We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit strange”
Review of Corinne Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corinne Hostel
Ranked #37 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Creepy statues and paintings, weird rules: Wifi is only in the lobby, which closes at midnight, but yet the doors are all open. They just wont let you sit in the lobby. So we ended up sitting outside on the curb to get wifi. 24 hour wifi is necessary for travelers in terms of time zones!
The staff weren't very nice, but the room was decent, price was ok. It had AC which was probably it's greatest feature.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank amybartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

My 6 bed dorm room was very nice for the price I paid with lots of space, a fridge and a private bathroom. The hostel did have some very strange rules for no obvious reason and the staff seemed quite unhelpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thepark82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here previously and witnessed the unhelpful attitude of the staff towards other guests, but as I was not on the receiving end myself I thought maybe the guests had been confrontational or had unrealistic expectations, so decided on my next visit to stay again.
So when I returned ( with quite a friendly demeanor) I could not understand why the staff were not just so rude and unhelpful but so hostile with it. I asked a simple question to 'David' who replied " I've only been on for ten minutes and I'm already getting grief" He turned his his back on me and walked away into the kitchen with no answer. He did this in plain view of other guests and quite humiliated me. I heard him speaking to others in a similar tone later that evening.
The room had been cleaned but it stank of feet from the previous occupant (not the staffs' fault),
but they could at least have made some attempt to reduce the odour.
Would never stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blotcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

You get what you pay for. This place is cheap and extremely basic. Not the cleanest. We stayed in a private room. They misunderstood us when we said two singles and gave us a double bed. Awkward. It was tiny and there was no soap. As is common in Israel, the shower, sink and toilet were on top of each other. They gave us towels, but apparently they usually cost extra.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had an unplanned stop in Eilat for a couple of days and found this place. I got a private room, needing some peace and quiet after quite an ordeal I had experienced earlier. I found it to be exactly what I needed! Though the cabins are rather small it was perfect for 1 person, has plenty of channels on the lovely flat screen tv and I found the owner to be very helpful. I would advise however if you arrive Friday, make sure u get something to eat before all the shops close due to Shabbat and don't reopen until sat evening and u will be restricted to the minimart across the road.
Great location, there are washing facilities about 2 small blocks away and so close to bus terminal. Bakery across the road is phenomenal also! Internet is very slow though so be prepared. Overall would stay again :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I've just spend two prematurely curtailed nights at this place (15th/16th Jan, 2013) and am shocked at this place. The hosts are very very unfriendly and don't seem to like either their jobs or guests. I witnessed the manager who works in the daytime threaten a German guest because that guest liked to play his violin in his room (at 4pm in the afternoon which is hardly a noise sensitive time of the day).
No passport details are taken, no paperwork is processed which would suggest that they are not entirely legitimate. I suspect tax evasion. I also suspect the main manager is ex.military (which would explain his conversational style which is far from accommodating or reasonable). In fact, he is positively threatening and great care should be taken in not upsetting him.
I myself, was told to get out and leave, for no other reason than I politely asked if I could turn down the TV volume in the lounge. The TV is usually quite loud all day so don't expect to be able to sit comfortably and chat, or skype with your dear ones. The lounge area is usually without much atmosphere, lorded over as it is by a watchful eye ... I subsequently will be getting legal advice about being kicked out of this place. I had paid fully in advance and had done absolutely nothing wrong, but dared not ask for any money back because the man who works there is very intimidating.

Alcohol is not permitted in the lounge and the whole area has to be vacated after 12midnight - so if you want some late night exchange of stories and tales - forget it. I and another guest witnessed some unsavoury characters snooping around - possibly dealers or alcoholics.

The place is cheap for a reason, but you should be aware that this place has hidden costs - do not put you food in the main fridge - 90% of my shopping was basically stolen within 12 hours of my getting it. Towels have to be paid for, as does storage space, and almost every other facility that you would expect. There's no laundry service, no iron and ironing board, no dryer. For those who want to conference and use the internet, the upload speed is very very slow and the lounge area a tense and oppressive place to sit.

There are two other staff members, a grumpy woman who cleans in the morning and the night man who is also quite disenchanted with planet earth and life. The most visible staff member is rude and speaks English is a very unclear and aggressive way. I was also shocked at his porn watching habits which I suspect is illegal in a public place (even though his screen faces the front wall - but if you sit in the corner opposite the LOUD TV where the only power sockets are, you can see his habits which sum up his attitude and lack of refinement entirely.

Please don't be seduced by the price. This place shouldn't be functioning as a home and refuge for travellers. It's not homely, not comforting, and the atmosphere deeply oppressive and threatening. The hosts don't like people staying too long or people who want to sit and enjoy the lounge during the day. They prefer people to be out all day, get back at night and leave quick. Stay away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sahotaonlinetuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited here with family and there were 8 of us so we were split between 2 rooms. The owners were strict and had warned us of the house rules on arrival. It is a really unusual place with an arty theme. My son spent ages going round all of the sculpture and pictures and having a good look! The rooms were a mix of chalet rooms and dorms everything was well kept and tidy. We had dorms (1 x double 2 x bunk beds & en-suite bathroom) and they were bright and clean with sheets and towels. The TV was bigger than our one at home! We found the place very pleasant if a little too quiet! The space was designed to take advantage of the breeze and the communal areas were kept under shade so kept cool and dark. Loved the funky tables! The price was reasonable and location was OK (we had cars so didn't worry too much about the distance from stuff!).

Room Tip: Dorms were a great size and with a family of 4 more than enough for us. They were also inside the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosyspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.5 mi away
Club In Eilat
Club In Eilat
#41 of 61 in Eilat
160 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#39 of 61 in Eilat
150 reviews
1 mi away
Dan Eilat
Dan Eilat
#14 of 61 in Eilat
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arava Hostel Eilat
Arava Hostel Eilat
#2 of 57 in Eilat
184 reviews
4.2 mi away
HI Eilat Hostel
HI Eilat Hostel
#5 of 57 in Eilat
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Prince Hostel
Little Prince Hostel
#33 of 57 in Eilat
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinne Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinne Hostel

Address: 127 / 1 Retamim St., Eilat, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Price Range: $35 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Corinne Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing