We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An 'Eco-Kibbutz' which truly strives for sustainability and prides itself on doing so.”
Review of Kibbutz Lotan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eilat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kibbutz Lotan
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“An 'Eco-Kibbutz' which truly strives for sustainability and prides itself on doing so.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

You are truly in a community comprised of people from all over the work who are volunteering, participating in a variety of ecologically focused courses or managing the Kibbutz. The rooms are clean, well decorated and comfortable. The food in the communal canteen is good and breakfast, all home made, is excellent. The buildings are comprised of mud walls (clay, sand, straw and water) - they are cool in every sense although you still need air conditioning in summer. The Kibbutz is about 20 minutes drive from Timna park which is a geological gem with all manner of erosional features carved by wind and water erosion over time.

There is a free guided tour of the Kibbutz which is outstanding and really makes you realise that everyone can make a difference! The service is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. A place to stay and truly feel immersed in an Israeli culture which looks ahead in a sustainable way.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
40
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lotan is an excellent base for touring the Arava. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Breakfast, served in the charming tea room was freshly prepared and delicious.
The pool is wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and the Watsu treatment is a must.Quiet, peaceful and good value

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveshawcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a fascinating kibbutz to visit, we had a great guided tour and we really liked the people who ran it the tourism side. Eco-tourism at its best. I don't recommend staying here as the food was beyond basic and there was only water to drink at supper! The rooms also needed cleaning. But it's a real experience - who cares about a little sand!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srh002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have stayed in the Kibbutz over the weekend with friends.
I have to say that the story, the idea and the life of Kibbutz Lotan are really fascinating.
I recommend the visitors to talk to some local people and ask them questions about the Kibbutz life. Also, the guided tour in the desert outside from the Kibbutz (with a local guide) was amazing.
Nevertheless, the accommodation and dinners were very low level. The room was outdated, not clean enough. The shower was leaking. There was no border between she shower itself and the bathroom, so when someone shwered, the water was just flowing out.
The food at the dining room was either undercoocked (chicken) or overcoocked (lasagna) and not much selction even for breakfast. Moreover, they served meat (that chocken) only once during the entire weekend.
The seats at the dining room were not arranged well enouth, so after we sat down a local lady came screaming at us that we took her seat at the table.
I believe that this Kibbutz could be nice for a one-day visit. Not more.

Room Tip: Don't sleep there if you like having clean rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olgitit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Kibbutz Lotan welcomes ecotourism and is a great place to visit if you are interested in sustainable living. I just want to make it clear that I did not stay here on my trip, I just visited to better understand their practices and the kibbutz lifestyle in Israel. They have an entire eco-village for the students and volunteers living there and are happy to take you to check it out. It is really different than anything I'd seen before, with people living in eco-domes, compostable toilets, tons of gardens, and whole play areas for children made out of trash. Everything is solar powered, and they even boast a big collection of solar-powered cookers which are pretty incredible. I don't think you need more than an hour or two there, but for travelers interested in sustainability you will see a complete sustainable village like no other. Also, they are one of the few kibbutzim left that still maintains their original socialist ideals. It is quite interesting and members are happy to tell you about it; they all share a bank account and are given the amount of money needed to support their family size each month. This kibbutz has interesting history and a unique present state so check it out if you are in the area!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, East Yorks, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Kibbutz Lotan is situated a little to the north of Yotvata, and far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Eilat to the south to allow you to experience the atmosphere of the southern Arava but still make the beaches easily accessible in 40 minutes or so should you wish to liven things up a little. But if it's a swim you’re after then the kibbutz pool is a superb way to cool down in the mid-afternoon; no need to trek south unless it's sand and coral you're after. Staying at Lotan is a family orientated experience with an ecological flavour so if you want to get back to nature then this is a great place to base yourself.

I'm a very keen nature lover with a heavy bias towards birds and I've stayed here many times. It's a bird lover’s paradise. There can be literally thousands of birds in the Kibbutz grounds which act like a magnet during periods of migration – March to May is arguably the best time. A circuit round the pool, the organic gardens and the newly formed wetland area makes for a great pre-breakfast walk. Also, from Lotan you can be up in the nearby mountains within a few minutes or in remote wadis that few people visit and watch birds on your own without having to break sweat.

I've always really enjoyed the food at the Kibbutz - a good, wholesome, healthy mix which will keep you going all day usually served in a buffet manner. It can get busy in the dining area and be aware that you’ll be sharing with the families and workers from the Kibbutz which all adds to the flavour.

The rooms are simple, clean and tidy and I always feel relaxed and at home in them. I’ve had a few issues with showers and windows occasionally but there has been an ongoing programme of improvements to upgrade the rooms and they’re gradually working their way through them.

If you want bright lights and luxury then head south but if you want a really good desert experience that brings you close to nature within a working Kibbutz that puts family at the centre then I’d recommend you give Kibbutz Lotan a try.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FXMoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We are a family with two young girls and we stayed on the kibbutz for 2n/3d. We found the price is decent in comparison to the alternatives.
I guess someone took the reviews very seriously because we found a very clean room. The hosts were hospitable and the eco tour was a unique expeirience - don't miss it!
The jewl: An almost empty and beautiful swimming pool, during the crowdiest week of the year, we simply could stay there all day (what a shame that it isn't open all day).
The food is healthy and simple, and all four of us found something they liked to eat at breakfast.
It is a good base for the Arava, however, if you intend to spend every day in Eialt, it is a 45 min drive each way.
to sum it - we had a great time, we stayed in another place in the Arava during the trip, and it was a disappointment after Lotan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shmultzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eilat
31.1 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#11 of 62 in Eilat
2,197 reviews
30.8 mi away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#37 of 62 in Eilat
140 reviews
30.8 mi away
Sunset inn
Sunset inn
#3 of 51 in Eilat
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 mi away
Kibbutz Eilot
Kibbutz Eilot
#22 of 51 in Eilat
41 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ma'ayan B'midbar
Ma'ayan B'midbar
#1 of 1 in Yahel
9 reviews
30.7 mi away
Arava Hostel Eilat
Arava Hostel Eilat
#6 of 51 in Eilat
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibbutz Lotan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz Lotan

Property: Kibbutz Lotan
Address: DN Hevel Eilot, Eilat 88855, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing