We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dan Carmel Haifa
Nearby Hotels
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
$149
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$80
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$513
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loui Hotel(Haifa)(Great Value!)
$100
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveler rating
474
225
76
30
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
225
76
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelgreat viewbahai gardensbay view roomexecutive roomrooms are spaciousbusiness loungenice poollouis promenadebreakfast and dinnercarmel mountainbusiness centerisraeli breakfastnorthern israelcarmel centerhotel is locatedfree parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 832 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was staying at the Dan Carmel for business, and with this I get the use of the business lounge which is very nice (the 10th Floor business lounge is going through renovations at the moment) the service was good the food was good but there are 2 computers and you still have to pay for wireless to use your own devices which I think is a bit rubbish.

The gym is rubbish, two running machines one old bike one old cross trainer and a multi-gym..... there is a bench and some free weights but it is just a bench.... no bar bell support so no bench press.

On the first night I asked for my mini bar to be restocked as it had not been stocked since the last occupant - this never happened. There was no hotel information folder in the room which meant no room service menu. I did go down and ask for one and was told 'no one orders room service everyone eats down here' not really the response I was looking for!!!! Plus without the information folder how do you know about laundry or what to do around the hotel. On another front how do you know where the fire muster point is or your evacuation route........

So the hotel is lovely (and it is undergoing much needed renovations) but rubbish.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've stayed at the Dan Carmel in Haifa a couple of times on business trips and understand from the locals that it's considered a fancy and really nice hotel. I've also seen som good reviews here on tripadvisor which I honestly don't understand. The first time I was here, I was amazed by how old the whole hotel look and felt. It must have had it peak early 80's. The facilities are all over good, but everything is aged. Rooms are somewhat dirty, electrical cords in rooms are fixed with tape, etc. etc. To me, the price is not worth it.

On the bright side, friendly staff, nice view and allover good facilities.

However, the most surprising thing is that even in 2012, there is no free wifi access in the rooms. Even at a hotel that have a lot of business customers. You have to pay 70 NIS for room access for 24 hours (25 NIS for 30 mins) and it would be limited to one device only (you would need to buy separate access for your ipad and laptop for example),

The hotel is in desparate need of a renovation. Once it get's it, it can be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simenwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Professional service, great location! great Breakfast and B. Lounge.

Room Tip: Executive rooms facing North
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yechiel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

we staied 3 n at the hotel
the are nu=ice cosy and qeite big
the is not new but the sttaf is realy good 'helpping in everything they can
there is a club for the children during the weekend
and the view is one of the i saw [take a room in the 4 floor and up!!!!}

Room Tip: [take a room in the 4 floor and up!!!!}
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yavda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Hadn't stayed here since the 70s which is dating me as well as the hotel (!). Stayed 4 nights while attending a conference at the University of Haifa and in my whirlwind 3 weeks of travel and 8 hotels this was one of the best experiences. This was because I had one of the refurbished rooms, and the design is nearly perfect (see review below re: comfortable bed, tv embedded in bathroom mirror, shower stall with amazing shower plus huge tub). I could completely unpack, which I really like to do (especially since I had clothes for a 3 week work/vacation trip, making it very hard to keep delving into a suitcase). So much drawer and cabinet space I left an entire drawer of dirty clothes behind (forgotten in bottom nightstand drawer) which the hotel promptly and efficiently mailed to my home. Excellent service! The room rated excellent and service just fine, but the common areas haven't changed much from the 70s, and the gym is totally disgusting. It smelled like mold (which I swear looked like was growing around the edges of the carpet), with rusted equipment that seemed like it was 25 years old. No wonder they make you sign a waiver just to use the equipment. I stayed about 30 seconds and then decided to take a walk outside, which I did every night thereafter. Great rooms. They need to update the common areas, staring with the gym! Also - great gift shop in the hotel - Sara's Jewelry - with very friendly sales help. Considering I had little time to shop while away this was appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iblaurajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews