We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Too many peaple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isrotel King Solomon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Isrotel King Solomon to your Saves list
Isrotel King Solomon
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   North Beach | P.O. Box 1668, Eilat 88000, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Too many peaple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Good hotel, but very busy. We spent our stay mostly during weekend; all hotel facilities were almost full. Take into consideration that restaurants are following "kosher rules", breakfast are served without any meat (no ham, sausages, bacon ...). Due concentration of lot of hotels in this location, even beach in peak time is overcrowded. For good swimming, snorkeling and resting we find the beach very closed to Egyptian border (opposite Princess Hotel). Clear water, silent place and very rich underwater life visible even from the shore or from a pier

Room Tip: Try to get a room on upper floor, not directly over restaurant and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speterko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    118
    51
    28
    13
See reviews for
302
168
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We also had a very mixed experience, spending 10 days in this hotel (half board) with family over Passover.

On the good side the hotel has a lovely pool, is in a good location and the buffet meals in the dining room were well cooked, with varied food that never seemed to run out. The communal seder was well organised and the food was delicious. I think that given the hotel was totally full, it was generally well run and efficiently organised.

On the bad side the hotel was always extremely noisy, especially by the pool and in the dining room, and there were people everywhere. The pool loungers ran out quickly (sometimes leading to heated exchanges between guests), and they were uncomfortably close together. Our 3rd floor room was shabby, especially the bathroom, but refurbished rooms on higher floors were not available. The room was just above the dining room and bar, and was very noisy in the evenings and from 6am in the morning when we were regularly woken up. The dining room was quite a daunting experience, with so many adults, kids and toddlers queuing for food at the same time. Evening meals had to be taken in the dining room very early, and staff started hoovering around us before we'd finished our meal on several occasions.

I think your enjoyment of this hotel depends on what you want from a holiday. For kids it is just paradise, for adults who enjoy a bit of peace and quiet on holiday to relax and perhaps read a few books, and who do not want buffet for every meal in a very noisy dining room, it is not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was our first visit back to the King Solomon in over 10 years. Our overall impression is that the hotel still has some fantastic aspects to it but it would seem that many of the staff were inexperienced, inadeqauetly trained and in some cases simply rude to guests.

Good points:

The atmosphere over pesach was fantastic, the hotel shared areas reasonably well maintained for its age, the food was of a high quality for a buffet restaurant (especially seder night) and the children's facilitiies were excellent (incl. use of the spectacular Royal Gardens kids centric pool area). Our children were in their element at the hotel. I should also add that some of the more junior staff seemed to be working really hard and seemed to be trying their best.

Bad points:

When we arrived our rooms weren't ready until 3pm and trying to get some food or drink before then to be charged to our account was a real hassle.

The pool side grill was a shambles and although the food had the potential to be good the ordering system and quality of the cooking was exceptionally poor. The staff weren't trained to use the tills, the tills then broke down and the waiting time to order was long even with a short queue (it had the feel of a naff McDonalds). The meat always came off the grill undercooked and had to be sent back.

The main restaurant had a queueing system to get in and at times it felt like a kibbutz dining room (it was far worse over pesach than the few days we were there beforehand). There were a couple of times when we left the dining room with the kids to use the toilets but were then made to queue with newly arriving diners to get back in. The tables are set very close together and staff are charging round (suspect they're overworked) with seemingly little consideration for guests. There was frequent tray dropping by staff and on one occasion a full tray was dropped on a young child leaving her with a gashed leg. At meal times there were exceptionally large queues for the egg station / grilled meat and staff did little to try and help create an orderly system leaving a number of Israelis shouting at each other and coming very close to punch ups as some weren't prepared to queue. Dinner is also served only until 21.00. One evening we were finishing our main courses at 20.55 and we were told to get our desserts before the food was cleared at 21.00 and at 21.10 we were asked to leave the restaurant and go into the bar (we refused). To our surprise, seder night was the most orderly and pleasurable experience in the dining room.

The seder meal was great and a very special evening but no-one really explained to us that there was a choice between a communal seder or having an individual table for ourselves.

Room cleaning was sporadic and on 3 of our 7 days we had to ask for the room to be cleaned in the evening because it had been un-serviced. Despite asking they only left 2 towels each day although we were 2 adults and 2 children in a room. On one occasion we came back to the room to find our door had been left open by the staff.

We made the mistake of not specifically requesting a refurbished room - the room we were in was comfortable but definately needed updating and didn't reflect the price we'd paid (even being Pesach).

The evening entertainment seemed good but it was in Ivrit and catered solely for the Israelis and there was no contemplation of international guests. I heard a number of guests asking if there could be even a short amount of entertainment in English but nothing transpired.

Our son woke up in the night and we wanted to get him something to drink. When we tried to call room service or reception at around midnight to order some milk (we were happy to pay) we were shocked to be told it wasn't possible. In the end when we pushed for some help we were told perhaps we would have to walk to the nearest all night supermarket to get some and the hotel didn't have any means to provide it (no room service). This is the first hotel I've encountered that didn't have some provision for late night service.

We raised a number of these points with the hotel management at the time and although they said they would take these points on board we didn't really notice any difference and we subsequently heard a number of other English guests making similar complaints at the reception or to the restaurant staff.

I'm in two minds whether or not I'd go back to this hotel. If I did, it would be because the facilities for our kids were excellent and because the atmosphere on seder night and by the pool were wonderful.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMGross26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is a good quality 4 star hotel In a wonderful location. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the buffet was,good. I asked to be moved rooms as my room smelt and got a free upgrade to a new room so I recommend you don't stay in either the 2nd or 3rd floor rooms as the quality of the rooms are far inferior than the new rooms.

Room Tip: From the 5th floor upwards not facing the pool as very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomiller1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
324 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Located among many luxury hotels, this (relatively) old hotel stands out as a good bargain.
Location is excellent, just a few hundred meters from the North beach. In the evening one can stroll all along the (now cleaned) promenade, a blessed feature after the evacuation of all the stands that were removed from it.
The rooms have been refurbished, all the furniture is brand new as well as the bath room. Only weird thing I found is that they changed the bathroom doors to glass which is partly transparent and does not seal off the bathroom from the main room itself. A great miss!
The room itself is clean, the air conditioning good but somewhat noisy.
The food is OK, but being Kosher, one does not get any meat on the breakfast buffet.
The dining room is big and quite noisy, especially if you go during any school vacation, when there are lots of children around. Dining out is recommended if you are not on half or full board.
If one wants a quieter surrounding, the top floors (King Solomon's floors) cater with a lounge.

Room Tip: Take a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our second time in this hotel. Had a wonderful time. Great service. We stayed in a room on the 12th floor called "The Kings Floor" and it was wonderful. The room was big and comfortable and had seating area and a private balcony. As guests of "The Kings Floor" we enjoyed VIP benefits of a separate reception desk, special treats in the rooms and entrance to the lounge on the King’s floors. Entrance to the lounge is for guests aged 16 and up which allows more privacy and light food and cakes throughout the day. Also, breakfast is served at a separate location. The Royal Breakfast - even in Israeli terms it is the best breakfast I have ever had!!!
Thumbs up !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Li-or B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

In A very good location close to the beach and the shop. Rooms clean and comfortable but have no inspiration or any special thing worth mentioning . Bath is outdated and has very basic toiletries. Dining area OK but a bit shabby and dull. Menu in restaurant is not satisfactory at all. I would say IT WAS elementary and pretty boring .

Room Tip: Upper rooms will give you better views of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xipto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Eilat Queen of Sheba
0.2 mi away
Dan Eilat
Dan Eilat
#10 of 65 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Eilat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Isrotel Royal Garden
Isrotel Royal Garden
#16 of 65 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
0.4 mi away
Herods Vitalis Spa Hotel Eilat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isrotel King Solomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isrotel King Solomon

Property: Isrotel King Solomon
Address: North Beach | P.O. Box 1668, Eilat 88000, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Eilat
#13 Spa Hotel in Eilat
#13 Romantic Hotel in Eilat
#15 Family Hotel in Eilat
#19 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Isrotel King Solomon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Eshet Incoming, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Isrotel King Solomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isrotel King Solomon Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing