good and the service was outstanding. The gym and spa need expansion and renovation because they are very old. Bottom line, we are very enjoyed celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Dan Carmel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Recommended Order Executive level room (Ours was 912) with a view of Haifa Bay, Private balcony, fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nir_Sharabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Management at Dan Carmel Haifa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for the warm words about the hotel.
We have completed our renovations at the rooms floors and the next step is our public area and spa.
Hope to see you more at the hotel,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at Dan Carmel Haifa I found the staff extremely helpful, Booked into executive lounge which was being refurbishes however they made an effort to house people in a room near the dining room, it was adequate but we should have been told about this, there were 2 computers we could use but I feel free wifi should have been given. Reception staff went out of their way to help. Lovely gift shop. Good pool area. great breakfast. Had a refurbished room exceptionally nice bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbieI_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was staying at the Dan Carmel for business, and with this I get the use of the business lounge which is very nice (the 10th Floor business lounge is going through renovations at the moment) the service was good the food was good but there are 2 computers and you still have to pay for wireless to use your own devices which I think is a bit rubbish.

The gym is rubbish, two running machines one old bike one old cross trainer and a multi-gym..... there is a bench and some free weights but it is just a bench.... no bar bell support so no bench press.

On the first night I asked for my mini bar to be restocked as it had not been stocked since the last occupant - this never happened. There was no hotel information folder in the room which meant no room service menu. I did go down and ask for one and was told 'no one orders room service everyone eats down here' not really the response I was looking for!!!! Plus without the information folder how do you know about laundry or what to do around the hotel. On another front how do you know where the fire muster point is or your evacuation route........

So the hotel is lovely (and it is undergoing much needed renovations) but rubbish.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.8 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#10 of 28 in Haifa
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.7 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 28 in Haifa
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Carmel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Carmel Haifa

Address: 85-87 Hanassi Avenue, Haifa 34642, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#3 Business Hotel in Haifa
#5 Family Hotel in Haifa
Price Range: $269 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Carmel Haifa 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dan Carmel Hotel sits high up on Mount Carmel amidst breathtaking views of Haifa Bay and the Mediterranean coastline. This classic hotel is situated on the prestigious, tree-lined Hanassi Boulevard and backs onto Haifa's gorgeous hill-top promenade, only meters away from the magnificent Bahai Temple. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes walk from the attractive Carmel Center with its many cafés, shops and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dan Carmel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Carmel Haifa Hotel Haifa
Dan Carmel Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing