We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible and very expensive experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible and very expensive experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I have been stayed at this hotel for a one night in suite on 18 floor. Excluding the fantactic view of the see, everything at the room was really poor... Our room was not ready at 6pm inspite the fact that it had to be ready at 3 pm. The keys to the room didn't open the room, We were waiting at the 18 floor, without airconditioning at the looby (during our hot days it is really terrible) until the service man came and opned our room. After that, we've seen that the internal lock of the room also didn't work. But the service man said us that there is nothing to do with this problem. The airconditioning at the room was so noisy that it was difficult to sleep. The breakfast was also poor - one of two coffee machines didn't work. It is too long review to write all things that made our stay so terrible and not confortable. It is very sad because of the high price that we've paid for this hotel. We'll recommend to stay out of it.

Room Tip: To stay out of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    212
    84
    47
    43
See reviews for
376
176
23
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is possibly one of the worst hotels we have ever visited. Our trip lasted about an hour and even though we had paid for the room and breakfast, we couldn't bring ourselves to stay there a moment longer than necessary. A horrible stuffy room with stained carpet, a pointless uncomfortable dingy area without a window which allowed the hotel to call this a junior suite (for which you should read grotty extra area with a dodgy looking sofa no sane person would want to sit on), grubby, stained bathroom, air conditioning that didn't work, boiling hot public areas with no air conditioning leading to them, a miniscule ground floor lounge that couldn't possible accom,modate more than a handful of guests at any one time, no effort to provide a nice seating area outside or provide proper beach facilities and a horrible swimming pool that you accessed via the underground car park. Apart from one chap on reception, the staff were rude and unhelpful starting with the security guard at the front who made no effort to explain the complicated arrangements to put the car in the car park. and was completely unhelpful about us dropping bags to save lugging them from the car park, and a manager who was completely indifferent about our unhappiness with the hotel; we had booked via website and she had our money and no amount of displeasure on our part was going to make the slightest bit of difference to her. She even insisted we pay for the breakfast she knew we were not going to eat. We couldn't get out of there quick enough.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyM966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

See above. It's ridiculous to charge $100 a week per person for Internet while other places offer free Internet. The breakfast buffet was bland and boring. They overcooked and burnt the omelettes. The only saving grace was the location by the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nealadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Leonardo is an isolated hotel on the beach as you enter Haifa. There is nothing near this hotel, except access to a nice walk along the beach at night. Except for the nearby Druze restaurant, not much choice here. The Hotel has the pretense of a five star hotel in the amenities it tries to offer, but the room are worn, the 'balcony' is laughably tiny, and there is a three star feel despite the five star price. Only nice feature was the business lounge where food was occasionally offered, although no one had told us about that. Also, the lounge has free computers while the rooms have rip-off wifi rates. Better to stay on top of Haifa in the carmel section where several nice hotels offer more choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I travel all over the world for work and frankly this is one of the worse hotels I've stayed at. Rooms are small, dirty, there's mold in the bathroom, floors are dirty, towels are like sandlpaper, toiletries are cheap and watered down. For the money I would expect at least a clean bathroom!
Also the rooms have a fantastic view of the Mediterranean but the minute you open your curtains, you can see directly into neighboring rooms. No privacy whatsoever. No wifi included either. I will never stay at this hotel again or at any other Leonardo hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh HaAyin
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The main problem of the hotel is that it is not clean!!! in the rooms and mainly in the public areas. We also order dinner for each night and got only one (in the first night they let us eat in the lobby!!!

The stuff is not nice apart from the hotel manger (she was very nice).

This hotel is for business and not for family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is at a fabulous location right on the beach. July is very hot in Israel but here there was always a sea breeze, the water is warm and the facilities at the beach is great. About a 2 km boardwalk with bars, cafes, exercise equipment, rollerblade rinks and much more. The hotel a bit less than 4 star, which is not bad by Israeli standards. Breakfast was huge and was included in the price. Staff were helpful. The hotel as it is on the beach is a few km out of town. Haifa itself is located around the port so this is a better place to stay. You can drive or get a cab into town it is only 5 minutes away and cabs in Israel are cheap. I would certainly stay here again and would strongly recommend staying here during summer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigkahoona6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
2.5 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.7 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
1.7 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa

Property: Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Address: 10 David El'azar, Haifa 3508107, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Haifa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#8 Business Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haifa Leonardo Hotel
Haifa Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing