We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cheap & no frills accommodation in Eilat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Kibel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Kibel
Ranked #6 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A cheap & no frills accommodation in Eilat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We (30m, 28f, 24f) stayed in the cheapest room at Villa Kibel for two nights in April 2012.

Location

Villa Kibel is conveniently located in a quite residential area, which is a 10-15 minutes walk to downtown (10 minutes to the central bus station) or a short taxi ride (20-30 NIS). As it's a little bit up the hill, you have a nice view about the bay of Eilat.

Rooms

We had the cheapest appartment, which is quite big. Although there is a fridge, an aircon, a coffee machine, a water boiler and other (more or less necessary) kitchen utensils, it's definitely a no frills accommodation due to a lack of cleanliness and the age of the furniture.
However, compared with other accommodations in and around Eilat it's really cheap and worth the money you are paying for it.

I wouldn't recommend it to travelers expecting a certain kind of comfort but definitely recommend it to any backpackers traveling on a shoestring.

Food

Although the accommodation does not include breakfast, there are several small markets around to grab some food.

Hospitality

The owner Russel is a kind and very pleasant host and we enjoyed talking to him and staying at his place. He and his wife are living on the first floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank backpackerworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
16
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in the least expensive rooms at Villa Kibel, which were studio apartments at street level without any view. However, we used the rooms only as a place to sleep the nights before and after our family trip to Petra. The rooms were a small fraction of the costs of other places, and likely a fraction of the price of the other upper level apartments at Villa Kibel. The location is on a quiet street approximatey 10 minutes from the center of town. There are numerous small supermarkets very close by.

For anyone seeking ambiance of any kind, these are definitely not the best rooms. But if you are seeking an inexpensive place to sleep, these are just fine and will suit your needs. While all equipment is dated, everything is works well - air conditioning, kitchen appliances, kitchen utensils, television with cable, hot water upon demand. We did not try the internet connection.

And as others have already commented, the proprieter - Russell Kibel - is a lovely person. Very helpful with suggestions for things to do and places to eat. He even gave us a ride to our tour offices the first day to make sure that we got there before it closed. Given the "lack of a view," Russell gave us permission to eat our two meals in EIlat on the terrace of the upper level apartments.

We would certainly stay here again. If we will use Eilat only as a travel base, the inexpensive rooms at street level will be fine. But if we plan to vacation in Eilat proper, we will likely take one of the upper level apartments.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Villa Kibel is kind of like a B&B with more privacy (units are self-contained apartments, not within the house); or a grown-up hostel. Russell is a super nice guy who really goes out of his way to make you feel at home, and he has good recommendations for the area. The location is in a quiet residential neighborhood, but there are shops and services a one-minute walk down the hill, and it's an easy walk into town, to the beach, to the bus station, etc. The main house has a nice patio with a view of the Red Sea. Our room was clean with lots of amenities (cable TV, fridge, water boiler, full kitchen, etc.)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ynktxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in Villa Kibel with our two children and we had a great time. We had an apartment of our own in a very quiet and pleasant area, perfect if you are travelling with children. On the website Russel - the owner, a very friendly man - promises to go out of his way to help you but still that is almost an understatement and I can tell from first hand experience. During our stay in Eilat our car broke down and for two days Russel was coming up and down with starting cables and he also arranged for the repairs by linking us with a trustworthy and reasonably priced garage. So Russel REALLY went of his way to help us. For all these reasons we will definitely stay in Villa Kibel again next time!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Coen7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

When you don't want to stay in one of the big hotels and a youth hostel doesn't suit you, this is the perfect place to stay. Not all rooms are splendid, but the Alon room is. Light appartment, with terrace (shared) and seaview. Best thing about staying here are the hosts, Russell is an absolutely wonderful guy and always open for a chat or willing to help. We enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemarieapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golan Heights
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

My family definitely had a great time for 4 days at Villa Kibel especially my 5yr old son, who had a great company in KITTYKATTY, the real boss of ALON, the room that we stayed in. Russel was a great host and did his best to keep us comfortable. The rooms are good, clean, fully furnished and with amenities that one requires on a holiday. Cable TV for kids is good as well a foldable sofa. Sea view from the patio is great. Great place at a comfortable price. Will be back shortly

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AddyShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Thank you Russel and Villa Kibel for an excellent stay. Clean and with an excellent host in a quiet neighbourhood not far from the beach and night life (if one wishes). I stayed there with my 10 year old daughter and I would say it is perfect for familys since the appartment was spacius and with a TV for a worn out, from hiking, "beaching" etc, child who just want to take it easy for a hour before bed. :) You have all you need for cooking in in case you are to ired to go out. Also free WIFI. Russel came with many good tips on where to go, where to eat and could also arrange a trip to Pethra.. Next time Russel..

Room Tip: We stayed in The Galit room but I belive all rooms have pretty much the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia_Poletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.7 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 63 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
1.2 mi away
Isrotel Riviera Club Hotel
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Eilat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Prima Music
Prima Music
#20 of 63 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guest House Custo
Guest House Custo
#1 of 44 in Eilat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rich Luxury Suites
Rich Luxury Suites
#11 of 44 in Eilat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kibel

Property: Villa Kibel
Address: 18 Peres, Eilat 8807510, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Kibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing