We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Coral Beach Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Introductory Dive in Eilat
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With more than 100 types of stony coral and 650 species of fish, this coral reef is an excellent spot for underwater enthusiasts.
Kokhav Yair
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I first dived at this spot some 50 years ago and numerous times since then. I concur with StevenLou that the site has lost much of its beauty in the last 30 years, but it should still be a must for those who like to use a "shnorkel" and watch the reef and beautiful tropical fish.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yehuda70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    239
    81
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Underwater Paradise”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have visited this park abount 30 years ago and noticed a real decline in the number of fish and the reef itself seemed rather tired. Having said that this is a must see for the kids. I recomend getting a green pass for the family this will save a lot of dollars if you are visiting a few parks.
The facilities are good with nice warm showers the beach itself is a typical Eilat beach which is really not a beach stony and awful. The reef utself even though diminished is still a must see with coloful fish swimming around I had the pleasure of seeing a huge moray eel close up. We rented snorkels and masks for 15 nis each recomend u do the same. Water is very cold in some places even in the heat of summer. Stuff gruff and typical Israeli's did meet a nice elderly staff member and had a chat a mensch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank StevenLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A "must see" in Eilat!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The beach itself kind of sucks, to be honest. It's underwater that the beauty of this place comes alive. The reefs may not be as colorful and attractive as they used to be, but it still makes for a fun and interesting visit.

The underwater paths are marked by buoys, so you just swim from one floating "resting spots" to the next and enjoy the views. Try to go on a sunny day, which increases the visibility and the color contrasts.

You can rent the snorkeling gear and a locker at reasonable prices. The Coral Beach Nature Reserve is also easy to reach by bus from the central bus station. It takes about 20 minutes to get there.

All in all, it makes for a very nice visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Simply the most important spot in Eilat to visit”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I don't want to write a good review, because I like when the crowds are thin here. But, this is simply the most important and beloved spot for me in Eilat - and I NEVER miss a visit when I'm in the city. The beach has some decent reefs left (whatever has survived the ruthless onslaught against the Red Sea nature from Israel, Jordan and Egypt) and the facilities are simple and convenient - snorkeling equipment for rent, airy bathrooms with showers, two boardwalks leading over the reef to a stairway into the water, clearly marked swimming passages along the reef, two shallow pools for youngsters and more timid snorkelers to see some fish (beware of sea urchins!). The only downside were the amazingly rude women who worked the front desk and the rental counter. Rude, but charming in a gruff Israeli sort of way.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank E_Donald_Stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best place in Eilat to see the reef”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Over the last 20 years the marine environment in Eilat has undergone significant deterioration. Most likely the views off the Sinai coast are better, but not everyone has Egypt on their itinerary.
The reserve has basic facilities is clean and usually is not crowded.
Those looking for a clear swimming beach need to know that this is a beach for the snorkeling aficionados.
Equipment is available for rent.
Wear shoes since the shore is rocky, hot and you don't want to step on a sea urchin.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Beach Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Eilat, Southern District
Eilat, Southern District
 

Been to Coral Beach Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing