We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Red Canyon
from $70.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveler rating
533
102
26
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
533
102
26
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green trail amazing hike an amazing experience route ladder rocks path desert hat topography israel landscape
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 668 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

Admission is free, the atmosphere was beautiful, it was a more difficult track, suitable for school children. You can choose the difficulty level.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank petgun75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

The Red Canyon, just off of Route 12 running along the Egyptian border, makes for a beautiful, free, unspoiled outing -- a welcome beak from the sometimes crass commercialism of downtown Eilat.

This gorgeous circular hike in the beautiful mountains of the Negev is just 20 min north of Eilat.

The very short trail (maybe 30 min?) is great for kids (there are some simple ladders and hand-holds involved, but no deep drops), and you have the option of extending the hike for ~2 hours. If you take some of the "alternate" path along this extended trail, you can get a little more challenge out of the hike.

The trail is well-marked and well-maintained.

No entrance fee.

Date of experience: April 2019
3  Thank IndigoGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

Yes, still Lake Powell Slot Canyon in Miniature

We drove back to this site after many years we hadn't been there.
I still believe it is one of the MUST SEE places in Eilat with the Coral Beach natural Reserve and Timna Park with Solomon's Columns.

The red color, narrow walls, the sands, everything remind the Utah national parks ...just smaller.

20-30 minutes by car, a 1-2 hours walk and you'll forget you cities grey concrete and asphalt atmosphere.

Again, be careful in Summer, the noon hours are very hot with a real danger of dehydration, so make sure to take with you 1-2 liters of water per person.
And of course hat and sun screen.

Oh, I forgot, no entrance fee to pay whatsoever...it is free :)

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

30 minutes from Eilat.
2 hours hike. (make a round trip)
The taxi, two ways, for 6 persons did cost us 300 NLS.
Bring some water and a photo camera.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank MichelJ608
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

I went to Eilat with my husband and two teenage girls. We inquired with our hotel concierge about arranging a trip to hike in the Red Canyon. They called someone who then called someone else. We ended up with a guide named Yuval. He took us in an open Jeep 4-wheeling in the dessert, hiking in the canyon, and up to beautiful vistas in the surrounding area. We spent 4 hours together and had an amazing experience. We left the hotel at 2pm and hiked in the late afternoon as the sun was going down so that it was not too hot. I highly recommend Yuval and wish we had known to call him directly. He does boating tours as well, but we didn't have the opportunity to do that with him. His direct number is +972 52-2621006

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews