We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchid Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orchid Reef Hotel
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst experience ever”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Outdoors is lovely, but the rooms are hideous: old, need of urgent renevation, bathroom is moldy.

Room Tip: There are 2 renovated rooms in the hotel. If you must stay here, ask for them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziv_miz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    106
    38
    16
    15
See reviews for
176
175
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Nothing fancy about this hotel, but the attraction is its location and the fact that you can get some peace and quiet here. Everything is modest about this hotel and this is the attraction. It is near the jordanian border and away from the bussle of all the five star hotels in eilat central.

Want to get away from it all and soak up the sun. Then try the reef. Just dont expect too much and you will enjoy it. Plus the beach is practically private!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronniemarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratov
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel in June 2011. The hotel is ideally located next to the coral reef, which means you don't have to go anywhere to see all the wonderful tropical fish - just walk down to the beach and enjoy! Scuba diving equipment is available for free from the swimming pool guard, however, the amount is definitely not enough, so I'd recommend getting one first thing in the morning. You can also get beach towels there.
The hotel is a 10 minutes drive from the centre of Eilat, a taxi costs about 30 shekels (less than 10 dollars). The famous marine observatory park is at a short walking distance.
The rooms are clean, modern and well-furnished. Our room was cleaned daily, the towels were changed each time. The hotel restaurant, where we had breakfast and dinner, provides delicious and varied food, the service is quite good. There are also some good restaurants in the area, including a beach restaurant and a beach bar.
The receptionists were very friendly, except for one lady, who was a bit uncooperative and didn't seem to know much.
The hotel has a spa, but we didn't use it. It also provides guests with free bikes. There is a free shuttle to and from the city centre several times a day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabinoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
459 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Background:
We were on a tour, so difficult to know price-wise.
Coming from Cairo (Giza) Egypt, and staying to go on 1-day trip to Petra, Jordan, before touring all over Israel.
The tour guides mentioned that the hotel looked pretty much the same as when they were students and stayed there - about 20 years ago. Food was average, service was okay. Nothing outstanding, but it was clean.
Very close to Red Sea. Need transportation to get to shopping.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We went down to Eilat specifically to take the day trip to Petra. The hotel concierge assured us that these trips were easy to book and that when we showed up there there would be some one to help us. We didn't believe them and said "can we just book the tour now?". They said "no, you have to book it when here but don't worry about it; there will be someone here to help you." We showed up, no one was there. The front desk was completely inept after doing whatever unhelpful stuff he did for about 15 minutes he said he couldn't help. We went on the the internet and found the company that they book with and booked it ourselves. TOTAL customer service fail.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackthekeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Chose this hotel due to write up in Lonely Planet guide. Mistake. Great location -- next to Coral Reserve and pretty pool and restaurant but little else to recommend it. The women at the front desk (the few men were okay) were unbelievably rude and unhelpful. They didn't give me pool towels cards when checking in, didn't go over hotel services, didn't help me get my bag out of the checked luggage room, didn't advice were to catch free shuttle bus after I had asked about it. I could go on an on about their rudeness, The hotel seems to be a favorite of Russian tour groups but if you are a solo traveling English speaker stay clear.
Rooms are run down and not so clean, that will be better when renovations are done.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranb1308, Operation Manager at Orchid Reef Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to fill out a review regarding your recent stay with us. all comments are of great importance and are therfore taken very serious.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcome you again at the Orchid Reef Eilat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, SC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

During a 2 week tour, I spent 2 nights here. The facility was fine for sleeping but would not have pleased me if the stay had been longer. We were a large group so the line at dinner was quite long ( I really hate lines). The food selection was not great but the quality was ok. I'm accustomed to nice sandy beaches so this beach was not up to par.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1eddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.1 mi away
Prima Music
Prima Music
#20 of 63 in Eilat
811 reviews
2.8 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#9 of 63 in Eilat
881 reviews
3.4 mi away
Herods Palace Hotel Eilat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#16 of 63 in Eilat
2,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
3.5 mi away
Nova Like Hotel Eilat - an Atlas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Reef Hotel

Property: Orchid Reef Hotel
Address: Almog Beach | PO Box 651, Eilat 88105, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Eilat
#9 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#15 Romantic Hotel in Eilat
#21 Family Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchid Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Orchid Reef Hotel, part of Orchid Hotel Management's luxury hotel collection, offers its guests all the advantages of Eilat's finest location, right next to the spectacular beauty of the Coral Beach Nature Reserve. The Orchid Reef is Eilat's only boutique hotel, with 79 spacious rooms and suites featuring a luxurious modern design. Only a few steps away you will find the intimate beach, while the Orchid Reef itself offers a swimming pool, pleasant relaxing and sunbathing areas, a spa complex, a fitness room, an open-air Jacuzzi (coming soon), a restaurant, and a dining room. Here you will discover the perfect vacation that combines all the peace and tranquility of the Red Sea with the excitement of extreme sports on a gorgeous beach ideal for a full range of activities – kite surfing, windsurfing, diving, sailing, and more. The hotel also offers the following services free of charge: Wi-Fi internet access in all areas of the hotel. International phone calls from the hotel lobby. Computer and internet stations in the hotel lobby. Bicycles to help you explore the local area. Beach services, including beach umbrellas, snorkels, and masks State-of-the-art fitness room. Watersports – Sailboards and double kayaks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchid Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing