We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's fine but nothing more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery Hotel Haifa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Gallery Hotel Haifa
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Haifa
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's fine but nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Art Gallery hotel is clean and adequate, but nothing more than that; I decided to go for this hotel as I was booking fairly last minute. My room was very small, with a comfortable bed, coffee/tea making facilities, and a bath/shower which somehow flooded the bathroom floor when I (carefully) took a shower. Oh well. The art hanging on the walls of the hotel was a nice touch, and there is a pleasant roof terrace where you can observe amazing sunrises across the bay.

Two factors (aside from the leaking shower) were a disappointment. First, the breakfast was the least appealing I have experienced in any Israeli hotel or guesthouse. One day breakfast was in a cafe attached to the hotel, where I ha to wait about 10 minutes before even being offered a place to sit, and the other day in a cramped small dining room with a large tour group. On both occasions service was slow and there was no choice of breakfast, just a plate with a couple of plain soft cheeses, jam, olives, plain canned tuna, butter, a white bread roll and a couple of boiled eggs, plus instant coffee that we got to make ourselves. Compared to other places to stay - including cheaper options - this was disappointing.

Second, the location is not really a logical place to stay. It's a commercial area, far from restaurants or anything open in the evening. Arriving back at the hotel at 9:30pm, I had to walk ten minutes along a totally shuttered street to even find a grocery store open to buy cheese and crackers. The hotel does not offer any kind of food service apart from breakfast.

For the same price, do yourself a favour and pick a guesthouse in the German Colony, which is a much nicer place from which to see Haifa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avigail9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    66
    31
    23
    17
See reviews for
29
74
21
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on the 4th and 5th of May and have nothing but good things to say! The hotel is in Hadar, the downtown area of Haifa so if you know the area you know it is not a tourist area and not particularly pretty but we only planned on using the hotel as a base while in Haifa. When we arrived to check in we were told we had been upgraded to a suite and were amazed when we got to the suite, very spacious, huge balcony, jacuzzi in the bathroom! The rooftop terrace at the hotel is beautiful and very peaceful. There is a small but well equiped gym and massage rooms. The art throughout the hotel is stunning and really adds a lot of character to the hotel. The reception staff were great and helped in any way they could with calling us taxi's etc. Would definitely stay again but would probably pay more for a suite and we did glimpse a standard room on the way out one day and it looked considerably smaller. We got taxi's everywhere but there is a bus stop right outside (and a market) and it is about 15mins from the train station in a taxi. We had a great stay thought and thanks to the staff :)

Room Tip: Pay extra for a suite if you can, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NMorris26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShlomoToy, Public Relations Manager at Art Gallery Hotel Haifa, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
thank you for your warm review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberias, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We did not look for something fancy. We wanted clean, quite and not expensive. This is exactly what we got. The room was nice not so big. It was clean and the service was nice. I think this hotel gives you good value for your money. The hotel is located in the lower part of Haifa very quite on the weekend. It is not far from the port and 10 minute drive from the beach

Room Tip: The parking is not on the same street but one down
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoazBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

we were 4 girls who took the suite, it was very nice, and very cheep relatively to other hotels. they were very nice and gave us everything we needed, thank you Yehosha for the good care.
they have a small parking, for people who comes with a car.
the breakfast is OK, not like a restaurant.
it has a lot of art pieces in the hall and it's very special.
the location is not good, but it next to a train, and if you have a car then it's not a problem.

Room Tip: recommend the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShlomoToy, Public Relations Manager at Art Gallery Hotel Haifa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It was our first trip to Israel and we were nervous about the location and character of the hotel. We had no reason to worry as Art Gallery Hotel ended up being a premier location for us. The hotel has beautiful views from the balcony of the ocean while still being centrally located. Within a five minute walk we were at the local bazaar where we could acquire fresh, affordable produce and homemade baked goods.
The hotel is very modern and contemporary. The staff was friendly and attentive. Not only were all of our needs met but we were also unexpectedly upgraded to a much better room. This hotel also provides an amazing gourmet breakfast as part of your daily room charge. If you were not able to partake in the breakfast due to leaving on an early tour, the hotel brown-bag the food and water for you and leaves it at the front desk for pick up. This was fantastic as we had several mornings of early tours and this was a huge money saving convenience. The tour buses also picked you up with in a few steps of the hotel.
We would highly recommend this hotel to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 405 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lyudmila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShlomoToy, Public Relations Manager at Art Gallery Hotel Haifa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Lyudmila,
Thank you for sharing us with your feeling about the Art Gallery Hotel.
Whish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel suited our purpose admirably. It is right on top of the Talpiot Market, which has every kind or food and drink that one could wish for. Excellent for ample and frequent buses. Train station within reasonable walking-distance
We could not fault the hotel in any way. The service was excellent. Breakfast was more than adequate. The view from the hotel's roof-terrace (of the port and market) is superb.
Internet access was free, and always available.
We would have no hesitation about using this hotel again.
Henry and Sharon Linderman

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShlomoToy, Public Relations Manager at Art Gallery Hotel Haifa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
we whish to see you again at the art gallery hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We are in our 60's and have been travelling for 8 months so have stayed in a few hotel rooms.
This hotel is well situated on a main thoroughfare with a bus stop outside.
We did not notice any excessive noise.
The hotel was quite quirky with art work everywhere - quite a refreshing change really.
The rooftop is well set out for lounging around and with great views in all directions over the city.
The underground up to the Baha'i gardens is about a 10 minute walk away
The room was very clean and well appointed.
We were very happy with the bed.
There was tons of hot water and good shower pressure.
There was a good AirCon and TV system.
The breakfast was a very nice traditional Israeli breakfast - more than adequate.
The staff were very helpful; the place was run very professionally.
If we returned to Haifa we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShlomoToy, Public Relations Manager at Art Gallery Hotel Haifa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I'm glad to know you enjoyed your staing at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haifa hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
1926 Apartments Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Haifa
Leonardo Plaza Haifa
#6 of 26 in Haifa
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#20 of 26 in Haifa
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colony Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel Haifa

Property: Art Gallery Hotel Haifa
Address: 61 Herzl, Haifa 3350421, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Haifa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Haifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Gallery Hotel Haifa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where art and comfort meet. A spectacular boutique hotel planned and designed with the inspiration of art and scenery as an artistic gallery featuring a variety of collections. The hotel is in a "Bauhaus" building located in Haifa, the gateway to Northern Israel. The focus is on a sense of calm and peaceful serenity, with personal friendly service towards each and every guest 24 hours a day. The hotel is located in the heart of Haifa , in a historical neighborhood that enjoys city scapes including Mount Carmel, the Mediterranean sea and the North of Israel. Art Gallery Hotel offers its guests a central location, a short walk or drive to all business centers, shopping centers and tourism attractions. The hotel is within 10 minutes driving distance of the Haifa port, and about 15 minutes from Haifa's airport, and about 80 minutes from Ben Gurion airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel Haifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel Haifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing