We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Trap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

They've managed to screw up pretty much everything in the <12 hours that I spent there:

1) The hotel lists itself as a 5-star property with most agents. When in reality under star rating criteria it doesn't stand a chance to go over 3. The rooms are extremely small (12 sqm at most) and there are no facilities what so ever, not even a 24h front-desk. Not that I mind 3 star hotels, but this one's price matches it's 5-star disguise.

2) When I asked the reception staff about the 5-star incident they replied "We're free present ourselves as we wish", which was their overall attitude toward guests, so my second point here, is staff attitude (hotel owner in particular) is extremely disappointing.

3) They attempted to rip me off while I was checking out by charging me an extra $40 for the night. When I asked about the addition, the receptionist replied "it's the USD/ILS exchange rate", but when I asked what exchange rate she had used, I was still overcharged by $40 with her exchange rate (which was a ripoff on it's own). She ended up refunding that transaction, after which I insisted to pay in USD.

4) The location is extremely strange. Inside a residential street, with nothing around really...

My overall advice: don't even think about it.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3, which was absolutely horrible. I don't know about the rest but I'm guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarmelManagment, General Manager at Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hello Sir,

First of all we were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel but we must point out some of the reviews you mentioned:
- the room that you stayed at was the standard room (the room that you booked through booking.com) is the smallest room that we have at the hotel.
- The reception Office at the hotel is available 24 hours a day-that is why a receptionist was waiting for you at 3 am.
- Villa Carmel is a boutique hotel-a star system is no longer used in Israel (you can check that information with the tourism office).
- VAT payment- your reservation through booking.com was made as an israeli citizen which by law in Israel has to pay VAT.If you arrive with a tourist,In order to avoid VAT payment, the reservation has to be on her name (which wasn't the case).
-Our staff is known as very friendly to her guests.
- One of the advantages of staying at Villa Carmel is the location.The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood,5 min away from restaurants and 10 min walking distance from the bahai gardens .

Thank you
Villa Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location, wonderful friendly staff, and a charming, offbeat antidote to the "different city, same hotel" syndrome. Definitely gives you a slice of life in the best possible way.

It had all the amenities of larger hotels (including money exchange at a good rate), a wonderful breakfast, and spa facilities (which I did not use.) No pool, if that matters to you. My wife and I had a lengthy stay and by the time we left we felt like family. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on an upper floor. The room we had next to the reception area (cannot say &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Before arrival we had great expectations. What we found justifies a 80$ (in this case I would rate it much higher) and not 270$ per night as we paid.
The place is neglected. Where shall I start? The bathroom's mirror was dirty. Repairs that were done with different materials than the original. We didn't get a laundry bag. The breakfast was poor. No yellow cheese, or any "french" cheese. Salads looked like they are leftover from previous day. Poor selection of bread. The stuff was nice and very polite. To sum it up, a reasonable hotel for 80$ a night but not a Boutique Hotel at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Disappointing . Nice quiet neighbourhood would seem to be main attraction of this hotel but interior decoration of our room - which was quite large, was awful - dark brown walls and carpet , not very good lighting - very depressing I counted five different materials - concrete finishes and wood and various tiles in the bathroom - poor lighting and meagre toiletries for a Spa hotel .Worse was lack of proper cleaning - bath surrounds were dirty
Very nice spacious balcony attached to room
Reception staff adequate but not very friendly
Breakfast staff better but breakfast itself tired and uninspiring .
Free parking and free wifi
For what it promises ,very disappointing and needs new management and a "shake up "
Would not stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newmarket18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Villa... The room was 'fine'... A little aged and needed some TLC.
We had an issue, and causing me to write this negative review.
As my girlfriend got out of the shower she was reaching for her bath robe and found a large flying cockroach inside of the robe. Was quite a terrifying experience for her.
The young guy that was working the front desk did his best to address the situation (he sent some wine and cake), but he was not a manager and probably not trained to deal with crisis situations.
The next morning, I made every effort to connect with a manager or owner, Both of which were not making themselves available. I also left my cell phone number, I never received a phone call.
When I checked out I was offered a 15% discount, but that is simply insulting.

Any good hotel management would look for any opportunity to differentiate their service, and this was a complete lost opportunity.

On another note, this was the lowest quality food or breakfast that we encountered during the trip. Really disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just came back from a night at Villa Carmel.
The hotel as a huge potential as it has a very European and pitoresque feel to it but for a 5 star hotel you'd expect rooms to be totally dust free as this caused us not to be able to sleep relaxed.
We had to change rooms because the first had even more dust.
To have a nice carpeted room is cozy but it must be vacuumed properly on daily basis.
The finishing touch must be better maintained (spots and cracks in bathrooms)
If this is taken into consideration and something is done about it, then it'd give it indeed 5 stars as staff quite friendly and aiming to please.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Johnstars25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday in Haifa, Israel from a ten day stay at the Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel (which we got a very good deal on). and on a quiet tree lined street within a fifteen minute walk from the main street area. We booked in at reception and received a very warm welcome and were showed to a very nice medium sized room on the ground floor which was very luxurious. A nice king sized bed, flat screen TV, white bathrobe & slippers and a a nice bathroom with walk-in shower! We also got a complimentary glass of wine each which was very pleasant indeed. The staff were very warm and attentive. Downstairs is the bar and restaurant which extended to the garden with an attractive water feature in place which we spent many an hour there relaxing.
On the roof is a very nice spa, hot-tub and sauna and shower room.
Regarding the food at the hotel the breakfast is adequate for $15 each but you can get better at a restaurant two minutes walk away called the Expresso, We did not have lunches or dinners there as there are cheaper and better places to go. Indeed the Expresso served a really good breakfast for 50- 60 Shekels which was very good value! and fabulous pastas in the evening. Another place to eat is the Nof Hotel which has a Chinese restaurant inside and is just past the Dan Panorama Hotel which is incredible value and it is Kosher! We had a main course between us as the portions are quite large and it was very good value.
We enjoyed our stay at the Villa Carmel and would definitely return again.
You may get a better deal booking direct with them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffreyDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.3 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
1.5 mi away
The Colony Hotel Haifa
0.7 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#2 of 28 in Haifa
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel

Address: 1st. Kikar Heinrich Heine | Off 30 Moriah Blvd., Haifa 3448507, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range: $146 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with superb amenities and comforts, prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing