We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good place to stay”
Review of Kibbutz Lotan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eilat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kibbutz Lotan
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

we stayed as a family in two of the guest rooms of the kibbutz. Breakfast and dinner was genuine Israeli food- lots of salad, dairy with egg. I like it very much, it's healthy and suitable for vegetarians and vegans. The rooms were comfortable, the swimming pool of a high standard and the view across the rift valley was great. Its interesting to stay on a bibbutz. and we were included in a concert with wine and food that they were having for a minor festival. Its about half an hour from Eilat where we saw the coral and the fish- the underwater observatory is well worth a visit and snorkelling on coral beach was fantastic. We saw cave drawings at Timna Park which is nearby and to which I would recommend a visit. Perhaps best of all is just being in a dessert- the scenery is outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

You are truly in a community comprised of people from all over the work who are volunteering, participating in a variety of ecologically focused courses or managing the Kibbutz. The rooms are clean, well decorated and comfortable. The food in the communal canteen is good and breakfast, all home made, is excellent. The buildings are comprised of mud walls (clay, sand, straw and water) - they are cool in every sense although you still need air conditioning in summer. The Kibbutz is about 20 minutes drive from Timna park which is a geological gem with all manner of erosional features carved by wind and water erosion over time.

There is a free guided tour of the Kibbutz which is outstanding and really makes you realise that everyone can make a difference! The service is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. A place to stay and truly feel immersed in an Israeli culture which looks ahead in a sustainable way.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lotan is an excellent base for touring the Arava. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Breakfast, served in the charming tea room was freshly prepared and delicious.
The pool is wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and the Watsu treatment is a must.Quiet, peaceful and good value

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveshawcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a fascinating kibbutz to visit, we had a great guided tour and we really liked the people who ran it the tourism side. Eco-tourism at its best. I don't recommend staying here as the food was beyond basic and there was only water to drink at supper! The rooms also needed cleaning. But it's a real experience - who cares about a little sand!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srh002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have stayed in the Kibbutz over the weekend with friends.
I have to say that the story, the idea and the life of Kibbutz Lotan are really fascinating.
I recommend the visitors to talk to some local people and ask them questions about the Kibbutz life. Also, the guided tour in the desert outside from the Kibbutz (with a local guide) was amazing.
Nevertheless, the accommodation and dinners were very low level. The room was outdated, not clean enough. The shower was leaking. There was no border between she shower itself and the bathroom, so when someone shwered, the water was just flowing out.
The food at the dining room was either undercoocked (chicken) or overcoocked (lasagna) and not much selction even for breakfast. Moreover, they served meat (that chocken) only once during the entire weekend.
The seats at the dining room were not arranged well enouth, so after we sat down a local lady came screaming at us that we took her seat at the table.
I believe that this Kibbutz could be nice for a one-day visit. Not more.

Room Tip: Don't sleep there if you like having clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olgitit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Kibbutz Lotan welcomes ecotourism and is a great place to visit if you are interested in sustainable living. I just want to make it clear that I did not stay here on my trip, I just visited to better understand their practices and the kibbutz lifestyle in Israel. They have an entire eco-village for the students and volunteers living there and are happy to take you to check it out. It is really different than anything I'd seen before, with people living in eco-domes, compostable toilets, tons of gardens, and whole play areas for children made out of trash. Everything is solar powered, and they even boast a big collection of solar-powered cookers which are pretty incredible. I don't think you need more than an hour or two there, but for travelers interested in sustainability you will see a complete sustainable village like no other. Also, they are one of the few kibbutzim left that still maintains their original socialist ideals. It is quite interesting and members are happy to tell you about it; they all share a bank account and are given the amount of money needed to support their family size each month. This kibbutz has interesting history and a unique present state so check it out if you are in the area!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Kibbutz Lotan is situated a little to the north of Yotvata, and far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Eilat to the south to allow you to experience the atmosphere of the southern Arava but still make the beaches easily accessible in 40 minutes or so should you wish to liven things up a little. But if it's a swim you’re after then the kibbutz pool is a superb way to cool down in the mid-afternoon; no need to trek south unless it's sand and coral you're after. Staying at Lotan is a family orientated experience with an ecological flavour so if you want to get back to nature then this is a great place to base yourself.

I'm a very keen nature lover with a heavy bias towards birds and I've stayed here many times. It's a bird lover’s paradise. There can be literally thousands of birds in the Kibbutz grounds which act like a magnet during periods of migration – March to May is arguably the best time. A circuit round the pool, the organic gardens and the newly formed wetland area makes for a great pre-breakfast walk. Also, from Lotan you can be up in the nearby mountains within a few minutes or in remote wadis that few people visit and watch birds on your own without having to break sweat.

I've always really enjoyed the food at the Kibbutz - a good, wholesome, healthy mix which will keep you going all day usually served in a buffet manner. It can get busy in the dining area and be aware that you’ll be sharing with the families and workers from the Kibbutz which all adds to the flavour.

The rooms are simple, clean and tidy and I always feel relaxed and at home in them. I’ve had a few issues with showers and windows occasionally but there has been an ongoing programme of improvements to upgrade the rooms and they’re gradually working their way through them.

If you want bright lights and luxury then head south but if you want a really good desert experience that brings you close to nature within a working Kibbutz that puts family at the centre then I’d recommend you give Kibbutz Lotan a try.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FXMoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
30.8 mi away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#38 of 61 in Eilat
145 reviews
29.2 mi away
U Sunrise Club Eilat All Inclusive
31.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#13 of 61 in Eilat
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
30.7 mi away
Motel Tsabar
Motel Tsabar
#35 of 61 in Eilat
96 reviews
29.1 mi away
Kibbutz Eilot
Kibbutz Eilot
#11 of 56 in Eilat
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibbutz Lotan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz Lotan

Address: DN Hevel Eilot, Eilat 88855, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing