We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A downstream hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A downstream hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Upon arrival to tje hotel lobby with our car, we have found that there are a couple of stairs between street kevel and eht hotel enterance kevel. We are not allowed to carry up our suit cases because of hwalth problems. We asked for help but no one there vouloneered. We were told to go their parking lot and to drive back all around. The entrerancr to the hotel parking lot was about threehundres yards back on the access road but they did not bother to show this through appropriate sign. The parking lot it self suffers from heavy unpleasant smells. A sign there shows that you may enter the elevators from either one of sides. We picked omne, but of course-there the door to the ekevator were closed telling that we should go to the other enterance. We have foud the room to be clean, however, the window frame was displaced, no way to close completely the window. As it turened out during night we had to enjoy the noise of apassing by trainsns.The rail is passing as I guess at about ten meters from the hotel building.
When wishing to use the safety box it was found to be attached to the floor and in order to read the instructions how to use it I had to lie down over the floor, what afun, it saved using the gim room. The next surprise was that while going to shower, the moment that I removed the shower's handle from its base the base that should be attached firmly to the well was loosen and fell directly on my bear feet. fortunately I was not hurt badely.
I presume that the hotel management are a typical cost savers t his is why one of the lights in the bathroom were missing and this is why the water stream in the lavatory was so weak, leaving you with two options either ot stay withwaste or to work hard and pull the water knob as many as ten times spending a lovely time around the lavatory. Breakfast buffet wasquite good.
Mattress was of average quality

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omegaalfaTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    211
    82
    47
    42
See reviews for
374
174
23
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed at a few hotels in Israel when on business and this one is reasonably good. Israelis in general don't do customer service particularly well but this hotel actually is good on that front, looked after by Miri. Its good having the beach just outside the door and its about 30 mins walk to the Business Park where most of the IT sector is located. You can swim most evenings up to Sunset as the seawater from May to Oct is over 25 deg. The beach runs about 10 km southwards from the hotel and has a blue flag.

Food in the hotel is pricey for what it is but there are a good selection of bars and restaurants with good food within walking distance on the beach promenade, the best food is the cafe in the nearby petrol station, everyone speaks English. There are some really good restaurants in Haifa town too.

The main railway line runs about 50 metres from the hotel but as the rooms are mostly sea facing, the noise is not a problem. The rooms are larger than average with good sea views, the beds are averagely comfortable and the rooms are cleaned well on a daily basis.

I was on the 15th floor for last years 5.5 earthquake and the hotel had no problems coping.

Beware the taxi drivers who don't like the short drive to the Leonardo up from the Hof Ha-Carmel station.

Room Tip: Join the frequent travellers club for Leonardo to get the extra comforts thrown in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkobject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is just a bit tired, in a busy area of the city with a busy clientele you get the impression that the hotel is just a little bit overwrought. There is nothing wrong it just looks past the lived in stage. The bar is ok but too near the reception, the restaurant is ok but too near the swimming pool and the pool is ok. I'd stay here with work as I don't need to spend much time in the hotel but if I was paying for it myself I would expect more for my money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaShotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Haifa Leonardo from 6/06/13 to 6/19/13. The Guest Relations manager Miri Capon was excellent and went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay and anything we needed was provided. The hotel is right on the ebach and has an excellent breakfast and business center, indoor pool and fitness center. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you plan to stay in Haifa.

Room Tip: The best room in the hotel in my opinion is room 1456 with private balcony with excellent view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We decided to stay in this hotel as this is the only one on the beach in Haifa - all the rest of the hotels are on the top of Mount Carmel or in any other parts of the city.
The main problem of the hotel - price vs. service and quality. The only one positive side of it - it's location - if you want to stay on the seaside it is really a perfect choice, however for such a bad service you better can take a hotel in other part of Haifa and to take a taxi to the beach whenever you need. As Leonardo is very isolated from the city and any attractions it is quite boring there - even to come to the beach restaurants will take you some 15 to 20 minutes, as there is absolutely nothing close to the hotel - most of the restaurants are located on the Dado Beach which is approximately 1 km from the hotel by foot.
Everything starts from the reception and the boys / girls there really don't mind if you get any service from them or not. You can wait while they are doing their internal things and if you try to let them know that you are waiting (even if you are with the small kids) they react very resentfully, like you try to disturb them so much. If you call from your room to the reception for any assistance - be sure that you never get it or if yes - with a huge delay.
The rooms are not cleaned well and there is a feeling like they never clean the floors and the carpets in the rooms. We have tried to go barefoot in the rooms for some two hours and for our big surprise our heels were completely black in the room that supposed to be clean! It looks even dangerous, to be honest...
The room itself is absolutely empty of any useful equipment - except of the teapot and two cups there is really nothing! And if you need anything - you will be charged for the room service. Even if you want to open a bottle of wine and need an opener - you will pay for that! It's really very strange - the room service costs 10 NIS - doesn't matter what kind of request you have. This is official and they charge you this amount in the bill. I have never seen it in any other hotels, and I travel really a lot!
The air condition in the rooms works really very bad - if it works it is very cold and you cannot adjust the temperature up to your needs. And if you are out of the room - it cannot operate as it turns on and of with the volume detectors - if there is no movement in the room - the air condition turns off. Even if you are sleeping it is the same.
The breakfast looks very full of choice and a big variety of different meals, however, practically, there is a big number of plates and bowls with the same stuff inside - it is just placed to fill the space and to create an impression of the big choice. In Israeli hotels you will never find any meat stuff due to the Kosher reasons, and this could be fine if the choice of the non meat items is wide enough. In other hotels it is much more interesting and honestly - more tasty and delicious.
The behavior of the staff in the breakfast is unbelievable! Mainly the guys who really work - Russian boys and girls. All the Arabs there are mainly doing nothing and if you ask them for anything they will try to ask others in the best case or will just ignore your request. It looks funny that they have approximately the same number os the Arab managers as the number of the real doers.
Generally the breakfast area looks very unclean and even not safe from the microbiologic point of view. And it's extremely cold in the dining room - the air condition works so strong that you can get cold there in a moment.
The staff preparing the omelettes behaves very aggressively, mainly they don't prepare what you really need, they mix the ingredients, you can get cheese instead of onions of vise versa.
The swimming pool is nice, you can find an area to stay under the sun or inside. It is a bit not comfortable if there are many people, especially during the weekends - Friday - Saturday. There is a direct way to the beach from the swimming pool zone, you have to ask a very lazy guy to open the door to go out and if you come back the same way - you wait on the entrance quite a lot till he comes to open it for you.
The parking is very good, there is always a lot of space and it's free of charge. You have a lift going from the parking floor to any other floors in the hotel directly.
The internet connection is extraordinary expensive - costs about 85 NIS a day. Unfortunately, it is also very slow, especially for this price.
Usually the hotels like this in Israel make money on the contracts they have with the companies or labor committees - Israelis get a kind of family trip once a year in a hotel in another city. As they get it more or less free of charge they don't care of the service they get and the quality of the content. Leonardo seems to be oriented exactly to this customers group therefore the outcome is as is. That's the main reason that the "normal" tourists suffer so much from the bad service, dirt and indifference.
The hotel needs a real renovation as it was not renovated since the establishment. And the most important - they need to change the attitude and style - they benefit from a kind of monopoly, however everyone has to know that there is a choice.
If you come to the beautiful City of Haifa - take another hotel, the best ones are on the top of Carmel Mount and to get to the coast - take a transport from there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stroy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We came here for the weekend, we received a room on floor 6 that is the first floor with rooms, it is on the street and we had noise from the railway, the room was not in best maintaining condition, we couldn't close the curtains all the way (the sun disturbed us morning time) and we had problems with the room lock. the view from the windows was very nice (view of the Mediterranean sea). the food was good, except lack of vegetables at breakfast. the location is great on the Mediterranean sea and a 2000 meter boardwalk on the shore.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room flor 10 and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beit Shemesh, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a three day vacation. We decided to stay at the Leonardo after reading all the positive reviews. In short: The courteous staff was fantastic, the room was 5 star quality, the view of the beach right outside our window was perfect.
If you want a relaxing stay in Haifa, I highly recommend this hotel. This is the first review I have ever written, and I am doing so because the hotel deserves it. Definite value for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
2.5 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 27 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
2.7 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
1.7 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa

Property: Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Address: 10 David El'azar, Haifa 3508107, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Haifa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Haifa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Haifa
#8 Business Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haifa Leonardo Hotel
Haifa Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing