We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isrotel King Solomon
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Eilat
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Upon arrival, lobby seemed old and not renovated, although the fresh flowers were beautiful. Room was somewhat renovated with flat screen tv, big bed, couch, two chairs, and balcony. Although hallways and overall decor could use a rehall, it was certainly adequate. The business floor was great, although it closes too early! Good food though. The waterslide was closed, and the swimming pools were rather cold. The kid's kingdom was great for kids and adults (slides, movies, ps, wii, etc). breakfast was amazing and delicious. overall, a pretty good stay- would return with a great rate! fitness center is closed for renovations also.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    160
    78
    36
    25
See reviews for
468
322
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We booked a family room which was exellently designed - a regular hotel room with an annex with 2 beds for the kids. No windows in there meant we got a lie-in, and the closing door meant we could relax in the evenings without disturbing the little one. The kids kingdom might not be quite the all-singing all-dancing entertainment it could be (most of the activities were not catering for English-only speakers), my daughter really did love going there and it was a useful benefit right next to the pool for keeping her entertained.

The pool was ok standard and we always found somewhere to sit, plenty of shade or sun. Never actually found the beach, which was a shame, but we didn't put too much effort in (spent a day on the beach at the dolphin beach instead).

The food seemed very good, but did get a bit repetative over the course of the week. Although alcohol was included in the price, by midweek the pumps mysteriously stopped working and we had to go without. The staff were typical for the area...funtional but don't expect to be treated like a king!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josacasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

The hotel doesnt correspond with the reviews that we have read about it. The staff is quite OK but not very hospital. You will find the rooms in not very good conditions. And this hotel doesn't correspond with the 5 or 4* hotels. It is 3* hotel. It has got quite big and warm pool, but the view from the windows of the hotel isn't very good. We stayed there from 27 of December till 03 of January. We were transferred to the hotel at 12 pm and waited for our rooms for 3 hours. The restaurant and the food is OK (you will never need to wait for the table but food is just everywhere - nothing special - just OK for 3* hotel).

The bed in the room was awful - it was impossible to sleep on it together. It made of 2 parts - and one of you will always be between its two parts. The furniture is old, shabby and cheap. And if you want to take the bath it will be impossible. The bath too small. You will not find disposable toothbrush or bathrobe and there is no slipperies. The hairdryer is too old and you couldn't dry your hair with it. Thereis is impossible to find the hotel beach there. That means that you need to go for 15 min to find the beach.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

When we arrived in our family room we got a little shock till we realised we were only in the childrens area. The main bedroom followed and the whole area was well sized, clean and modern. They put us on the 12th floor and there were great views from the balcony and by the top of the lifts. The room had 2 TVs and minibar/coffee making area which i have not seen in many israeli hotels.

There was mixed service in the hotel. some of the staff were really helpful but others suffered from poor english. We were able to check out on the 12th floor without queuing. You are able to book excursions hassle free from within the hotel, including he popular 'swimming with dolphins' experience, underwater observatory and a wide variety of watersports.

We stayed halfboard and benefited from the buffet dinner. The quality was on par with a good wedding and the quantity infinite. There is great variety and there are drinks, including alcoholic, on tap. Despite this, I could see you getting a little bored after a few days and trying out a few restaurants. Breakfast was also very good.

The pool was lovely; there are actually 2 main pools, a paddling pool and a short fun waterslide. Eilat was 44c and you cant do more than a short outdoor activity without a little chillout by the pool. There is an in house burger bar by the pool with outside airconditioning.

Minor downsides include being 5mins from the beach which in the stiffling heat is a little too much. There is also an ambiguous policy about taking towels to the beach. The parking is touch and go; we were lucky but you could end up in the general lot a couple of minutes away. I am not so keen on the Isrotel branding; the hotel is one of a cluster of 6-7; i prefer the more individual name 'King Solomons Palace'

There are a couple of air-conditioned malls closeby where you can top up on your summer wardrobe.

I am not sure at what capacity the hotel was during our stay but other than a couple of long waits for the lift we never queued, waiting or were crowded out at all.

I would recommend staying at the King Solomon in August if you intend to relax and take it easy

  • Liked — Pool and the food
  • Disliked — Distance from the beach
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imlolilimili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Isrotel King Solomon in Eilat. It's a decent 4-star hotel, now put in the shade by the likes of its sister hotel, the Royal Beach.

The pool are is large, with space to play, swim and even sit in chairs, in the water - an ideal option in 40-degree heat! There is also a fairly timid water slide.

The daytime pizzas, burgers and salads were all good value, and the breakfasts and dinners (as part of being half-board) were outstanding value - huge choice and excellent quality. The only issue was that it became a bit samey over the course of the week! At peak times during a meal, it can also get incredibly noisy - a bit of a 'balagan', as you'd say in Hebrew!

Staff are generally very helpful and polite, with most having a good grasp of English.

As a family-oriented hotel, it's good for families with young kids, with their Kids Area being full of things to do - climbing walls and nets, mini basketball, slides, computer games, cinema, arts and crafts, and softplay area.

  • Liked — Pool and food
  • Disliked — Some of the other guests!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

This is a very popular hotel which is not that close to the beach front, but it doesn't make a difference because they have a beautiful swimming pool and you can even order Burgeranch by the pool. I felt as if the rooms were a bit small and the bathrooms were a little bit dated and could use some remodeling. I would only recommend this hotel to someone who can't afford one of the luxury hotels, or if there are no openings at the bigger newer hotels.

One of the most unique qualities of the hotel is the food by the pool. Usually people are trying to lose pounds by the pool but with the Burgeranch sign sitting right in front of your eyes, it is way to tempting to say no. The hotel restaurants are also very good. I was unable to find rates though that were not half board.

Stayed January 2003
Helpful?
2 Thank CityGuy07052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

This hotel I read about here on trip advisor website. My family had reserved it for us. When we arrived, I waited on a line and my daughter and husband waited next to me . While on the line, a girl came over offering fruit drinks. It didn't take long for them to find my account and I paid on the spot as I didn't want to wait till later. But you do have an option of paying later as well.

Anyhow, the staff was nice and helpful. To my surprise the room was quite big. We had a king size bed and a crib for the little one. There was also a folding out couch in the room in the corner. The furniture was comfortable and there is a TV in the room. The little fridge that is in the room, you can use but the food and drinks in there make sure not to open otherwise you'll get a high bill. They give you a write out for you the prices before you bother opening.

There is a coffee maker there as well. Our room had a balcony and you were able to see the marina and part of the Red sea from our room as well as the town.

It is a perfect location for families who want to be in the center of everything. The mall is near by as well as a whole bunch of of stores, in fact, you can get all your souvenirs there.

There are quite a few other hotels in the area and don't be alarmed about the air port across the street. You will never hear it. Never, not even once have I heard the planes come or go. It is one that uses propellers so you don't hear them, only see them if you look. At night, the view is amazing


One piece of advice, about jewelry buying. DO NOT go to the FACTORY. The prices there are rediculous. I'd say about 5-10 times higher than you'd really pay. If you want buy jewelry, buy it at the aquarium. It proved to be the truth that they really are cheaper than the factory. Don't listen to the car service driver about it.

The car service to the hotel from the bus stop should cost about 15-20 shekel. From hotel to any attractions shouldn't cost more than 25shekel. If they say to go by the meter, forget it, they will charge you at least 35-40 shekel each way.

The hotel is nice and has 3pools. One big for adults, 1 medium for young teens, and 1 for infants and toddlers. You eat breakfast and supper in the hotel which is buffet style. The food is somewhat different every day but after a few days repeats again. You will need to lunch outside the hotel since the restaurant are is closed during the day.

The best place I liked was the one by the small supermarket. Get your souveniers there too. The food place is the one with shish kebob or shashlik. It pays to get a set of salads because there are about 8 of them different and are unlimitted. You get something like cole slaw, and eggplant (really tasty) and you get unlimitted lafa bread (like pocketless pita loaf) and but chumus which goes great with it. If you order a child's meal of burber and fries, expect a big portion. I highly recommend going there, I just don't remember what it is called.

If you like KFC/Pizza Hut, there is one past the bridge. It seems
There are lots of other places to eat. If you are kosher observant there is one really kosher restaurant. Make sure that it doesn't have any shrimp on the menu. There is another one that says "kosher meat" on the menu but it isn't. That is why I stress the Kosher place, It is non dairy and is on the main sort of a way, the other one you have to turn into.

If you like Michal Negrin jewelry, go to the Mall to the right of the hotel.

If you want to swim in the Red sea, you can either go to the public beach or have to pay to sit on the chairs or sit on the sand with your own towel. Everyone there understands english.

  • Liked — I liked that the room was clean and spacious and had a nice balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erealmgraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#24 of 62 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#14 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Herods Palace Hotel Eilat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
0.3 mi away
Dan Eilat
Dan Eilat
#12 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Beach by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isrotel King Solomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isrotel King Solomon

Property: Isrotel King Solomon
Address: North Beach | P.O. Box 1668, Eilat 88000, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Eilat
#13 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#13 Romantic Hotel in Eilat
#15 Family Hotel in Eilat
#16 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Isrotel King Solomon 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Isrotel King Solomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isrotel King Solomon Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing