We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Review Highlights
2 day Petra & Wadi Rum tour

Very well organised tour- everything went smoothly and we liked the Bedouin camp we stayed at... read more

Reviewed August 7, 2019
Jo1678
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Petra & Wadi Rum 3 days and 2 nights

It was amazing. We love it! Petra is amazing and to have 2 days there was perfect! Wadi Rum also... read more

Reviewed July 26, 2019
Paula P
Read all 182 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Eilat
from $199.00
More Info
from $199.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
from $185.00
More Info
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
133
29
4
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
133
29
4
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petra tour bedouin camp day tour wadi rum border crossing jordanian guide london or paris visiting center breakfast package decided to stay overnight great tour private tour israeli border arranged everything small group thank you very much amazing trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 182 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2017

In searching for tours of Petra, we selected Mantis Tours because it was the best priced option for a three day trip to Jordan and Wadi Rum. We paid about $500 per person, inclusive of border fees as well as a camel ride at Wadi Rum.

If you are deciding how much time to spend in Petra, I would highly, highly recommend at least two days. There is just too much to see. Yes, there is the treasury, but there are also so many other trails to explore. So we took a guided tour the first day, that took us to just a bit past the Treasury, and the second day was a free day where we climbed up to the Monastery and other viewpoints.

For our first night, we were delivered to Candles Hotel in Petra, which was definitely no-frills. When we looked up rates online, we saw that each room cost around $35 dollars a night. The dinner and breakfast both came out later than their scheduled hours.

Our second night was spent in the desert. The Bedouin camp at "Rum Planet" was pretty great. The staff at the camp were very friendly. I was expecting less than luxurious accommodations, but the camp site had running showers and running water (though the water ran out the morning of our second day).
We also added a camel ride in Wadi Rum (an additional $50) that was worth the experience.

Back to Mantis--as they outsource many parts of the trip, there are slight accountability issues. We were passed from one tour group to another.

For the most part, this was fine however, there was a slight hiccup with pick up from our hotel on the second day to Wadi Rum. Essentially, we were asked to leave our own free day of exploring Petra to meet back at our hotel at 4pm. We got picked up and put on a larger tour, and instead of being transported straight to the transition point, we were told we had to wait another hour while we watched the tour group eat their lunch. This was kind of annoying, as it was unexpected, and if we knew we had another hour, we would have spent it in Petra. We asked if we could at least participate in the lunch with the rest of the tour group. While initially the answer was no, Fatima was able to call whoever was in charge (who at this point was a mystery to us...) and he/she allowed us to eat with the rest of the group.

I also wish that Mantis Tours had asked us about dietary restrictions. Luckily, everywhere we went was very accommodating to vegetarians, however, it probably would have been easier to plan for us had they known ahead of time.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Alilu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantis-Tours, Owner at Mantis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2017

Hi,
Thank you for your review!
I just want to refer to some of the issues that you wrote.
I'm not sure what you refer to by outsourcing, but you were in our group tour. You didn't book a private tour. We charge low rates, because that unlike other agencies who work on commission and send their tourists to some obscure tour operator, we are a tour operator, and we actually run our tours by ourselves.
The price of the hotel is $50 per person for half-board accommodation (including local taxes).
Regarding the lunch in the second day, it's not included in the price of the tour (there is lunch on the first day). But, it was nice to let you a free additional lunch.
The transfer on the second day to Wadi Rum is also not private. You join to the other group that returns from Petra to Eilat.
It's possible to book a private tour for an extra charge.
Lastly, about the meals, you should have informed us about any need for vegetarian meals, and we would have arranged it. But, because that you didn't inform us, we did the best to arrange you vegetarian meals at the last minute.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017

Petra trip was organised for us by Lev Lior: from Eilat to Petra.
This was super great experience! We recommend everybody to visit Petra. It's worth those $300/person.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Ilya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Petra was on our bucket list for a long time. When we had the opportunity to finally travel there, we looked for options on Google, and we chose Mantis Tours that have many great reviews. Before booking the tour, we contacted them by email, and got a quick answer after a few minutes. We initiated thought of going to Petra for two days, because that one day tour is really not enough. Lior told us to add also one more day in Wadi Rum, and also save the visa fees. We agreed and didn't regret for this. All the communication with Mantis was very easy, and the tour was amazing. Our guide Muhammad was really great, we had a very nice hotel in Petra (dinner included), and the people at the Bedouin camp of Obeid in Wadi Rum were very nice and accommodating and prepared for us a very delicious food. It was a very good idea to add Wadi Rum to the tour. When we returned to Eilat Lior also presented us an amazing souvenir as a present. Thank you Lior for a great trip!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

Petra is nice, but Lior (and Ronen?) dodge responsibility. They changed my hotel for which I had paid a lof of extra money and for which they confirmed the reservation five months earlier without any compensation. They put us up in an horrible alternative, Petra Panorama Hotel. They tried their best to shift responsibility to me and others. Stay away from Mantis Tours.

Date of experience: April 2017
4  Thank RobertMB1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantis-Tours, Owner at Mantis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Hi Robert,
Thank you for your kind review!
You got a semi-private tour to Petra and Wadi Rum in a very small group with an excellent guide for a very low price.
You also stayed in an beautiful authentic Bedouin camp in Wadi Rum, which you said that you liked very much.
You got our Petra VIP package that includes free water, free basket of fresh fruits and a special free souvenir. I guess that you didn't appreciate it.
You just complain that we changed your hotel in Petra that you paid a lot of extra money. Well, you didn't actually booked any hotel with us, so we didn't change anything. You just asked to upgrade your 3-star hotel to a 4-star hotel. We gave you a great 4-star hotel on HB basis for only extra $30 per person as agreed.
You didn't like the hotel. So, instead of asking us immediately to change it (you had our telephone number, WhatsApp, Viber, Telegram, Skype, email and website with online chat, and you was also with our guide who could help you), you waited until late in the evening to send us an email asking why we didn't give you a 5-star hotel.
Our support team tried their best to help you out, and even gave you a free transfer from the hotel to Petra site and back. But, your only demand was to get a full refund, threatening that if we won't give you a refund, then you will publish a bad review on TripAdvisor.
By the way, you demanded a 5-star hotel in Petra. But, in Eilat you booked for yourself (not with us) a not very luxurious room (to say the least) at an airbnb.
I guess that we can't satisfy everybody, even though we do our best. Yet, it's very bad that people use TripAdvisor as a platform to blackmail free tours from honest companies.
I just hope that the readers will disregard this misleading review, and trust the many great reviews of our other very happy clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017 via mobile

Lior, the manager, has a network of professional guides in Jordan. Everything went smoothly on our 3 day trip to Petra and Wadi Rum. Our female! guide Fatima in Jordan spoke fluently English and French.
Lior gave us an excellent instruction so that we enjoyed and were well prepared for the trip - we had one day without attendence in between.
We loved Liors subtle humor and his flexibility to changes of planning.
We thank you very much Lior!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews