We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere in Eilat”
Review of Dan Eilat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dan Eilat
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel really needs a refit. Fixtures are old throughout including carpets, bathrooms, and furniture. I was particularly disappointed as I paid extra for an upgraded room.

The gym is a small room and opens only from 8am to 7pm. The pools outside are ok.

Breakfast is inadequately staffed; it took ten minutes to queue for a latte and then requires a long walk to queue again for an omelette.

Broadband is about £12 per device which meant I had to buy once for my work laptop and once for my girlfriends iPad which seems petty.

During our stay we checked out the royal and the herods which are far more modern and inviting hotels.

I would love to revisit Eilat which is an amazing place and would look to one of the other luxury hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Public Relations Manager at Dan Eilat, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Paul R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your views of the Dan Eilat Hotel; it is through comments such as these that we are able to develop our service delivery.
It is always a regret to learn when guests feel that we have let them down; whilst it comes a little late to rectify for you on this occasion, your comments have been taken on board for further investigation and action; thank you for highlighting these areas to us.
We are dissapointed that the gym was not satisfactory in your eyes since we have completed a refurbishment and upgrade there very recently.
Furthermore, while we apologise that sometimes our breakfast room has peak busy times, there are always alternatives available.
Moreover, the Dan Eilat hotel is currently in the process of major renovation; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon when we ensure of a better experience.
With kind regards and many thanks,
Limor Aharoni
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
There are newer reviews for Dan Eilat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Dan was beautiful. We were on the club floor and had access to the private club. There was a buffet out all day and open bar available as well as waiter service if you wanted it. The rooms was beautiful, but the bathroom is exceptional. We had a lovely balcony with a pool and Red Sea view. The breakfast buffet was superb. The chefs were bringing out fresh pastry as they came out of the oven, and they took real pride in their food.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Eilat, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Beverly K,
It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much; thank you for taking the time to mention it.
We take pride in the amenities that we offer and the quality of our food is something we feel is essential for an amazing vacation and just as important to business travelers. Our bread and pastries are made fresh each day by our highly skilled pâtissiers ( excluding Saturday) and we also offer a large selection of fresh produce; we're so pleased this was appreciated and will be sure to pass on your kind words to the chefs and team involved. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community.
We hope that when you return, you will have the opportunity to stay with us a little longer and we may have the chance to meet and say tahnks in person.
Best Regards,
Limor Aharoni
Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel was great, the attention was wonderful, from the biggest detail to the smallest. the food, the cleanliness and especially the courtesy of the staff was very good.
The rooms were very spacious and tastefully furnished, create a very pleasant stay.
The hotel is an excellent location in the middle of the bay with spectacular views in Eilat and Aqaba (Jordan).
In short, a world-class hotel. Makes you want to go back.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Public Relations Manager at Dan Eilat, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Dan S,
It was so lovely to read your review and to know that the hard work is appreciated; we strive to deliver the best service to all our guests and it is always great to hear when we succeed.
Thank you for your kind comments and the time taken to post them.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best regards,
Limor Aharoni
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was the most incredible vacation i ever had!
Lovley staff that made this vacation "dreamy"
Plus,the food was so tasty,i didn't want to leave the dining room :)

I will recommend this hotel to anyone i know, no doubt!

Room Tip: Every room is great, no matter where!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doron z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Eilat, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Doron Z,
Your review has made my day and I will make sure to inform our staff that they are doing an amazing job. I'm delighted to know that your stay with us was everything you hoped it would be and more. I hope that when you do return, you will enjoy the improvements that we are currently implementing throughout the hotel and adjacent beach front.

Best Regards,

Limor Aharoni
Guest relations Manager
Dan Eilat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The all facilitoise, clean and service was grate. I was in two rooms with my friends, 4 pepole, and we all enjoy the staying in Dan Eilat. The food was delicious, room are clean and the service fine.
I am sure we will come again.

Room Tip: all the rooms facing to the see.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Eilat, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Daniel A,
Thank you for such a positive review and for taking the time to write it. I am truly happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to see you return soon, just let us know when.

Best Regards,

Limor Aharoni
Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very much enjoyed Dan Eilat hotel. The service and cleaning were excellent. We will visit again at this hotel. Highly recommended.
Besides dinner was expensive and not worth it, Too expensive for compensation.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and clean but the rooms with jacuzzi and sun terraces are just wonderful.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Eilat, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Shaily B,
Thank you for your positive rating. I appreciate the time it took to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. Your review and reviews like yours helps develop and improve our service delivery. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have directed your complaint to the appropriate management. I look forward to seeing you among our future guests.
Best Regards,
Limor Aharoni
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Well, this is the Dan Hotels' motto. Unfortunately, it took a painful experience to get this particular welcome going in our recent stay. Rating of 4 is given only because the management did eventually get their finger out and give us the welcome we had expected.

We have stayed in Dan Hotels over many years, most recently at the Dan Tel Aviv, a real 5 star hotel. We always find a hand-written note from the General Manager, mineral water, fruit and chocolates. But we went to Eilat for some winter sunshine, it's a few years since we've been there and it didn't match up to our previous experiences. We paid extra for an executive room, naively thinking we would get a really nice room. We also had paid extra for a guaranteed early check in as we had travelled overnight. We were presented with a room smaller than the previous de luxe rooms we had stayed in, musty, shabby, the coffee table was chipped, the bathroom had two thin small bathtowels and the toiletries were for a single guest - two people would have had to measure out what they used. The Reception staff couldn't cope with our dissatisfaction and, exhausted as we were, we had to wait for the Manager to arrive for duty. We slept briefly while we were waiting for him. He took the decision to upgrade us to a terrace room, but it was clear that he knew we wouldn't be happy with anything else. He explained that we'd paid extra for use of the King David Lounge, but the executive room is no different from any other. When we compared things to the Dan Eilat he (and the Guest Relations Manager the following day) said that their customers were different, implied different standards apply to city hotels! This is nonsense, the Dan Tel Aviv is a beach hotel as well as a business hotel. 5 star means exactly that, no matter where it's situated. What an effort to get the welcome started, we felt like we were begging for water and a Dan welcome.
Some Reception staff are OK, but too many are casual and unwelcoming, and don't know the basics - not all can manage checkout procedure, or understand how we could use our points to cover dinner cost. The Receptionist who did check us out was surly and casual. We had to ask for a printout of our extras - did she expect us to pay up without checking? Our credit card had been cleared on arrival, but suddenly appeared to be 'invalid'. Good job we had another one with us. There was no 'did you have a good stay/safe journey home/do come again'. Where is the training?
The maids cleaned the room to a high standard and left generous amounts of toiletries, and surprise, surprise, the hotel does have large, fluffy towels, not the first shabby ones we were first given.

The Guest Relations Manager had been told of our initial dissatisfaction, and called us to make sure we were happy. After that, no more contact, did we pass her in the hotel and didn't know who she was? The Guest Relations Manager and team at the Dan Tel Aviv keep a watching brief on guests and we have often been approached at breakfast by one of the team making sure everything is to a high standard.

In our experience, Dan Hotels give guests a Shabbat Shalom welcome on Friday - another bottle of water, fruit and sometimes a cake. This gesture has disappeared from the Dan Eilat - economising, or had our welcome cooled down?
The food is still very good, with everyone's diets catered for. The Restaurant Manager brought us fresh orange juice one morning when we said that watered down, sugared orange squash wasn't what we were used to at Dan Hotels. Both he and the Guest Relations Manager told us that we could have this on request, but they couldn't provide it for everyone!! That is a ridiculous thing for a 5 star hotel to do.
The Jewel in the Crown is the King David Lounge. It's like being in a different hotel! Staff are well trained, courteous and smart. They remembered what drinks we liked, and provided the sort of service we expected throughout the hotel. All staff are good, but special mention of Nathan and Inna.

The hotel fabric needs refurbishing quickly, but the management needs to get its act together and review communication and standards. Use the King David Lounge as a role model and you will be back on top.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms have a large terrace with comfortable sunbeds. Find a refurbished room if you can.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAMsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanHotelsIsrael, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Eilat, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear SAMsLondon,
Thank you for the detailed and thorough review; it is through guest feedback such as this that we are able to monitor and develop our service delivery.
Throughout the hotel, every effort is made to ensure the highest levels of guest experience at every opportunity so we are delighted that we were able to meet you to ensure your continued experience was more pleasurable.
It is with regret that we were not made aware of your further dissatisfaction as we would have then had the chance to improve it.
Furthermore, your constructive feedback with regards to the different standards will be investigated and discussed with management. Since Dan Tel Aviv are slightly more akin to your preferences, this could explain the warmer welcome you feel there; we would hope we have another opportunity of welcoming you back soon to ensure your opinion is heightened.
With regards to front desk misunderstandings; we are currently in the process of training new team members who may require some patience from our guests and management; we thank you for this understanding and hope to train them to the standards our guests are more used to very quickly.
Moreover, having read and reread your review, it does seem like after the initial issues, you managed to enjoy your time with us. We invite you to be in touch with us directly prior to your next stay so that we may monitor your reservation personally and ensure of a smooth stay, looking forward to that opportunity.
With kind regards,
Limor Aharoni
Guest Relations Manager
DE-GR.LimorA@danhotels.co.il

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.5 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#13 of 61 in Eilat
2,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen of Sheba Eilat
Queen of Sheba Eilat
#25 of 61 in Eilat
1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Beach by Isrotel Exclusive Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Herods Vitalis Spa Hotel Eilat
0.2 mi away
Isrotel Royal Garden
Isrotel Royal Garden
#23 of 61 in Eilat
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Herods Palace Hotel Eilat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan Eilat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan Eilat

Address: North Beach, Eilat 88101, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Eilat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eilat
#5 Family Hotel in Eilat
#13 Luxury Hotel in Eilat
Price Range: $261 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dan Eilat 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Dan Eilat is a self-contained vacation paradise. Located on Eilat's striking Red Sea beachfront, the Dan hotel offers everything one needs for the perfect vacation. Imaginative architecture, luxurious decor, warm blue pools and cascading waterfalls, excellent cuisine and the highest standards of service; all combine to help guests indulge and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dan Eilat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dan Eilat Hotel Eilat
Dan Hotel Eilat
Eilat Dan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing