We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was amazing and I dont even like swimming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dead Sea

Dead Sea
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to the Dead Sea, the Largest Natural Spa in the World
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Not only the lowest spot on earth, but also the saltiest and most mineral-laden body of water in the world, the Dead Sea, which joins Israel and Jordan, is legendary as a source of healing, and has become a popular center for health, rehabilitation and beauty treatments.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,023 helpful votes
“It was amazing and I dont even like swimming”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was with a group and everyone felt it was one of the Trip Highlights


RECOMMEND:
1. Shave the day before open cuts sting in salt water
2. Bring a squirt bottle in case you get some salt water in your eye
3. Enjoy floating, swimming is difficult
4. Bring sun block: intense rays
5 Bring water sandals: very hot sand and very rocky at start of beach

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
19 Thank KevinTorontoCanada29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,126
    329
    84
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wear watershoes into the water”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had read to wear water shoes into the dead sea, but forgot to bring them. the salt of the water adheres to the rocky sea bottom and cuts your feet. be forwarned

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hschultes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of my trip to Israel”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'll start mentioning that I do not know how to swim. So you can imagine my excitement when I could see myself in floating in deep waters without wearing a lifesaver or my husband holding me. I was so happy that later my friends told me that while I was in the water I looked like a little girl with a new toy ;) I went at the begining of December and the water was VERY cold but once you get into the water your body get used to the cold. Once you get into the water do not get out until you are done because once you get out of the cold water is going to be very hard get in again. I used the salt lumps (they are all over the place) to rub it all of my body and after a shower my skin was super soft and shinny. I reccomend to use googles or sunglasses to protect your eyes because the water is super salty. Also don't get the water in your mouth, the taste is horrible! Bring water shoes. For me this was an unforgettable experience, it felt weird and at the same time wonderful. If you are in the area try it!, you will not regret it. Also you can say that you visited the lowest point on land in earth!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NiceJoselyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Buoyancy Beyond Belief”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We travelled with a small group along the West Bank to Masada and The dead sea.we were vaguely familiar with the incredible story of Masada, but seeing the fortress live was amazing and it is easy to see how 1000 Jews held off the might of the Roman Army for so long. Easy for us in a cable car and the walk down the mountain is worth the effort.One of our party fell over trying to clear a stone wall and was badly injured. Fortunately there was a doctor up there with a school group who helped him prior to being taken out by helicopter.On to the dead sea where we stayed at the Hodhamidbar Resort Hotel.The hotel had a cold swimming pool and indoor heated pools with easy walking access to the "beach". The sea bottom is very rough with congealed salt lumps. when you go into the water it is amazing how high out of the water you float, no wonder they cannot float boats on it. Very difficult to get your feet down, but once you manage to kick down you can float around vertically like a cork. The water is very caustic and you must be very careful not to get it in your mouth or eyes. Wonderful experience. the hotel was very tired. Ostensibly 4 star. The rooms were no better than a basic motel in Australia, but at a vastly different price..still you are paying for the location. Food was ok. Had a look at the Crowne Plaza next door and it looked a lot nicer. Loved Israel, felt safe and experience many things that you could not experience elsewhere

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sink or swim--not”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took a tour with Rent-a-guide in Tel Aviv to Jerusalem and the Dead Sea. Our guide was funny, knew all the best photo places. The dead sea is supposed to be 40% salt so you have to take precautions like only swim on your back, don't splash, don't put your head under the water, only stay in for 20 minutes and make sure to take off all your jewellery.

It was a beautiful sunny day of 30C so we covered ourselves in the therapeutic mud on the beach. After letting it dry we tried to wash it off in the Sea but i could not put my shoulders under the water to wash it off. It is a very odd feeling not to be able to sink. Had a fresh water shower and felt like a million dollars. My skin was so soft and shiny. Very relaxing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank awtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dead Sea also viewed

Dead Sea Region, Israel
Masada, Northern District
 
Dead Sea Region, Israel
Dead Sea Region, Israel
 

Been to Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing