We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a very good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Colony Hotel Haifa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Certificate of Excellence
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“had a very good time”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is right downtown on the central tourist street-. The room was clean and we heard no noise-- The hotel itself is very interesting because it was built in 1905 and renovated very nicely recently. The breakfast was very good and the staff made me scrambled eggs-- as a special request. The staff at the front desk was helpful particularly in terms of travel information. Last but not least across the street is a good restaurant where we ate three times called: Stroudel.

Room Tip: We got our room on the 4th floor and we liked this. However, from what I saw other rooms on other fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    163
    33
    16
    10
See reviews for
130
210
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

You awake in the morning to a stunning view of the Bahai gardens, then go downstairs to a full Mediterranean breakfast of humus, pickled vegetables, breads, pastries and biscuits, dried fruits, olives, coffee, tea and much more, which you may enjoyed on the front porch where you can watch the many merchants of busy, centrally located Ben Gurion Street come alive.

You check your plans, directions and "must see" locations with the extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff of The Colony, and then spend your day enjoying the unique mixture of the modern and historic that defines the character of Haifa. Along the way you can't help but to be impressed by the cohesiveness of Jews, Arabs, Christians, Bahai's and too many visiting nationalities to mention living peacefully together. Of course, you stop to pet or feed several of the city's numerous cats that are present on every corner.

When you return in the evening with a broken "Fanny Pack," Hava at the front desk provides a sewing kit to stitch you up for the next day (and makes you feel like it is not a foolish tourist cliche to carry a "Fanny Pack" in the first place), and if you need to hang your hand washed cloths, Gilbert strings you up a tight line in a safe place. Joseph is ready with a band-aide and a joke to mend your cut finger ("Just leave your finger and when you return it will be good as new"), and if all of the excitement keeps you awake into the wee hours, just wander down to the lobby where Ben will prove to be one of the best conversationists you will ever meet. And no review of The Colony would be complete without mention of the breathtaking view from the roof, where you can watch the sun rise and set on your perfect Haifa vacation.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Bahai gardens and shrines and each day of your visit will begin an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieSheen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

For the fourth year in a row, I stayed at the Colony Hotel Haifa, and for the fourth year in a row, I remained highly impressed. The room was clean and comfortable, just as I expected, and the staff was as friendly as ever. In addition, I had the opportunity to enjoy a wonderful dinner on the hotel's rooftop with breathtaking views of the Baha'i Gardens and all of Haifa around me in every direction. The service and food was amazing, and the staff really knew how to create the perfect atmosphere with everything from the music to the decor. As always, I'll be back to Haifa and the Colony Hotel very, very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flash951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very well run hotel in an excellent location, Ideally located to explore Haifa. We had a triple room which made the room a bit cramped but still comfortable.. Staff were very helpful, breakfast very good. I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Haifa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerfromuk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had always stayed on the Carmel in Haifa but had recently heard that the German Colony was a fun area. We needed a kosher hotel and the Colony fit our bill perfectly. Already on the phone the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and we were not disappointed on arrival - on the contrary. We had a beautiful room with a free-standing bath and more important, a wonderful view to the Bahai Temple. The breakfast was excellent. Our only regret was that the hotel could only accommodate us for one night as they were full up. We'd go back any time.

Room Tip: We had a room with a gorgeous view, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Friends recommended the Colony so we went there for a 2-night break. The room was beautifully furnished, the staff at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful , recommended places to visit and how to get around, breakfast had a great variety of foods and was delicious. We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view - either of the sea or of the Bahai Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer293983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked this hotel through the booking.com site because of the nearness to my relative's nursing facility. The price was great, as well. I had to adjust my date of arrival and was willing to pay for the extra night but they told me to change it and they would give booking.com permission. That was the first positive.
After a very stressful time, I arrived at the hotel and the gentleman at reception who greeted me had such a marvelous sense of humor that I felt immediate relaxation.

Considering my circumstances, the many trips I have had to make to and from Israel to deal with an aging relative, this has to be the most luxurious place I have stayed in years. Chocolates on the pillows, robe and slippers provided, sumptuous breakfast buffet and, after the first night (there was a party on my first night), very quiet room, I have to highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a good place to stay.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool but there IS a spa that offers massage, reflexology, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Facebookscrn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.7 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.1 mi away
Templers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
0.8 mi away
Dan Carmel Haifa
Dan Carmel Haifa
#3 of 28 in Haifa
737 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Haifa

Property: The Colony Hotel Haifa
Address: 28 Shderot Ben Gurion, Haifa 3502322, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Colony Hotel Haifa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Haifa is situated in the restored historic center of Haifa, in a unique preserved building, that was completely renovated in 2009 into a boutique hotel offering 40 luxurious rooms of the highest design standards. The hotel is located only 300 m from the world famous Baha’i Gardens which is one of the World Heritage Cultural sites. Next to the hotel are restaurants, cafes and a shopping mall, and it is only a short distance from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Colony Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing