We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very worth your time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very worth your time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Leonardo Hotel on a weekend to celebrate a family occasion.
The lodgings were excellent, the view of the Med. Sea was amazing, and the service was fine as was the food.
Strongly recommend!

One caveat: A few of the members needed gluten-free food and ordered it ahead of time. It was not ready on time for one of the meals. When it came the food was tasteless and very plain. Therefore they had to eat regular food that they thought was permissible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanramati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    211
    82
    47
    42
See reviews for
374
174
23
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second 8-day stay at the Leonardo. Its proximity to HaCarmel Beach and the boardwalk was the initial reason we chose this hotel. However, from the first day of our visit when a surprise birthday gift was left for my husband in our room, to the last day when we needed a place to stay until our flight left Ben Gurion Airport, Guest Relations Director Miri Capon and the staff made us feel so welcome that they are the reason we now consider the Leonardo "our home away from home." Breakfast was always a treat. Selections were plentiful, food was fresh and attractively displayed, the dining room was clean, tables were cleared quickly, and servers were always helpful. On Shabbat, omelets were not prepared but there were numerous alternatives, and the espresso machines were not in use but plenty of hot coffee was brought to our table. Our 19th-story suite was more spacious than we anticipated, and the view of the Mediterranean Sea was spectacular. Housekeepers were friendly, efficient, and quick to provide us with additional towels upon request. The Business Center Lounge was a pleasant surprise – a place to access the Internet in a spacious, clean venue with a fantastic view of the sea. Fresh fruit was always on hand, breakfast and dinner were served daily, and a delicious dessert was provided in the evening for guests with a sweet tooth. We felt safe in and around the hotel thanks in part to security at the front door, the guarded, well-lit underground parking lot, and security guards who checked the Business Center Lounge in the middle of the night (we were there at odd hours until our sleep cycle got in sync). The Leonardo is conveniently located just minutes away from Haifa Mall and 15 minutes from downtown. Highway 4, which loops around the city, is easily accessed by car from the hotel and leads to all points in Israel. Thanks to Miri and the staff, we will definitely stay at the Leonardo the next time we visit Haifa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed for the weekend at this hotel.
Although the hotel was fully occupied, all our needs were answered in short time on the best side we could expect.
The food in this hotel was great, big variety of delicious dishes served by high profesional staff.
Moreover, the location of this hotel is perfect, 2 minute walk from the crystal clear water beach.
One thing we can't forget is the spectacular sea view from the room, ironically, most pictures were taken from the balcony:).
We highly recommend to stay in this hotel while visiting the "colorful" City of Haifa.
Bon-Voyage!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renik87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

On arrival no trolley or porter to help with suitcases. Carpet stains in corridor. Room number missing a digit on door. Stained walls, hinges. Tiny balcony, awful view of tired hotel. Pool stank and roof didn't open much, certainly not retractable. Holes in walls of bedroom and carpet coming away from the floor. Exposed plug sockets. No bottles of water in room. Not told about access to beach..had to walk around the whole complex. Over the top security. Lifts took an eon to arrive and when they finally reach your floor the doors open and close within a second. I asked for refund and they said to speak to Expedia? Staff were rude. Press 0 for help - no one answers. Air con panel fell off when clicked on. One tiny spotlight in master bedroom.Dingy. Went to Hilton TA for a night to get away from it -on our return the room hadn't been cleaned. Complimentary tray of fruit (after initial complaint) untouched as not there, had gone off and left in the fridge?Breakfast ran out of plates/bowls. Coffee=dishwater. Was shouted at by waiter when I asked to be seated. For silly money night?One would have to be mad or desperate to stay there. Knocked on guest relations office door lady looked at me and said "yes"? I asked if she had a minute, her response "what for" I replied, my stay/room/the hotel in general. She responded with "what about it"..this was from guest relations!.Asked for a photocopy of something I needed at front desk, the lady questioned me, "why do you need a copy"?

Room Tip: don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was the first time we are staying in this hotel, the hotel is perfect for a family with small children.
Large and spacious rooms with a kitchenette and large refrigerator, stunning sea views.
Delicious food.
Good service.
The hotel exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reemameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

:Let me say at the outset that I usually detest these pseudo-business hotels with gigantic suites and views that don't let you open the window to get fresh air. The hospitality is nice; they welcome you with either water or wine, but a request for beer was met with puzzlement for unknown reasons. The staff I met is friendly and try to be helpful.

The biggest complaint was the WIFI that everyone complains about which was supposed to be included in our corporate rate (with large Israel company) but is only valid apparently in business center. What is the use of this? Instead if you connect to what you think is the hotel wifi (B-zone in my case, not clear why they make this cryptic name) you get a totally overfull page that is full of crap that you need to select from (credit card, some magic passcode, some other thing that leads to a "under construction" message) that a cheaper hotel avoids by just providing an open net that you connect to. I don't understand why the large fancy hotels with nice decor don't get it. Why should business travelers (or for that matter anyone) have to mess around with this kind of [--]???

Best solution, rent or buy a SIM with unlimited data when you get to Israel, either at airport (overpriced cellcom about about 30 shekel rental per day) or from post office (supposedly possible). Then tether your laptop and avoid the hotel. The 3g data in Israel is excellent.

Having said all this, it is a 5 minute walk in the evening out through the security at the lobby down to the beach for a really lovely swim in a warm sea at night, with a beach shower to rinse off afterwards. The breakfast offerings are truly magnificent.

would I stay here again? maybe, but probably would go for simple hotel in town despite lack of beach access.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdtg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

As it stands this is the only hotel located right beside the sea which is a huge advantage if you are out for a sea-pool-sea-pool vacation. Transport to town is pretty easy too, and not too expensive. There are also a few nearby places (across the road and at the gas station) to shop for groceries. Hotel staff was very courteous and efficient. A nice promenade nearby. Food was good and abundant, especially the dinner. Servicing of the room could have been better but did not really harm our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yarrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
2.5 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 27 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
2.7 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
1.7 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa

Property: Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Address: 10 David El'azar, Haifa 3508107, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Haifa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#8 Business Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haifa Leonardo Hotel
Haifa Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing