We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel. Far from city center”
Review of Orchid Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orchid Reef Hotel
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is average, nothing special. Location is not very good - about 10 minutes by car from the center. Located on the beach, but no private beach next to the hotel. Kite station is just by the hotel and the guys there were quite aggresive when we tried to use their beach. After all, the price is ok, relatevely to Eilat.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Orchid Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 551 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

We are no strangers to Eilat and have stayed in top-end hotels (Agamim) and cheaper places (Orchid) - so we really weren't sure what to expect of the newly renovated Orchid Reef. Before the renovation it was a bog-standard 3 star place catering to the budget traveller on their way to Egypt. But now it is a different story.

Hotels in Eilat are either on the main-central tourist ''Tayelet'' (boardwalk), or situated further down south towards the Taba border (where the Coral-World submarine is and all the water sports). It all depends on what you want. Personally I would rather stick pins in my eyes than be surrounded by tourists and holidaymakers so our choice is always far from the madding crowd.
We have stayed in the larger Orchid Hotel - not bad at all (I have reviewed it) but thought we would give the Reef a shot.

We have a 3year old child (thankfully he knows how to behave so we feel secure in going to a quieter hotel) and this place was perfect. It wasn't madly expensive (we paid 3900NIS half board for 3 nights) and it only has 79 rooms, so even when full, you don't feel overwhelmed.
So I will break this review down:

1. Location: Set in the south of Eilat, this is a quieter area. However, if you want to be bang in the middle of things in the centre of Eilat then you need to stay elsewhere - or rely on a taxi/shuttle bus to get you there. Thanks, but no thanks....

2. Facilities: Nice big room (NOTE - ask for a balcony room if it is important to you as there are several ''standard'' rooms without), cot bed or sofa bed for child, large bathroom (standard rooms can sometimes be without a bath I am told - we had one though), fridge, kettle, wardrobe, safety deposit box, TV, free Internet, glass balcony (don't walk around naked.. unless you want the whole hotel to enjoy you), room service - all the usual stuff.
Nice sized pool (unheated so freakin' freezing in April but my 3 year old didn't much mind!), comfy pool-side beds etc.
Pool Table
Jacuzzi (not yet finished but I hate the things)
Lounge area
Private beach (I'll say it again - PRIVATE BEACH!) - it's not a sandy beach but it is a beach - there is sea, windsurfing, rocks and sunbeds. They also have a watersports centre if that's your thing.

3. Food: Not bad at all. We were there over Passover but they did well despite the limitations.. I'd say a better standard than the other Orchid place. Good selection, fresh, loads of salads, great service - the Manager was always to hand and genuinely concerned that everything was ok. Needed to pay for wine - bit of a shame.
You can buy snacks etc next to the pool.

5. Room: There are 2 types as far as I could tell - make sure you know what you are getting. The balconies are quadruple glazed which means that if you like an afternoon nap you can't hear much from outside - even screaming kids in the pool. Unfortunately, you CAN hear screaming kids in the corridors but that's the crappy parenting, not the fault of the hotel! I liked the room - nice big bed, great bathroom (with funky blue lighting), hot water, strong shower etc.

6. Cleanliness: Newly renovated so easy to keep clean. Couldn't fault the rooms and facilities really - very pleased with this.

Have I missed anything out?
We got there about a week after it reopened after being renovated - most of these reviews seem to be BEFORE the renovation.

It was fine for us - nothing amazingly special, but really fine. Didn't break the bank, small enough to be intimate and not overcrowded and we managed to have a rest too.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony then make sure you ask when booking as not all rooms have one. There are only...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earthgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We like Eilat Very much. My wife like the beach, my sons and I like diving.
The Orchid Reef Hotel has a beautiful beach, and one may find few scuba diving centers nearby. The hotel offers free Wi Fi internet connection and free gym. The free parking place is very small.
It is definitely not a luxury hotel. However it is less expensive than Eilat luxury hotels. The hotel restaurant is simple as well, serves basic food- nothing outstanding. The hotel will undergo renovation this coming winter. Bottom line: if you look for a simple less expensive room and enjoying outdoor activities this hotel may serve you well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

5 day vacation in elat, great hotel in a great location for diving, right on beach. Great diving school next door which made for a great stay. Staff very friendly. Very comfortable beds located at pool and beach. Watch moon rise over jordian mountains from the beach double bed was one of our daily treats.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irelandq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Outdoors is lovely, but the rooms are hideous: old, need of urgent renevation, bathroom is moldy.

Room Tip: There are 2 renovated rooms in the hotel. If you must stay here, ask for them...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziv_miz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Nothing fancy about this hotel, but the attraction is its location and the fact that you can get some peace and quiet here. Everything is modest about this hotel and this is the attraction. It is near the jordanian border and away from the bussle of all the five star hotels in eilat central.

Want to get away from it all and soak up the sun. Then try the reef. Just dont expect too much and you will enjoy it. Plus the beach is practically private!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronniemarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel in June 2011. The hotel is ideally located next to the coral reef, which means you don't have to go anywhere to see all the wonderful tropical fish - just walk down to the beach and enjoy! Scuba diving equipment is available for free from the swimming pool guard, however, the amount is definitely not enough, so I'd recommend getting one first thing in the morning. You can also get beach towels there.
The hotel is a 10 minutes drive from the centre of Eilat, a taxi costs about 30 shekels (less than 10 dollars). The famous marine observatory park is at a short walking distance.
The rooms are clean, modern and well-furnished. Our room was cleaned daily, the towels were changed each time. The hotel restaurant, where we had breakfast and dinner, provides delicious and varied food, the service is quite good. There are also some good restaurants in the area, including a beach restaurant and a beach bar.
The receptionists were very friendly, except for one lady, who was a bit uncooperative and didn't seem to know much.
The hotel has a spa, but we didn't use it. It also provides guests with free bikes. There is a free shuttle to and from the city centre several times a day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rabinoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
3.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#13 of 61 in Eilat
2,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
3.3 mi away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#25 of 61 in Eilat
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
2.8 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#11 of 61 in Eilat
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prima Music
Hotel Prima Music
#21 of 61 in Eilat
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Reef Hotel

Address: Almog Beach, Eilat 88105, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Eilat
#11 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#15 Romantic Hotel in Eilat
#21 Family Hotel in Eilat
Price Range: $130 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Reef Hotel Eilat Looking for a dream vacation that feels like a holiday abroad, right here in Israel? Then look no further, the Orchid Reef Hotel Eilat, Eilat's first and only boutique hotel located on the beach near the Coral Reef Reserve. 79 rooms and suites that will ensure that your next vacation is a dream come true. Choose from our luxurious deluxe rooms, deluxe pool rooms, deluxe direct pool access rooms or prestigious suites with a private pool suitable for two adults and two children. The rooms are equipped with a king-size bed, a luxurious and well-equipped bathroom, a cozy seating area, LCD screens and balcony with sea views. The hotel offers a swimming pool, sun beds, swings and seating areas and a modern fully equipped gym and beach access. Those who prefer to spend a tranquil holiday soaking up the warm Eilat sun can do so on the nearby beach. The hotel offers a range of complimentary services for the benefit of hotel guests that include high-speed Wi-Fi access in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Orchid Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing