We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but lacks the "Wow" factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
T-A
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but lacks the "Wow" factor”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for a night at this hotel.
We ordered a suite which was very spacious. The bed was very comfortable, a very large flat TV in front of the bed, a Jacuzzi (a little bit narrow), separate WC and washroom. I liked that there were books in the room.
The door was not acoustic enough and the AC unit noisy but OK.
The front desk staff was very nice.
I had a very good and professional massage.
There is a public Jaccuzzi and sauna
The breakfast was disapointing - good for a cafe, average for an Israeli good hotel.
The decor was OK - but not special enough as excpected from a boutique hotel.
The location - very good - close to the Carmel Center but quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    41
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
26
85
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Really a very nice hotel in Haïfa, far from the touristic zone very calm and mainly with local customers, it will make you discover the real Israeli way of life.
Receptionists and personals are the kindest we have encountered from a long time. Really ready to please you every time the best they can.
We stayed 6 nights our room was perfect, wide with a large bathroom and Italian shower but other can be very small so ask to visit it at your arrival.
Breakfast are correct as soon as you can obtain a real espresso. Mint tea is tasty and I recommend the ice mint lemonade which is fresh and delicious.
Restaurant has a wide and nice terrace but not a wide menu so you will prefer a remarquable new bar/ restaurant that has just opened nearby. Price is correct for the level of service.
Only bad point is that there is only 3 or 4 parking and that the street parking are pay per hour from 9 to 8pm. The conditionned air is also very noisy. The pillows are too bigs. That will cost a star.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarmelManagment, Manager at Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I would like to thank you for your kind words, and I am truly happy to hear that your stay with has been a good one.

I regret to hear that the parking spaces on the premises have troubled you, and would like to point out that usually hotels charge extra for parking, which we do not. And we do our best to provide free and convenient parking to all of our guests.

Thank you again, and we do hope that you will think of us again on your next visit to Haifa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for one night in one of their superior rooms, which was nice but small. When we arrived the lady at the reception was having her dinner at the front desk!! We went to the bar to have a drink and it was full of young workers, it was noisy dirty and untidy but the bar tender was nice and helpful. We wanted to order room service but they told us the kitchen was closed and it was only few minutes after 10 pm but eventually after my husband went down to the restaurant he managed to get us some salad bread and a cake which they were ok. The breakfast was good but we had it in the room and it arrived with no salt and pepper or sugar for the tea!! The roof terrace was disappointing as it had a ceiling so you couldn't sunbathe although it did say in the information pack that you could! Over all it was ok no attention to detail and with helpful staf but very unprofessional. I wouldn't go back for this price!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCarmelManagment, Director of Sales at Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Helen,
Thank you for your feedback.
I would like to reply on some of the issues you brought up in your review.
The hotel has a strict policy regarding "dinners at the front desk". Her dish was in fact placed by a waiter on the front desk table, but was instantly removed to the office in the back far from the eyesight of our guests.

Regarding your visit at our restaurant: our restaurant works daily from 7:00 a.m. to 22:00 p.m. (kitchen closes before that at 21:30) and I am sorry to hear you were not able to order a proper room service.
It is possible to order drinks etc, or even take away from other local cuisines with the assistance of our front desk staff.

And finally the roof terrace was recently modified to suit our guests both in winter time and in the summer. I apologize that it was not mentioned in

On a personal note, we are doing everything in our power to improve the quality of our services, thus your review is important to us and we welcome it as a part of our way to learn and get better.

We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Haifa.

Best Regards,

Boaz Marshall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I splurged for a one night getaway. We booked a package which included an overnight in a suite and a double spa treatment. On the good side, the treatment was very professional and we very much enjoyed our time there. Otherwise, our stay was pleasant but disappointing.
If you travel by car, parking is an issue, solvable but an issue. The reception is small, and no privacy is available. Our room/suite was large but well due for some renovation, bathroom fittings are old, and some tiles broken etc. we had to ask for our room to be cleaned again as we encountered some trash which was not ours. There is a generally a lack of attention to details, there is always a mop or vacum or garbage bag in the corridors, the staff rooms are widely open etc. The hotel restaurant which served breakfast was quite full, thus service was very slow. The restaurant is open to the public and this is probably the reason (although it should be).
The hotel services and facilities are very limited; I would not categorize this as a boutique hotel, rather a small hotel. Upon check out we were asked and kindly gave feedback, hope this is taken into account, although I felt the question was more polite than sincere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is probably the best little hotel in Haifa, especially considering the location. It is located on a quiet tree-lined street, but right off the central thoroughfare on top of the Carmel mountain. The building is very appealing, and there are about 6-7 parking spaces on a first-come, first-served basis. The staff are amazingly helpful, going far beyond anything we have seen in Israel. For example, they arranged for us to have a take-away breakfast knowing that we had to leave very early. The hotel also has a lovely restaurant right on the premises, with a great outside terrace; the food is surprisingly good and reasonably priced. Our room was rather big, with a nice balcony overlooking the treetops, perfect for having tea in the evening. The decor of the room was very appealing, with colors most conducive towards relaxation. There was a large flat-screen TV and a seating area with a desk. The bathroom was large and had a regular-sized tub with whirlpool function. On the roof there is a nice area with a sauna and a large jacuzzi tub, open 24 hours for all hotel guests. There are two massage rooms, with services available during the day. In all, a terrific place to stay in Haifa, with everything available either right on the premises, or within minimal walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. If you are lucky, you could be upgraded for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kutya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed for three nights for a family event. Curtious and friendly service (although sometimes not as proffessional at the restaurant), very willing and cooperative.
Rooms are in great shape (they smell great!), although somewhat too gothic in design.
Garden restaurant and cafe is in a lovely and quiet garden.
Hotel location is in a quiet neighbourhood at the top of the Carmel mountain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziv_miz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota,FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This boutique gem was rec. by Chantal at Isram Travel. She certainly hit the right chord.
The place is charming, the people helpful, gracious and delightful. The lovely dining area outside patio is a welcome addition. Of course, the spa on the penthouse roof is a lovely addition to a hotel. The park across the street was a good Shabbat break as we watched families playing soccer, riding bicycles. It is a very pleasant break from the hustle and bustle of the big, down town hotels.

Room Tip: Room 16 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
1.3 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.6 mi away
Haifa Bay View Hotel
Haifa Bay View Hotel
#5 of 28 in Haifa
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.5 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel
Address: 1st. Kikar Heinrich Heine | Off 30 Moriah Blvd., Haifa 3448507, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel with superb amenities and comforts, prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Villa Carmel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing