We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Masada Museum

The Masada Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Masada and Dead Sea Tour from Herzliya
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Most people make the trek up the mountain to the top of Masada. We were pressed for time so we visited the museum instead. This gave us time to go to the Dead Sea also in the same day. Many of the artifacts found on the top of Masada are in the museum. Here you get the story and history of Masada combined with an interactive experince to show what life on Masada in biblical times must have been like. I was particularly touched by a lock of hair and the shards used to identify the order of the suicides to escape the Roman conquerors. I highly recommend the museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gee557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    36
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Audio and Figurines were Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The audio guide was interesting and each room was displayed with life size figures to resemble being in that area during the time of the events discussed. Very fascinating and worth the cheap entrance fee. :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trina214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Before you reach the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

In mid April 2013, after hiking up and down Masada mountain and spending 21/2 hours walking around Masada,, I came upon the museum which is situated at the bottom of the mountain.
Having been to Masada very often, this was my first visit to the museum. The museum was built 6 years ago and is both the state of the art of museum. Upon entering the museum and inquiring at the main desk what I was going to see in the museum, the elderly employee there informed me that in her opinion, the museum was even more informative and important than walking on Masada.I was so excited and impressed by the museum that I came back the next day to show my wife.For us this was a3 hr drive back and forth to where we were staying and 1/2 to 3/4 of a hr in the museum.For a amount of $6 Canadian you get entry to the museum and a tape machine and earphones that explains what you are seeing in each room.The recording is in English and 5-6 other languages for natives of other languages.
The exhibits are really well done and extraordinary, starting with the finding of Masada to the archaeological digging up of Masada, we are also taken back to the biblical history of the place, how people lived up there and of course the Roman Siege and suicide of the zealots, or where they zealots? There is even the original finding of the famous sandal found up there and a part of the original mosaic of King Solomon's palace . (the mosaic on the mountain is not the original) You can also regulate your walking pace in the museum from room to room as the tape plays music after giving a explanation of what you are seeing in the room you are in and changes automatically to what you see in the next room when you pass from room to room.
I highly recommend that you see the museum before you go up to the mountain as you will then have more insight as to what you are seeing up there. Its still worth while seeing the museum when you come down from the mountain as well.

I feel a strong need to write a letter of thanks to tripadvisor as well as a review of a airline company and flight I took recently. So please send me a email address that I can do this with.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackiealfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,816 reviews
972 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
“Don't see Masada without first visiting this museum w/audio guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

See the museum with the audio guide to understand why this was built and by whom, the Jews who rebelled against the Romans, the siege, and the end. Lots of artifacts from the site. At the end you see the "lots" exhibited. Touching and fascinating.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Masada, Incredible History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Your whole family will enjoy touring the Masada. King Herod built it in 50AD and as Jeruselem fell in 70AD the Jewish people fleed there until the Roman Army built a ramp to the top of this fortress. If you are in Israel you must go! The ruins are spectatular (just like the rest of Israel). WE LOVED OUR TRIP TO ISRAEL. Plan it and go. This country does it right when it comes to historical tourism. Stop by and swim...ah, Float in the Dead Sea. Bizarre and wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Masada Museum also viewed

Dead Sea Region, Israel
Dead Sea Region, Israel
 
Dead Sea Region, Israel
Ein Gedi, Dead Sea Region
 

Been to The Masada Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing