We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice company, nice place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arava Hostel Eilat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arava Hostel Eilat
Ranked #5 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice company, nice place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The place was a nice place to stay. Decent location, near to the bus station, so easy access to local dive sites. Helpful staff and nice common areas to eat in after you prepare a meal. I would stay again, but mostly because I want to see and hang out with the receptionist. She made my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jethro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
14
28
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hostel provided me with exactly what I was looking for: somewhere to meet like-minded travellers and a place close to diving locations. The room was adequate for my needs, I didn't plan on spending too much time inside, the bathrooms were clean and it had a great communal feel throughout the whole place.
The staff were friendly and able to assist in my booking of a tour to Petra. There was plenty of space to sit indoors or out to just relax and unwind after an action packed day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Eilat was the last stop on my 2 week tour in Israel. By the time I got there I was incredibly exhausted from being so busy in Tel Aviv and Jerusalem and needed to chill. My room was clean, the patio and garden was fantastic for laying in the sun and reading and one of the staff even helped me book a massage at the Dan Hotel since I do not speak Hebrew. They were all very kind made me feel part of the family and on returning to Eilat I would not hesitate to go back to Arava.

The only con about the whole place was the kitchen which is small and not very well outfitted with utensils and pans so you have to get creative but we were still able to cook several dinners there.

Many thanks to Arava staff for a great, relaxing experience!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SourdoughSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Arava Hostel is a small and familiar hostel in Eilat. I lived there more than two month and i felt very confortable in my four-bed-female-dorm.The atmosphere in the Arava ist friendly, warm and sociable. There is no WIFi in the rooms, that s why every guest meet one time in the kitchen, sitting room or outside. Each shower is sepreated, a bit small but functional and the toilets are clean all the time. But the big reason why the Arava Hostel is the best hostel in Israel is the staff. Openminded, avaiable and friendly all the time and very sympatic. Their hints for the city of Eilat are very nice and helpfull. The Arava Hostel is perfect for a short stay and excellent for a long long stay.Come on,explore Eilat and ignore the bad reviews of this nice City! I ll be back at you in March, ARAVA! Shalom aleichem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hella I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I originally checked in hoping to check out asap...I didn't like the vibe and of course there is a no cancelation policy. So I was stuck there and ..really it was MY timing that sucked...a lot of groups of young obnoxious kids taking diving courses were there at the time...as soon as they left itwas like a new place...in the end I had a lot of fun and met people from all over the world. I stayed for 6 nights. They could adjust the prices more accordingly...the dorm "closets" are not worth $20...I've traveled all over and $10-15 would be fair..but THE PEOPLE MADE THE PLACE :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahava9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I booked this hostel for one night for my father and his wife and they had the worst experience.
They checked in after 5pm and their room wasn´t even ready, The sheets and towels were old, torn and disgusting. No soap in the bathroom, terrible mattress and place wasn´t clean at all. They barely slept because the room was full of flees and they got litterally eaten by them. Service at the front desk was terrible, not helpful or polite at all, always acting like they were doing you a favor. No breakfast included, very pricy and they even charge you to leave your luggage after check out. Very disappointing, don´t go there.

Room Tip: None of them, don´t go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aharon G, Manager at Arava Hostel Eilat, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We care about gusts review and try to learn how to improve ourselves to be the best we can, in this case we decide to response to the last review because it's not familiar to us.
First, we find it very weird that a gust didn't get the room after 5pm or got a dirty room because this is not normal or usual in our hostel and we would remember this kind of glitch if happened.
Second, in a case of seemingly "flee problem" in the hostel, we didn't got complains from any guest and in 100% there was no problem, the only thing that might explain it is that in this time of the year is the mosquito season, and when gusts share a problem like this with us we give the guest mosquito replier moister or other options but we can't help guests if they don't tell us there is an issues.
Third, when a guest makes a booking in hostel for low price he can't expect to get a hotel room for less money, also we have different kind of levels of rooms with different pricing- the rooms are bigger with better bed and all the facilities in are better and that’s why it cost more. If a guest booked the minimum he can't really expect the maximum.
One of the things that matter in a place is how clean it is, our hostel is a clean hostel because we believe it's the most important factor in a place.
I wonder if the person behind this review was an actual gust in Arava hostel he would still right this review and rate us so low.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed there more than 3 times and every time I am amayzed by the way the place is orgenised and clean.There is a beutifull garden outside that is possible to sit. I have been to many big hotels in Elat and I prefer this small one that make you feel home with this relax atmospheer and very nice people that help you with everything you need. The price is also soooo good compering to other places and you still get a high qwality room with very good Air condition, hot watet all day and LCD TV. I highly recomend you to go there! Dana Sivan

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eilat hotels
0.0 mi away
Nova Like Hotel Eilat - an Atlas Hotel
0.8 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
3.5 mi away
Prima Music
Prima Music
#19 of 62 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Isrotel Riviera Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#37 of 62 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Tsabar
Motel Tsabar
#35 of 62 in Eilat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arava Hostel Eilat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arava Hostel Eilat

Property: Arava Hostel Eilat
Address: Almoguim 106/1, Eilat, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Southern District > Eilat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Eilat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arava Hostel Eilat 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arava hostel was establish in 1986 and is one of the first hostels in Eilat. We are a warm and welcoming hostel offering cheap accommodation in the center of Eilat.Arava hostel is s warm and friendly hostel that welcomes travelers from all over the world. We have a wealth of experience in the industry and know what travelers value and need during their stay.Knowledgeable stuff is available at the front desk 24 hours-a-day and can provide tour/ticket assistance. Other amenities include free parking.The hostel located 15 minutes away from the north beach, and 5 minutes from the center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Arava Hostel Eilat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arava Hostel Eilat Hotel Eilat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing