We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but not good”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Eilat
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We went with 3 kids 6,8,& 12.The rooms were adequate & clean.The pool wasn't crowded however they cleaned it in the morning and but not later on.We swam in the morning! If they were to close it a half hour during the day & run the robot it'd be useable all day.The food was good & plentiful.The service was good however the management level couldn't really care.The crafts enhtertainment for kids was most of the day & very good.The evening entertainemnt for kids & adults on the other hand was not. They didn't start on time & by the time they started it was too late for the kids. They should not accept foreign tourists especially during August. The hotel management does not understand their needs.As a result of this the tourists suffer & try to switch hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florence g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 320 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I visited Israel to stay on a Kibbutz ,a lifelong ambition of mine. During our visit we decided go to Eilat travelling from the north to the south of the country and most important following the route of Lawrence of Arabia across the Negev desert to the fort of Akaba. Very exciting if you remember the film and didnt manage to lose my wife en-route. We booked into the Americana for four days using it as a Base and meeting friends from Siberia. Short stay but nice hotel with some great facilities (the pool for example). Breakfast was good but clearing the tables was not always a priority if you wanted one. Very friendly and helpful Staff. Eilat is a very expensive place where some items can break the bank. However the Americana was an oasis(excuse the pun) of reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool were good. It was not noisy even with some school groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGBIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

When we arrive we grabbed a hotel baggage cart to take our luggage to our rooms. The security at the door wanted us to leave out ID so "we would return the cart." This is typical Russian nonsense (as my wife explained to me). They also give you cards to exchange for towels at the pool. If you do not return the cards at checkout they charge you $10 per card. We have stayed in many hotels all over Europe, Canada and the US and never experienced this sort of petty nickel and dime crap. The rooms were also substandard. The breakfast, however, was pretty good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chjerseyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

My relatives stayed at this hotel while I was traveling with them across Israel. The hotel is in dire need of renovation - everything in it: from the unhygienic pool to the poolside umbrellas that occasionally may fall on unsuspecting guests. The rooms, the dining areas, the food were not very pleasant. The service lacked consistency: most front desk staff were nice, but the security was unreasonable (even for Israel). They were guarding this shabby hotel like it was a gathering spot for foreign leaders. The wacko head of security (nickname Uzi) needs to be let go - if he is still there. He annoyed visitiors by day and groped his girlfriends there at the door by night.... Very unprofessional.
But this place is affordable by Eilat standards - so if money is a concern - go for it, live there, it will be OK.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rutigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I was on a shoestring budget when I took some time off from a temporary work placement in Jerusalem to travel across Israel. I looked for a room somewhere between a hostel and a luxury hotel, and I found the Americana. It was by far the most reasonably priced hotel in Eilat.

It was exactly what I expected: reasonable accommodations at a reasonable price. The breakfast is traditional israeli-style and on most days I ate a late breakfast that also served as my lunch.

The pool was nice, although I did not spend much time there because I was wandering around the beach, which is a short walk away. The staff was friendly and the room was neat and clean.

I highly recommend the Americana for travelers like me---don't need all the bells and whistles, just a place to stay while you explore a new corner of the world. It's totally no-frills, and that was just fine with me. So know what you're getting in for and you'll be satisfied.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
Thank mahoagany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Ideally located hotel just a short walk to the beach and shops. Nice friendly and helpful staff particularly Adina and Denys at reception. Room was cleaned every day and towels changed daily, Good air con and large a T.V. in the room. Comfortable bed and cleanliness levels high. Pool and SPA facilities good. This is a basic hotel but has more to offer a traveller who really wants to explore Eilats restaurants and other sites as it is centrally located and unlike the huge 5 star hotels isn't all inclusive so you get chance to see Eilat and not be tied to one hotel for your entire holiday! I would definately come back to the americana next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The hotel is a simple very place for accommodation. It is cozy, nice and for the most part quiet. the rooms are average by size and quite clean. The rooms are small, unless you pay for the P/V supplement, and then you might consider a better hotel for a similar price. The beds are quite comfortable as well.
The pool is small but nice, the small jacuzzi and tiny dry sauna located at the SPA are nice as well (and it's free).
The service is good and the staff provides very good attention. It took them less then 10 minutes to fix the T.V. from the moment I called.
The food level is far below average and it's the biggest downside of the hotel. I wouldn't eat anything other than breakfast there. Other than that the neighboring hotel is sometimes noisy but most of the rooms are not exposed to the noise.
In conclusion: Clean and cozy rooms, good service but no WI-FI (common among 3* and below in Israel), and mediocre food at best. Good value for it's price level.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene_Fain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.1 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#39 of 61 in Eilat
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
0.2 mi away
Isrotel Riviera Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#38 of 61 in Eilat
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#13 of 61 in Eilat
2,294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astral Village Hotel
Astral Village Hotel
#30 of 61 in Eilat
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: North Beach | Kamen Street, Eilat 80300, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Eilat
Price Range: $90 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Americana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americana Hotel has the intimate welcoming feel of Israeli hospitality. It is superbly situated across from the lagoon and its shopping and entertainment centers, restaurants, night clubs, malls and Eilat’s North Beach promenade on the Red Sea with its water sports. The Americana Hotel is Eilat’s most popular moderately priced resort hotel. Guest rooms feature double or twin beds, 32” flat screen cable TV, air condition, mini fridge, personal safe and more…  Stylish lobby with bar.  A beautiful, spacious swimming pool & shaded pool for children.  “The Cave” pool-side restaurant with a sundeck on top.  Sauna & Jacuzzi free of charge. Massage and other spa services available at a fee  A business lounge with 2 complimentary computer stands.  Copious Israeli buffet breakfast included daily.  Wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing