We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel surpassed my wildest expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Magic Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
U Magic Palace
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Eilat
IIsrael
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This hotel surpassed my wildest expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

The check in at the hotel “The Magic Palace” goes off remarkably smoothly , considering one hundred and sixty people arrive simultaneously. Our room smells of cigarette smoke. I return to reception , no loss of temper, await patiently and am rewarded with the offer of a superior, larger non-smoking room but lacking a balcony. A difficult choice. I need to refer to ‘headquarters’ for a decision. We move rooms.

Credit where credit is due. This hotel is terrific , superbly managed . I walked around the marina and along the shore alone one morning ,looking at and thinking about the various hotels and trips that I’d had here in the last thirty years, as the resort has been built up and decided that this hotel was the nicest and this break possibly the best in all that time.



The food is excellent and so varied. Breakfast is served from seven in the morning till twelve thirty in the afternoon. On Shabbat morning there was Jachnun, that wonderfully sweet dough cooked overnight and covered with tomato puree and sehug .



And Friday night…..Apart from the goat, which Nechama chose there was what every traditional family in the Shteitelach of Der Heim had as an hors’douvre.. Yes you’ve got it in one ---Sushi.

This meal was so stunningly good and elaborate that it finished me off. Knocked out completely I flopped into bed exhausted at 9.pm!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    116
    62
    37
    37
See reviews for
775
222
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wouldn't you like to know
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

Well, I would agree with the bad experiences.

Simple truth of the matter, DO NOT stay in a Fattal Hotel in Eilat.

We were moved here from the Royal Tulip (ex Palmira - will write review on experience on Tulip :P ) and like the Tulip the front is great, but the rest of the place isn't.

We were in a room which had an electrical socket that was broken, a TV that some fool had 2-3 English speaking channels re-tuned to Russian channels (and the staff couldn't tune it back) and an air-con unit, that although it had a hot option, didn't blow hot air (although in Eilat this will be a rare occurance one of us has a joint issue that needs the room to be a constant temperature) and sun loungers with no locking piece on the back (either lost or stolen) so were unusable.

The meatballs (when stuffed into 'something indefinable' looking but not tasting like a portabello mushroom) aren't cooked in the middle, the cutlery isn't clean, the staff aren't clean looking or even bothered about hygiene (I saw one cough on his hand then carry on working), the water carafes are translucent due to water staining and the chicken stuffed with rice was raw in the middle.

The carpets are dirty, there are stains on the walls (luggage skid marks etc) there is bird droppings on the lightshades in the dinner hall (because they can't be bothered to get them cleaned and there is just a general lack of maintanance going on.

The entertainment is in Ivrit only, so travellers to Eilat now actually have to learn Hebrew or Ivrit enough to converse etc to understand the shows, which isn't fair as English is supposed to be the international language and Eilat is an international tourist city.

Some members of staff there do speak English, and they were very helpful, so we were able to find out what the shows were, we just couldn't watch them.

For those who like quiet, Eilat doesn't seem to know what "sound prooving" is, so toilets, showers, music and the average Israeli speaking voice is likely to keep you up :D

It is situated nicely, but is still pretty far from the proper shops etc etc unless you like the tourist rip off places. This is due to bad planning by the Israeli's, but they will apparently be demolishing Eilat airport, moving it further north to allow for roads etc to connect both sides of Eilat up better etc.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Dark_Storm_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

This hotel is very decadent and really not worth the price.
They try to claim it is a 5 starts hotel, but probably it was a five stars many years ago when it just opened.
The room and corridor carpet is completely stained and dirty. The furniture is old and the bathroom is also old and dirty, full of "black spots".
The regular food was not good, except for sabbath, when it improves a bit. Plates and utensils used in the buffet-style dinner were always dirty, not properly washed.
The hotel staff is basically formed only by trainees, and you hardly find any real, permanent, hotel employee.
If you complain, they will be nice and will offer some free coffee and cake vouchers, because they probably receive lots of complain a day from disappointed people that payed a lot to stay in that place. On the other hand, as many people already said here, the location is very good and the view is awesome, but that usually doesn't justify staying in a dirty and decadent hotel.
There are many other hotels in Eilat that are cheaper and better that Magic Palace.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

The best thing about the hotel is its location in the very center facing a beautiful marina.

What we didn't like were rooms and service.

Conditioner in the room was rather noisy and was blowing uncontrollably cold. As we stayed in December cool air was definitely not what we needed.The interior was obviously not updated for a while, it was OK. Rooms were kept clean though.
Staff hardly spoke English, especially in the restaurant, so we got in a few awkward situations with ordering. In the gym area the girl was very rude, speaking of which, we expected gym to be included in the price, as in most 5 star hotels.

On the plus side the hotel is family-oriented (as the whole Eilat) and we found there were mostly locals with their big families staying in Magic Palace.

As for food, they have two spacious restaurants serving buffet breakfast/dinner. The food was delicious and abundant, although you should expect they won't serve meat dishes together with diary, must be according to some kosher rules. We didn't find any seafood either.

  • Liked — marina views
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

This hotel tries to pass itself off as 5 stars. The building itself is nice and the location good so I expected more from the Fattal Chain.

The room had badly stained carpets, a stained sofa, rotting bathroom woodwork, peeling enamel bathtub, shoddy looking fridg. The shampoos provided were made in China. The room did not have a chair for the desk or telephone book or even complementary pen and paper (as is common in all 5 star and most 4 star hotel).

The evening meal was awful and even my very non-picky husband did not eat. You needed to search and beg for coffee cups and glasses and water.

I called in advance to see if they had wi-fi and they told me it was available in the lobby only they forgot to mentioned the charge- a whopping $11 an hour and if you want to use their computer $7.50 for HALF an hour.

The boxed lunch which we ordered for 7am in order to make our tour bus took 20 minutes to appear.

There are some 3 star hotels in Eilat that are much better than this so called 5 star for a lot less money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shahama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at the "Magic Palace" it was a new and very clean hotel. The service and staff was good, as well as the food. The pool was nice. Our room had a beautiful view of the pool and th marina.

  • Liked — Rooms and the View
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it couldnt not have been better! The room was immaculate, the service was excellent, the food was fantastic. I have stayed at the sheraton moriah and the Sheraton Herods as well and i would like to say that the magic palace is definitely on their level- it deserves its 4 star rating. The swimming pool area was great and clean. Very family orientated yet there wasnt much noise pollution to the room- it was ideal.
The room was cleaned every morning- and towels always replaced- what more could you want from a hotel? its only a 5 minute walk around the marina to the promenade and clubs/bars/ resstaurants. Perfect holiday.

  • Liked — relatively close to bars/clubs and loved pool/ sunbathing area.
  • Disliked — not that close to the beach by foot... should take a cab.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queen_of_cups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.6 mi away
Herods Palace Hotel Eilat
0.6 mi away
Herods Vitalis Spa Hotel Eilat
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Eilat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#15 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#24 of 62 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Magic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Magic Palace

Property: U Magic Palace
Address: North Beach | PO Box 1781, Eilat 8800, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eilat
#3 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#3 Family Hotel in Eilat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — U Magic Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The U Magic Palace Hotel in Eilat is the ultimate family vacation experience, offering the best of all worlds in a single family vacation. The ideal vacation experience at the U Magic Palace combines an enthralling, action-packed vacation with relaxation, peace, and quiet for parents, while children have the time of their lives at an enchanted kingdom designed especially for them. The U Magic Palace is perfectly situated on the shores of Eilat's lagoon at the North Beach. It is only a short distance from the beach, the airport, and the many attractions and recreational activities of the city center, and overlooks awe-inspiring scenery. Rooms at the U Magic Palace Eilat HotelThe U Magic Palace Eilat offers 322 guest rooms, including standard rooms, garden rooms, panorama rooms, and palace suites. Each room features a roomy king-size bed, a sofa bed, a luxurious and spacious bathroom, an electric kettle, a coffee and tea set, a hair dryer, a mini-bar, a personal safe, air-conditioning, cable television, a direct-dial phone, and voice mail. Hotel Suites The hotel's palace suites are comprised of two lavishly designed rooms that include a bedroom, a balcony with a breathtaking view of Eilat's marina, a lavish living room, 2 extravagant bathrooms, 2 television sets, an additional balcony with a spacious Jacuzzi, a tanning bed, and other assorted luxuries. Check-In and Check-Out Times Check in starts at 3:00pm, and guests must check out by 11:00am. Meal Times Breakfast is served 7:00am-12:30 pmDinner is served 6:30pm-9:00pm (2 seatings) Additional Indulgences at the U Magic Palace The "Lobby Lounge" - A quiet sitting area in the lobby that serves a rich array of dairy dishes and hot drinks. The "Blue Lagoon" Restaurant - The U Magic Palace's poolside buffet serving a wide variety of grilled meats along with other cool poolside treats. Open daily between 10:00am and 5:00pm.The hotel also offers 24-hour room service. The Fattal Hotel Chain's New Children's Clubs The Fattal chain has recently invested NIS 5 million in the renovation of its children's clubs, and in building new youth clubs for its many family-friendly hotels. Fattal strives to create a rich and satisfying vacation experience for the entire family. In order to fulfill this goal, we have created an exciting world of activities for children of all ages. Our new clubs introduce children to a magical realm, filled with a wealth of developmentally appropriate games designed in a variety of unique styles to appeal to kids of all ages and ability levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your U Magic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Palace Eilat
Magic Palace Hotel Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing