We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to the extreme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isrotel Royal Garden
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2008

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel and were expecting great things from our previous experience of a few years back.

Unfortunately the hotel did not deliver this time. The rooms felt tired with all cooker and air-con controls worn away. The bath didn't hold water and had to be fixed twice, the taps didn't stop running and one light switch was broken.

Around the pool at night (the only way to get from our room to reception or out of the hotel) you took your life into your own hands as the lighting was painfully inadequate yet the ground was often wet from cleaning and ledges were un-marked.

The service was appalling, for example we were unable to purchase lunch from the poolside restaurant at lunchtime as they were busy taking publicity shots. When it was finally convenient the food was delivered to our table with a hefty fling (and the order was only half complete). The rooms were not ready for occupation despite arriving in the evening, for example one room had no towels. The hotel lost all the departure time confirmations from the tour operator for our day of departure and the staff were either unable or unwilling to provide local information such as where restaurants or shops were located. However, staff were willing to the point of pushy when it came to certain establishments, which gave the impression of staff incentive schemes.

It is a shame that this resort has been allowed to fall to such depths as it was certainly good once. We will not be rushing back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BANL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 740 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2008

We stayed at the Royal Garden from March 2 - March 6, 2008. We had a great time at the hotel and overall, I would recommend the place. Good points first. Real friendly staff and willing to help. One night there was a party going on next door with pretty loud music at around 12 midnight. I called the front desk for some help and they immediately called the room. Not only that, she called me back in 15 minutes to make sure all was okay.

The rooms were fantastic! We were upgraded to a family suite because all the regular suites were taken (at the same price). We had three tv's although two would have been enough. The kitchen was great as were the bathrooms. The place was clean and orderely. The pillows could have been upgraded a bit.

Breakfast was great for the most part. The only things that need improvement are the coffee and hot chocolate machine- don't waste your time. We did mention this to the staff and they said they're working on it.

Great location. The boardwalk is minutes away.

Negatives - When you enter the lobby, you can smell this lavender spray. I asked the staff what the smell was (not a good smell) and he said that there's a sprayer that automatically sprays every minute or so. I visited another Isrotel hotel - The Royal Beach - and it also smelled like perfume.

On the last day on our trip, the buffet was closed for breakfast because of a dinner conference. I told the staff that it was 10 hours away. They said they had to prepare the place - please! Anyway, they gave us a voucher for King Solomon hotel. A real mistake. It was like a zoo and the food was terrible.

One more negative but I think this is routine - You can't use the air conditioning during the winter months. It's only set for heating. I asked the receptionist why and they said it was all connected to the same system - so what. Other 5 star (even 3 star hotels) can manage to control both heat and a/c at the same time, so it was bit of a lame excuse, especially for those hot winter days.

Overall, great experience and great place. Remember - no place is like home but this did come close.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank vacationingbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiTown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aseidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank izlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.2 mi away
Isrotel King Solomon
Isrotel King Solomon
#15 of 61 in Eilat
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Beach by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
0.1 mi away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#25 of 61 in Eilat
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dan Eilat
Dan Eilat
#14 of 61 in Eilat
1,594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#13 of 61 in Eilat
2,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isrotel Agamim
Isrotel Agamim
#18 of 61 in Eilat
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isrotel Royal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isrotel Royal Garden

Address: North Beach, Eilat 88000, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Eilat
#18 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#21 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
Price Range: $127 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Isrotel Royal Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On top of the beautiful tropical garden and pools areas, guests may also enjoy the shopping avenue and three reataurants. The main dining hall of the hotel serves a breakfast buffet (price is not included in room fares). Israelit is a grill-meat Mediterranean restaurant and Cafe Boulevard is a dairy cafe located at Le Boulevard shopping center. The cafe offers desserts, salads, pastas and breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Isrotel Royal Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isrotel Royal Garden Eilat
Isrotel Royal Garden Hotel Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing