We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED THE PLACE”

Underwater Observatory Marine Park
Ranked #2 of 71 things to do in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: This marine park features a variety of exhibits including the Aquarium Museum, Shark Tank, Turtle and Stingray Pool, Underwater Observatories, Reef Tanks and the Oceanarium
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“LOVED THE PLACE”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Ok, seems like I'm a bit obsessed with fishes therefore spend 6 hours, unlike suggested by many 2h. :-) I literally saw and tried everything in this place incl. all the feedings of different creatures, movie, restaurant etc.

Highlights:
- Rare fishes feeding with explanation about them (octopus feeding!)
- Underwater observatory itself - I was coming there and back to see the changes :-)
- Chatting to workers in regards to corals - they are very knowledgeable
- Shark feeding
- Coming back next day for free with a photo (they take inside also for free)

Highly recommend anybody with or without kids. The thing I didn't mention is movie - it was good enough but could be skipped. They also provide decent lunches. In spite of my review, I would mention that some people who are not really into observing seemed to be bored at the place but most of people were quite excited. Do not miss a stone fish and a fish which is glittering only in darkness (in the rare fishes aquarium!) :-))) Also recommend going snorkeling for coral beach (paid) next to observatory.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,525
    786
    240
    46
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The people are inside, the fish are outside”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A friend told me that looking out the windows of this submerged space is like scuba diving. You are watching the fish the way they really interact with their environment, with real currents, real sunlight, real predators. I could have stayed there and watched them for days - huge schools of fish appear and disappear, big ones meander by in the distance, shadows move and shift, and you are always aware that there is nothing holding the sea life there except the attractions of food and shelter.

Other exhibits are fun, too - giant turtles outdoors, a circular tank in a cool, indoor space (with people in the center), scheduled feedings. Food and ice cream are available, but we didn't try it. Beautiful jewelry, some made with coral and Eliat stone, is for sale in multiple places. Since there is no VAT (currently 16%) in Eilat, the prices look really good.

One possible concern: if you need handicap accessibility, better check in advance. There is a steep, winding stairway down to the underwater exhibits. There may be an elevator, but I don't remember seeing one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Savtav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelyabinsk, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for visiting with kids”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The observatory is just 2 km from Taba border, so we crossed the border from Egypt and walked there by feet. Of course You can take a taxi right after the border.
The park itself consist of several areas: aquariums with rear fishes, sharks, turtles, special underwater station where you can observe live corals; children playing area; food station; shops and etc.
Reserve 2 or 3 hours to visit everything.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yelena_Velga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unique lovely and interaesting”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

let one feels that he is in an aquarium and most fascinating colourfull fish swim around watching curious faces througu glass windows and hiding in most wonderfull corals

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank noanoga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“experience”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

it is the best thing about eilat i went with my friends it have a bigtower that starts from the bottom of the sea and continues to a very high place so you can go underwater and up in the sky and see beutiful things

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jiryes k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underwater Observatory Marine Park also viewed

Eilat, Southern District
Eilat, Southern District
 
Eilat, Southern District
 

Been to Underwater Observatory Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing