We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nature in the desert”

En Gedi Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
9-Hour Masada Ein Gedi and Dead Sea Tour from Jerusalem
More Info
$114.00*
and up
Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Tel Aviv
More Info
$76.00*
and up
Self Guided Sunrise Masada, Ein Gedi Nature Reserve and Dead Sea Tour from Tel...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: En Gedi is the biggest oasis in Israel. It has springs and waterfalls, and flowing brooks at the foot of the cliffs, home to ibexes and rock hyraxes.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nature in the desert”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

As part of a private tour of Israel, we included this site. It had been eliminated several times on other tours of ours because it was always the last stop of the day. In fact, we tried to go in the late afternoon, on our way to the Dead Sea, but because the parking lot was packed, we left without seeing itper our guide's advice. We returned early the next day, and were treated to the easy sidewalk walkway to the first waterfall. Numbers of groups were doing Bible study in the shade. ( "And David went up from thence, and dwelt in the strongholds of Ein Gedi" Samuel I 23:29. The flora ( Christ thorn jujube and acacia) as well as others were plentiful ,and with our guide, Dov Friedman ( No. 3121) relating the historical backgrounds, this was very special. We took the challenging walk up to the 2nd waterfall which was so worth the effort for us as middle aged climbers. Don't do it unless you have walking shoes, a hat, and water bottles. Be prepared to roll up your pants and wade in the water/ or have a swimming suit under your clothes.While we only saw ( and smelled) Rock Hyrax, we were satisfied. We saw other climbers much higher on the rocks, enjoying the other portions of the park.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank deb134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    99
    14
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Owl”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I went to thus nature reserve at night. We saw an owl and it was a great moment, we were part of a three day bird watching tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bsd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“peaceful but overrated!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A lovely place, nice and peaceful and loads of lovely wildlife. However, it was 29nis entry which i dont think is worth it. Most people (including me) only go in to look at the waterfalls as this is the only trail listed as level 1 (easiest). To get my moneys worth i tried doing another trial but only wearing flip flops and my fear of heights ensured this was not a success! The other issue for me was the flock of school children (like all sights in this area for some reason). They flock in thier droves and make more noise than i thought possible! However, escape them and you have before you something very tranqil and lovely!

IF you are planning to go to the dead sea beach (ein gedi) you should go there after here. You are not supposed to bathe in the waterfalls (although possible in some areas). You can then walk to the beach (10 mins on the main road).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Ibex”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

despite most of the trails being closed due to rain, this merits a 4* based on wildlife alone. Just in the area of the visitor center there were multiple birds, Hyrax, and a herd of Ibex.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank scphil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An amazing oasis”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Trekkers or not, Ein Gedi nature reserve, will be your getaway from the desert heat: a serene oasis, beautiful hikes around David Stream, also accessible for strollers and wheelchairs. We spent the entire day hiking around and chilling in the cool pools after. Note that food is not allowed in and if you want to spend the day, you need to clear at the entrance the allowed places for lunch. Also note that if you want to start from Zafit trail you can start the hike from 08:00 to 11:00 the latest (it is a long climb and you are not allowed to go during noon due to the heat).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tamirotem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed En Gedi Nature Reserve also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Dead Sea Region, Israel
 
Dead Sea Region, Israel
Ein Gedi, Dead Sea Region
 

Been to En Gedi Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing