We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel in Downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Theodor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Theodor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Jakarta
Level Contributor
217 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel in Downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Good points:

1. Decent hotel
2. Basement parking
3. Nice view from the room
4. Restaurants & stores nearby
5. Good location to begin exploring the city
6. Staffs generally friendly & helpful but alternated with a little indifference

Bad points:

1. Parking not free

This is a hotel which entrance is inside an office building complex but it was sufficient when we stayed there for our needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
20
29
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
158 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is a dump. Has an apartment building feel to it, with really dirty bathrooms (disgustingly dirty, with other people's hair kind of dirty), noise from the corridor and adjacent rooms (you can hear TVs and other noises).

The staff are what makes this place come through - a bunch of great, very friendly people.

Breakfast selection was pretty poor - at 40 NIS, I would call it pretty pricey.

Will never repeat (should have known better because of the price, but for a 1 night stay, I'll survive).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haifa hotels

Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Theodore should probably be considered one of the newest hotels in Haifa as it was totally refurbished a year ago. The staff are very helpful, professional and the management is very attentive to needs and keeping the hotel up to shine. The area is no longer the center of Haifa but the views from nearly all rooms are fabulous. It is on convinient routes for getting in and out of Haifa easily and there are plenty of interesting spots within walking distance. Great value for money - you can enjoy yourself and relax here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel during a business trip.

This is a very decent 3-star Hotel, with a good price-quality ratio. Nothing to write home about but overall a good offer for budget conscious travelers.

The Hotel is located in a tall building in downtown Haifa. It occupies some of the higher floors of the building, sharing the space with a small shopping center and office services. This means that when you first enter the Hotel (especially late at night, when shops are already closed) you might find the space a bit awkward. Nevertheless, when you finally reach the Lobby you realize you are in very good hands.

Check in and check out were fast, efficient and friendly.

The breakfast was OK. Not many choices for some items (e.g. only one type of bread to choose from, only 2 types of juice...) but overall the food quality was good.

The Lobby had great views and enough space.

The rooms were average sized and very well cleaned, with great views. the furniture was good enough, even tough lacking some "glamour". Reasonable choice of satellite TV channels, and free and fast wireless internet.

The rooms were very quiet, but there was noticeable noise from construction work on nearby streets until late in the night (at least midnight). This noise did not stop me from falling asleep and I assume it will be temporary, but more sensible travelers should take this into account.

There is very convenient underground parking in the Hotel building, costing 20 NIS per night.

The Hotel is located downtown. It is 10-15 minutes walk to the German Colony, where there is a large choice of trendy bars and restaurants. The area around the Hotel is less interesting, but still safe enough and with several shops.

Overall the Hotel was very practical and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

this was an attractive hotel, very modern and stylish, with lots of books and artwork. it occupies the 11th to the 17th floor of a skyscaper in the Hadar district. it is a bit inaccessible up a couple of flights of concrete stairs, although once we checked in, we found we could get back to street level by pressing minus one and walking through an underground carpark. the views from our 17th floor room were stupendous and the breakfast was great.It was close to the port and we were able to get a taxi to Ha Shamona Railway Stationa and get a direct train to Ben Gurion Airport. We also took a local bus to Akko , the Crusader port, one of the oldest ports in the world. We returned with a sherut, a local shared taxi. too

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifestorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

During the first week of November, i spent the night in the recently renovated Theodor Hotel located in the Hadar quarter of old Haifa. It gets its name form the Zionist visionary Theodore Herzl who many consider to be the founder of the Zionist movement.

Since the Hotel is located on Herzl Street, and named after the founder of Zionism who was also an avid writer and lover of books, this hotel is a concept hotel, and the theme is Library. You will find a large collection of books all over the hotel.

Although this hotel is billed as a boutique hotel, it boasts some 98 rooms and occupies 11 floors in a 17 story building built during the latter half of the 20th century.

I found the staff to be very service oriented and friendly. They were polite, and handled all special requests in a timely manner. Even though this hotel is located in an old building with entrance ways that are preeminent of former times, the rooms are fully renovated and very spacious - one of the advantages of an older renovated hotel as compared to a newly-constructed Hotel where the rooms are significantly smaller.

I recommend the Theodor Hotel for all types of travelers.

Room Tip: The upper rooms with a view of the port of Haifa are preferable if you like a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazadaToursService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have rented 45 rooms for a family event, for short weekend.
The food was great, very tasty and profusion.
The stuff were very pleasant and kindly.
The rooms were very clean and cozy. Great view from every single room.

Very good hotel for tourist' that want to visit Haifa and North West of Israel.

Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadavfreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.0 mi away
Art Gallery Hotel Haifa
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
2.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#22 of 27 in Haifa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#6 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theodor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theodor Hotel

Property: Theodor Hotel
Address: 63 Herzl, Haifa 3321214, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Theodor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Theodor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing