We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Colony Hotel Haifa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. Great location.”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

What a nice place this is!
Boutique style hotel.
Prime location in the middle of the German Colony with many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance and with a view on the Bahai Gardens. Room was clean, charming, and comfortable. Staff is friendly. Free parking available. Free Wi-Fi, but I could only access it in the hotel lobby. Very good included breakfast.
Not inexpensive, but a very good value.
We used Haifa as a base to tour Caesaria, Akko, and Ein Hod.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDoc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    165
    34
    16
    11
See reviews for
133
213
33
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Rooms are very comfortable, quality linens. It is a very pretty hotel, nice staff, very clean and comfortable. We had a family room with two adults and two children. Room was very spacious! We enjoyed very much!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileena_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

The Colony is in a wonderful location in Haifa for seeing the sights and there are many good restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff was most helpful. The room was good size and very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

A funny hotel in a funny place - but unfortunately with some weak points.
The weakest of all is the uncommitted service. When booking they should have told us that at that very night (30.12.) there was the New Years Eve Parade and a party with rock concerts right in front of the hotel (It was at 30.12. because of Shabbath at 31.12.). We took part and liked the athmosphere very much, but in other case.... Also in all other cases we needed some help or advise, the service was quite reserved.
The old German house, part of the German Colony, had some charme, so all the area around below the Bahai temple. The location definetly is the strongest argument to stay here.
The room was quite narrow but ok. Free parking on the plot was a nice add-on.
Breakfast was not the most convincing we had of all the mostly very good israelic breakfasts we had.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannovertraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The hotel is located in the German Colony neighborhood. It's really a good location with a nice walking area with plenty of restaurants and bars and interesting architecture. Also it's very close to the Bahai'i Gardens, one of the main touristic POIs in Haifa. So the location is really good, but the rest is not so much.
Room: our was small with the bathroom that was seriously worn-out. Typical room for a 2 or 3-star hotel, but this one I bet places itself higher.
Breakfast: small room, not enough to seat all the guests. When we came for breakfast there was no table available. The stuff was unsupportive and paid no attention to people waiting for seats. We waited near the entrance and then joined another couple at their table. The food was mediocre at best, and some trays were simply empty and no one was rushing to refill them. Besides, it was a little dirty and smelly and very loud. Normally, Israeli hotel breakfasts are very good, but this one wasn't. Maybe it was just our bad luck that on that night the hotel was overbooked and couldn't deal with such workload.
Service: I already mentioned our bad experience at breakfast. In general, the service was indifferent and inattentive. There was a party in the evening. It was really loud on our floor and the party was up until midnight. The stuff people were also participating in the party and they were not trying to tune it down. In the morning, we asked for late check-out, but were declined.
Pros: terrific location, free internet
Cons: pretty much everything else

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel! We stayed on the first floor, which is the least expensive floor. My family and I had 4 rooms!!! I was expecting just ok... so when I saw the room it exceeded my expectations. The upper floors have better rooms, but if you are on a budget the first floor will do just fine! The location of this hotel is fantastic... especially for Baha'i Pilgrims... the view of the Terraces from Ben Gurion Ave. is breathtaking!!! The staff at this hotel are very attentive and helpful!! Do yourself a favor and stay here when in Haifa!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavSepKlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

It is a very pleasant surprise when a hotel exceeds expectations based upon what is shown on their website. The check-in was smooth as was parking in the free public lot behind the hotel. We opted for the larger room and it was nicely decorated with plenty of lighting, drapes, high ceilings, swing out double windows, large wardrobe with shelves, safe and other amenities. WiFi is included. There was a box of chocolates and 2 liter bottle of water as a welcome gift, plus folded robes and fresh slippers were laid out on the bed. The recent remodel preserved the beautiful marble floors with their unique designs. The bathroom was large and also nicely decorated. Breakfast was different from the typical Israeli buffet because choices such as roasted peppers and baby eggplants were among the selections. Food was constantly replenished and the wait staff was very attentive. Self-service coffee machine for esprssso, latte, etc. was a nice touch. As a last item there are at least a dozen places to eat within two blocks. We'd definitley stay here again when in the Haifa area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travelat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.7 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
2.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Haifa

Property: The Colony Hotel Haifa
Address: 28 Shderot Ben Gurion, Haifa 3502322, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colony Hotel Haifa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Haifa is situated in the restored historic center of Haifa, in a unique preserved building, that was completely renovated in 2009 into a boutique hotel offering 40 luxurious rooms of the highest design standards. The hotel is located only 300 m from the world famous Baha’i Gardens which is one of the World Heritage Cultural sites. Next to the hotel are restaurants, cafes and a shopping mall, and it is only a short distance from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Colony Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing