We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool is amazing”
Review of Kibbutz Lotan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eilat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kibbutz Lotan
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We are a family with two young girls and we stayed on the kibbutz for 2n/3d. We found the price is decent in comparison to the alternatives.
I guess someone took the reviews very seriously because we found a very clean room. The hosts were hospitable and the eco tour was a unique expeirience - don't miss it!
The jewl: An almost empty and beautiful swimming pool, during the crowdiest week of the year, we simply could stay there all day (what a shame that it isn't open all day).
The food is healthy and simple, and all four of us found something they liked to eat at breakfast.
It is a good base for the Arava, however, if you intend to spend every day in Eialt, it is a 45 min drive each way.
to sum it - we had a great time, we stayed in another place in the Arava during the trip, and it was a disappointment after Lotan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shmultzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed at the Lotan One night in august with my child and one night was more than enough! There was an unbearable smell of toilet in the room. The window of the toiled could not be open so the smell was really horrible. Our room as well as the eating room were very dirty. I would not suggest it to anybody!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimbaceci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This kibbutz is a very special place near Eilat yet lightyears away! It's like an oasis in the Arava Valley - once you enter the gate, you'll surely feel homely. The accommodation in the bungalows is basic but clean; aircon and a small kitchenette are standard. Free Wi-Fi. The bathroom indeed smells a bit muddy, but I have had that in 5-stars-hotels in nearby Aqaba, so I wouldn't complain here. Indeed there are a lot of flies around in the evening - just deal with it like at home, keep your door closed during dawn or dusk, then you won't have any problem - we had not a single fly in the room! The pool is large, open in the afternoon and a popular gathering place for the entire younger kibbutz community on hot days. Your hosts are wonderful young and friendly people, make sure to join a kibbutz tour one day. The only true downside is the food. The canteen is absolutely simple and basic, such is the food. Brighter colours, decent plates and cuttlery and a more alternating buffet would highly be appreciated. Maybe the older kibbutzims would then also join the youngsters again for the meals: for the time being they just fill up their tupperware, return home and eat there. Overall a very unusual experience and as said: great, welcoming and helpful hosts!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilkRoadTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Kibbutz Lotan is a fascinating experiment in ecological living. Visiting is interesting to see how the members are truly dedicated to preserving and enhancing the environment. The rooms are small and poorly equipped. The room itself had two beds pushed together to form a queen, a third bed that became our dresser, a bookshelf and a desk. There is air conditioning, thankfully. No tv, phone, or clock (but we didn't miss them). The bathroom is incredibly small, like an old cruise ship. A small kitchen has a sink and a refrigerator. BUT == the floors are covered with a fine sand, which makes them feel dirty, and the bed felt the same. The food in the dining hall is very limited in variety, and simply prepared. Campers would probably do fine here. Anyone wanting a hotel should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Firstly, the previous reviewerss need to remember that this is a kibbutz, not a 5 star hotel and it certainly does not profess to be one. It is a small oasis in the centre of a very dry, hot area and it is just delightful to spend some time in a place that is a bit out of the way. The accomodation is perfectly fine as a kibbutz experience - cute self contained rooms. Mine was clean, comfortable and most importantly the air conditioner was very effective in the heat. The food in the kibbutz dining room was basic but tasty and it was lovely to eat with the kibbutz families. The special meal we had in the lovely tea room was outstanding - wonderful, delicious and inspiring. Thank you to the chefs! We had a very interesting tour of the kibbutz and heard all about its journey - past, present and future (Thanks Mark). For a great kibbutz experience stay here and in doing so you are also supporting the kibbutz.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn3127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

KIBBUTZ LOTAN ECO TOURIST VILLAGE: A DISAPPOINTMENT

Kibbutz Lotan is an ecologically oriented Reform Jewish kibbutz in the southern Aravah about 30 miles north of Eilat. Although perfectly situated for exploring the area while not staying in the kitschy tourist mecca of Eilat, for us, Lotan was something of a disappointment.

On the plus side, the room was very nice (plain, nothing fancy) and would have been perfect had we been a family of three instead of four; to sleep four, we had to put a mattress on the floor at night and put it back on top of the bed during the day. The mattresses were comfortable, and having a refrigerator and air conditioner meant we could have cold drinks and avoid the desert heat. They have an amazing swimming pool that is perfect for beating the late afternoon heat, comfortable outdoor hammocks, and their ecological village, which is separate from the hospitality business, was quite impressive. The tour of the eco village is fascinating, and we left with ideas that we want to try at home.

That said, overall, we were disappointed on several points:

(1) We arrived late in the day, famished and looking forward to dinner, which turned out to be light and bland in the extreme – fruit, bread, skimpy salad (the salad was actually gone by the time we walked in), and boiled corn on the cob. Even so, all would have been fine, except the food was crawling with flies. This may be standard by the kibbutz standards but was unpalatable to guests concerned about hygiene who were charged $10 apiece for this meal.

(2) We asked about other restaurants and were told there was no other dining in the area, except at other kibbutzim. In fact, we later learned that there are two decent roadside inns/pundaks within 5 miles: (a) the 24-hour regional hub at Kibbutz Yotvata serves adequate hot meals and has take-out burekas and salads and (b) the utterly charming Ne’ot Samadar Inn has fine casual dining (www.neot-semadar.com).

(3) We also asked about the nearby world-famous wildlife conservation center (Yotvata Hai Bar Reserve) and were surprised that no one at the kibbutz knew anything about it. We went the following day and it was a highlight of our trip. It surprised us that people so concerned with the environment had no consciousness of the local fauna.

(4) We wanted to hire a kibbutz guide to take us on a desert tour to show us things we could not see on our own. We set a time for him to come talk to us the first evening to see what he could offer. He never showed up, and never called to apologize or follow-up. Nevertheless, we felt pressured the next day by the hospitality office staff to hire him anyway, sight unseen. They could sense we were ticked off but kept pushing anyway until we said no thanks and went off on our own.

(5) We had hoped to learn about kibbutz life, but during our 3-day visit, we met no one who evinced any interest in talking to us, and the only ones who were truly friendly were fellow travelers. Reading other reviews after our return home, we can see now that our expectations were misplaced. With a constant stream of short-term visitors, the residents don’t care much about interacting with the tourists. Understandable but disappointing nonetheless.

In short, our hosts appeared not to know anything about the world just outside their gate and appeared uninterested in encouraging the exploration of their region or the economic success of their nearest neighbors. If you don’t mind the insular consciousness of the community, the rooms are quite comfortable for two or three people (for more than three people, get two rooms), the pool is heavenly, and the eco village is of great interest. If you want to take time to see Timna National Park and Hai Bar, this area is a good location (maybe the other kibbutzim also have rooms; we had not checked them out because Lotan looked so appealing). If you do stay at Lotan, you are better off dining elsewhere even though breakfast is included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heavenlyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We visited the Kibbutz Lotan as part of a group tour. The Kibbutz itself is definitely worth a daytime visit, since they are doing extraordinary things to be "green". However, the overnight accommodations were awful. Our room was supposedly "newly renovated"!! We had severe water leaks in both the kitchenette and bathroom. We killed at least 40 flies in the room. And the room was extremely dusty. Others in our group complained about mold in their bathrooms, and unacceptable smells in their rooms. Our included dinner was shared with the kibbutz families and was simple but fine. Breakfast was served to us in the tea room, in a charming area of the kibbutz that features incredible recycling and ecology. In sum, we'd suggest arranging a tour of the kibbutz, but sleeping elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MusicMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
30.8 mi away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#38 of 61 in Eilat
145 reviews
29.2 mi away
U Sunrise Club Eilat All Inclusive
31.0 mi away
Dan Panorama Eilat
Dan Panorama Eilat
#13 of 61 in Eilat
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
30.7 mi away
Motel Tsabar
Motel Tsabar
#35 of 61 in Eilat
96 reviews
29.1 mi away
Kibbutz Eilot
Kibbutz Eilot
#11 of 56 in Eilat
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibbutz Lotan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz Lotan

Address: DN Hevel Eilot, Eilat 88855, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing