We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Thai-themed resort hotel in Eilat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Eilat
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Thai-themed resort hotel in Eilat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was a great value for the high quality. Three of us shared a room (queen bed and convertible sofa) for a total of $180 USD just before the high season was starting. The location is across the street from the beach and the hotel is affiliated with the Orchid Reed Hotel, which is less than 1 km down the road and on the beachfront. Guests of the Orchid Resort Hotel may used the private beach at Orchid Reef Hotel and borrow snorkeling equipment for free. There are some small reefs with colorful anemones, clown fish, and sergeant-major fish just off the beach (about 20 meters) in shallow water easily viewable with basic snorkeling gear.

The hotel is set on a hillside and featured Thai architecture. Guests can call for a golf cart (all very prompt) to take them to and from the front lobby, restaurant/pool area, etc. the staff was pleasant and helpful. Many of the rooms higher on the hillside have a view of the Red Sea. The concierge desk can arrange Red Sea day and dinner cruises as well as hiking in the nearby national park. For those interested in scuba diving, the hotel is conveniently located very close to the Aqua-Sport Dive Center, a full-service PADI-certified dive center. This hotel is located away from the town center in a quieter beach area. The restaurant food was very good and reasonably priced. Eilat is a small compact city and it would still be easy to stay in this area and visit the city center in the evenings, expecting a taxi ride back to take at most 20 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Orchid Eilat and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    140
    114
    75
    73
See reviews for
270
247
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I were expecting something really nice, we always used to look at it from down the road and always thought we'd want to go there and when we finally did at the end of september 2012... what a disappointment! The staff at the reception was awful and not available at all, although some of them were trying... Then, the room, OMG... The only good thing was the bed! They gave us a lousy room on the bottom side of the hotel, it wasn't maintained at all or even clean, a lot of stuff were broken in the room. As if noone had been in this room for at least a year! There was a huge leak from the ceiling in the bathroom whenever the people in the room upstairs took a shower!! A stream went leaking down in our own bath! The room environment was a big joke. In a nutshell, not the quality you would expect from that kind of hotel. We asked to change room but they were "full" (I really cannot understand their success)
We took a tour on the small golfcar that takes you up the hill and saw much nicer places at the top, where the really expensive rooms are.
In any case, not worth what you pay for it, at all!!
Last thing: nice breakfast, but I actually put my plate full of good food on one table and went to get some coffee and by the time I got back to my table, they had already cleaned it!! I didn't even have one bite... Fast but furious!! The managers in the breakfast room were ok.

Room Tip: pay much more and get a room up the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThePigeonLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchid Eilat.
I would like to thank you for bringing your feedback to our attention.
We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards. Therefore I was very surprised at your experience here.
I deeply apologies for any inconvenience you may had.
I will appreciate if you will contact me directly in order to find a way to solve this issue with you. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the future and assure you be able to enjoy in a spoiled and relaxed atmosphere.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eilat hotels

Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband a I have booked in at this hotel 3 times over the last 5 years and have loved it until now. It sadly has not kept its class. Usually our room has been fantastic and this visit we were placed in a tiny little room without the option to upgrade. The pool area is now dirty, unkept, zero towels to be seen and staff that really couldn't care less to help you. We were even told by a staff member that that they feel the same!!!! The professionalism is gone. Sadly never returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadpk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchid Eilat.
I would like to thank you for bringing your feedback to our attention.
We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards. Therefore I was very surprised at your experience here.
I deeply apologies for any inconvenience you may had.
I will appreciate if you will contact me directly in order to find a way to solve this issue with you. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the future and assure you be able to enjoy in a spoiled and relaxed atmosphere.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed for three nights at this hotel and really liked it. I was almost put off beforehand by the negative reviews on here, but I am so glad that we went ahead and booked it.

Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We were room 800 something so we were pretty high up the hill with amazing views. I didn't find the walk up the hill a problem at all - and it was over 30 degrees and I am 6 months pregnant! There are golf cart type vehicles that they use to drive your luggage up for you, and they will take you up/down whenever you want if you call them.

It is a few miles out of town, but personally I preferred that as it was a lot quieter. The town itself is pretty touristy. Taxis into town worked out as about 7 GBP each way or the hotel offers a free shuttle bus until 7pm. Or there is a local bus as well that only costs a few shekels. You can walk to the Coral Beach in about ten minutes. The hotel reception will order taxis for you and they come within about 30 seconds.

The pool area is lovely. Plenty of loungers and umbrellas. There is a large swimming pool and then a couple of smaller ones, I think for kids. There is also an outside jacuzzi. The poolside cafe is really nice - massive sandwiches and salads. The breakfast buffet was nice - plenty of choice.

Check in is 4pm but we arrived at 1.30pm and we were able to check in to our room right away. They also let us check out 2 hours after check out time, even though they were going to be full again that night. The staff are quite abrupt but they are helpful - they called taxis for us, let us check out late and when the shower head in our bathroom broke, they came and replaced it within five minutes.

The hotel has free Wifi in the lobby and in all the rooms as well.

I loved my stay at Orchid and would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: We were room 800 something - it is at the top of the hill so a bit of a walk but nice and quiet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JXRLeeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Orchid Eilat and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

we waited three hours for the rooms after
checkin!!! rooms are old and tired pictures attached... service can be better. other reviews are old or on the top high end villas for 2500$ a night. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hananb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Your opinion is very important to us and we appreciate for taking your time to write this review.
I was sorry to read that your stay at the New Orchid Reef Hotel in Eilat was not a good experience. Your comments are being taking serious care of by our staff.

You are more than welcome to contact us in any way you find and give us your full review so we can improve ourselves in the future.
I truly hope that on your next visit to Israel you will choose to stay with us and I kindly ask you to contact us to reassure you that we always strive to deliver a first class product and an extraordinary service.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights (Thursday-Sunday) on the Shangri-La villa, number 18 (I heard that the regular rooms require innovation).
The villa is exactly what a couple need. The villa is located on top of the hill; you get a full view of the bay. The villa consists on a large balcony that includes a double bed and a big Jacuzzi (takes 1.5H to fill it, you need to ask the hotel to do it for you). The room itself has a big living/sleeping room, a clothes closet and a bat. The room has all the expected amenities (including coffee machine, refrigerator with fresh water). My only complaint here is that the TV is located to high close to the ceiling.
The hotel is built on a Hillside, going to your room is not too difficult and if you wish there are electric cars that take you from any point to any point in the hotel.
The hotel is decorated in the spirit of Thailand; everything is made of wood with falls of water everywhere. There is a relaxing feeling in the hotel.
Regarding the staff, most of them were very kind and willing to help.
The hotel is located outside the city (5 miles). You have hotel shuttles that transfer you from/to the city at designated hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronari2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Orchid Eilat and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel itself is about 5 minutes drive from the city center, but it makes all the difference.
If you do not have a car you will need their bus that leaves at regular hours just to reach the beach and the center of things.
The hotel is built on a steep hillside and the way to get to the rooms is by using an electric vehicle. Sometimes waiting for car may take several minutes, just like waiting for for the elevator in the hotel.
The view from the rooms is breathtaking, luxurious pool, great staff and the rooms themselves are spacious and bright.
Recommended for those who have vehicles and who are looking to get away from the noise and bustle of the city center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren z, Manager at The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Orchid Eilat and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are dedicated to provide a high level of service and standards as in all of Orchid Hotels. I am happy to know that you had a good time and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and kind compliments regarding our hotel service and location.

I would like to thank you again, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lauren Zhavi
operation manager of Orchid Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.8 mi away
Orchid Reef Hotel
Orchid Reef Hotel
#13 of 63 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prima Music
Prima Music
#20 of 63 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
4.1 mi away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#24 of 63 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Herods Palace Hotel Eilat
4.1 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#16 of 63 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat

Property: The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat
Address: South Beach | PO Box 994, Eilat 88000, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Eilat
#11 Business Hotel in Eilat
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eilat
#20 Spa Hotel in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Orchid Hotel and Resort Eilat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Resort Eilat
Orchid Hotel Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing