We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony Hotel Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Colony Hotel Haifa
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

I had expected more of this hotel because first impressions were good and the comments on trip advisor seemed encouraging. However, having paid for an upgraded room we were disappointed in that we were given a room just off the reception area. Rooms 201, 202 and 203 in my opinion best avoided. We had to ask the night staff to turn off the TV when we went to bed but they spent the night talking very loudly in the reception area outside our door. There was also a conference on when we were there which meant the breakfast room in the morning was very busy but only one waiter to clear tables and replenish everything. In the end I cleared a table for us but still had to wait 20 mins to get any juice or coffee. The room itself also quite noisy due to the fact that the main road was right outside our ground floor window. I'm sure given other rooms and circumstances I might have enjoyed this hotel as it is only a stones throw from the beautiful Bahai Gardens and some rather nice restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    159
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
126
206
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
moscow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

hotel is located on the beautifull street, which goes straight to Bahai gardens (5 mins walk to the Gardens). It is easy to find when driving from Tel Aviv. The street is full of nice restaurants.
rooms are spacious and elegant, very nice bathroom. We had a garden view, so it was perfectly quiet.
very nice israeli breakfast in a beautiful dining room.
It was our the most beautiful hotel in Israel!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. I had not been to Haifa for 35 years so I was not familiar with the neighborhood. The German Colony is now a VERY lovely area, and also a very "happening" area. All along Ben Gurion are restaurants and cafes, and if you look up you have the incredible Bahai gardens and temple.This is absolutely a perfect location. We did tons of touring so when we got back to the hotel late afternoon or early evening, the fact that we had 20 or 30(who counted) places to eat and or have a drink within 3 blocks from the hotel was greatly appreciated.
However what really was outstanding was the service at the hotel. The front desk staff and in particular Benny(younger) and Simon( older) could not have been more accomodating. Any question we had, any concern, they were offering to make phone calls and get information. My husband was having some back pain, and they set up appointments with a wonderful masseur name Manoor(not sure of spelling) and also were happy and able to do it last minute. They gave bags of ice for his back as well.
Also when we first pulled up to the hotel it was Friday late afternoon and we could not find parking. (there is a lot behind the hotel but was full). Simon came outside, flagged my husband down and moved barriers for him to park.
The rooms are gorgeous, They really look like the photos on the website- though they are small. Since we only stayed 3 nites we didnt unpack.
One more thing-- they have a rooftop patio ( I was noticing this is becoming rather common) which is so delightful and the again, the views are magnificent.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moiinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

I love the German Colony in Haifa and the Colony Hotel has really captured the best of its ambience. I love the mix of modern and colonial elegance, and the beds were fabulous. So big and SO comfortable, with incredibly indulgent pillows. I would have happily lounged in front of the giant plasma tv screen for my whole time in Haifa had it not been for the the wonderful sights and sounds to see outside.

Breakfast was very pleasant, with a nicely presented Israeli breakfast buffet of cheeses, salads, eggs, fruit and pastries.

A wonderful place to stay in Haifa - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artemistica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Great accommodation, loved the decor and rooms were very spacious. Hotel staff extremely pleasant and always happy to help. I have previously stayed at the Dan Panorama in Haifa which I would definitely not recommend as the Colony Hotel is not only a nicer facility but it is located in an attractive area of Haifa with various restaurants and bars to suit all! The only thing I would say is when arriving at the hotel request a room away from the street as it can be noisy on a Thursday/Saturday! Overall fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beccy6586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

We enjoyed this hotel. it is beautifully refurbished and the location cannot be beat. Excellent food. Remember to ask for a hotel buisness card at the front desk. it will get you 10% off at the many resaurants on the street.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Valjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

I grew up in Haifa and I am very familiar with its neighborhoods and attraction. After many years abroad I returned for a one week visit with my husband and 1yr old son. Looking for place to stay was actually a bit difficult: we considered the Leonardo Hotel by the beach and heard that it is very run down and way too expensive. Our next choice was any of the hotels on the Carmel and all of them were quite pricey for "nothing special" hotels. Besides, the Carmel area is not the hot spot it used to be 10-20 years ago. Then we heard about the Colony Hotel and what an excellent choice it has been!

The hotel is beautiful, the view is spectacular, the room was lovely and quiet, the breakfast is terrific, and the staff was great and eager to do their best. Most importantly was its location: right by the Bahai gardens, 3 minutes drive to Dado beach, 2 minutes from Stella Maris, very easy drive to the Krayot area, and 5-10 minutes drive to the Carmel. Moreover, Ben-Gurion Ave. is a very "happening place" and the restaurants near by are excellent (especially Fatoush and Nemo). Bottom line, the room price is very reasonable which makes this hotel an excellent value.

The highlight of our stay was a private function we held on the rooftop of the hotel on Friday evening. We invited our family for a get together which turned out to be a memorable event for everyone. The Colony Hotel's rooftop is an amazing place for any event: the view is unbeatable, the ambiance is unique and relaxed, and the food and service were top notch.

I would like to thank Isaac (the hotel manager) and his team for making our stay such a wonderful experience.

N., Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.6 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.1 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
1.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 27 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 27 in Haifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Haifa

Property: The Colony Hotel Haifa
Address: 28 Shderot Ben Gurion, Haifa 3502322, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colony Hotel Haifa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Haifa is situated in the restored historic center of Haifa, in a unique preserved building, that was completely renovated in 2009 into a boutique hotel offering 40 luxurious rooms of the highest design standards. The hotel is located only 300 m from the world famous Baha’i Gardens which is one of the World Heritage Cultural sites. Next to the hotel are restaurants, cafes and a shopping mall, and it is only a short distance from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Colony Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing