We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Massada Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A great place to stay, quiet, cheap and has a swimming pool. The rooms are clean and breakfast is good (don't eat there on a Saturday because the food range is limited). You will need a car to get around because it is a 10 minute drive to the main dead sea hotels area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    55
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
45
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hostel is located right at the base of Masada, essential when planning a sunrise hike. The Egged bus stop (masada center) is right across. The gate is locked at night for extra security.

We emailed a few times for room changes and always received a prompt response. If the site shows sold out rooms on your prefer dates, do send them an email.

Dinner room is closed at 8pm, but there is a cafeteria that has snacks and drinks, as well as a delcious chicken and hummus sandwich. Ask for it as it is not listed. Breakfas selection is very good. Breakfast is until 9:30am, so you can hike and then come back to eat.

Rooms and bathrooms are huge, but the accomodations are basic as expected.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nytoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Even that we made reservations a few month before through a third party site, we were greeded with a very firm "We are fully booked, we don't care what your paper says and also if you paid 10%, you didn't pay anything to us!" Luckily, I lived in Israel for 7 years in the past, so I knew that sooner or later the receptionist will come to his senses and eventually it will all be fine. So it was :-)
The guy gave us a very bad vibe and he looked like he was being very sarcastic with the guests.
This aside, the place is really nice, a short walk to Masada fortress; the rooms are basic, but very confortable and the breakfast quite nice. All in all, a nice experience,except for the customer service which has room for improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed in Masada Guest house for one night.
Pros:
- Location. Cannot get better. At the entrance of the Masada fortress trek. We wanted to trek for the sunrise and location worked out perfectly. Very close to Dead Sea, perfect for a morning Masada trek and a day at the dead sea.
- Breakfast is really good. Lots of food and all fresh.
- Rooms are decent and room/bathroom clean for the most part.
- WiFi works well
- Beautiful day and night views from the patio

Cons:
- When checking in the helpful lady at the reception told us that she will refund our money for the HI membership discount when we show her the membership details while checking out. When we were checking out, there was a bald guy at the reception. He started making faces when we told him about the situation.
He very quickly got extremely inpatient and rude, telling us not to talk. It was a very disappointing, and definitely the reason why I cannot recommend this place wholeheartedly. Ultimately, he did not give us the money back which was fine, BUT being Rude and talking down was unnecessary. This was definitely my worst people experience in all of Israel.

- For the price we paid, and the bad taste the rude behavior left, I don’t think was in any way good value for me.

Recommend this place with reservations. Also, hope you don’t get to meet the bald guy if you end up stayed here.

Room Tip: Avoid the Bald guy at the reception, he has no patience and is extremely rude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugg, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The room was clean. There was coffee, tea and a water boiler but no cup's. We had at least 3 school classes at the hotel wich made a lot of noise. The dinner was the same price as if we would eat at a restaurant (witch you don't have around there)but we shared the diningroom with all of the kids. If you would like to have a quiet time ask first if they have classes there.If yes i can't recomend you to go even if they tell you they give you the room far away from the class. Value for money is not that good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed one night at this excellent guest house. We had a triple room that was clean, spacious and comfortable. It was the perfect location to climb Massada in time for the sunrise and the buffet breakfast was very welcome on our return. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Massada, the Dead Sea and Ein Gedi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockmount1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fully matches to a good hotel 3*. Very good location, which makes it possible to go to the mountain to see the sunrise. Wonderful rich breakfast, for comparison, in Eilat, in some 3* hotels were much worse dinners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarishaR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dead Sea Region hotels
9.9 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
7.6 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Spa Club Hotel
Spa Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#10 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massada Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massada Guest House

Property: Massada Guest House
Address: Massada | D.N. Yam Hamelah, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Dead Sea Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Massada Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massada Guest House Hotel Dead Sea Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing